We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Chitabe Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chitabe Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2010

From the minute we were picked up at the dirt airstrip to the time we were hugged as we got on the plane to leave we felt like family at Chitabe Camp. Of the three camps we stayed at it was the most comfortable (each of the other camps had their highlights too). This was my mother and my first safari experience and it was exceptional.

Our guide for our stay was Anthony and we was exceptional. His sense of humor and personality were a great fit for us and the other guests with us. His knowledge and insights made this a wonderful first safari experience!

All the staff at the camp including Dawson, Tiny and Buzz and others whose names I don't remember made our stay better than we could have ever imagined.

The food was great! The animal viewing was wonderful - we had a great time!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodiDH503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Chitabe Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 155 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2010

Three camps in Botswana and cannot fault anything.
Dawson and his team are amazing at Chitabe.
What a wonderful team - so welcoming and even remembering all our names.

The animals are what it is all about - or so we thought - but the residents of Botswana can be justifiably proud of themselves as hosts also - I cannot recommend the visit more highly - it was amazing.

The food, the accommodation, the animals,the team, the information so freely given .. all were incredible.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

we stayed 3 days and we seen it all , our guide Antony was very good. we saw many Leapords , Leapod cub , Lepord and Hyanas figting on impala , Lions , and best 20+6 dogs. adult and cubs. we really enjoyed our safari and eatch game drive was better then other. only one night we got two guest from USA , They party till 1am and some staff was also sitting with them. they did not allowed us to sleep with their noise. balance all was very good. even staff , people all are very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ram_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

This should be on everyone's bucket list. The staff at the Wilderness Lodges were incredibly hospitable and helpful. The naturalists had wonderful knowledge and safety was always paramount.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pennstatetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This review refers to the Chitabe Lebida camp where my son (16) and I spent 3 nights last week. We saw lion, leopard, cheetah - really close up, so exciting. We had very nice rooms, delicious food, a very helpful guide. It was a great experience and very highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank ThorpeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I'm not really sure where to start with describing the experience we had while at Chitabe, words cannot truly describe what a staggering positive adventure we had at Chitabe!

We stayed at 3 different camps while in Botswana, in three different areas and Chitabe absolutely blew the other two camps out of the water in terms of animal sightings, knowledge and friendless of guides and staff.

While everything about our stay at Chitabe was positive, I believe the MOST pivotal factor in making Chitabe so wonderful was our guide, Thuso. Thuso is one of those rare people you feel lucky to meet and quickly realize that your life has changed for the better for meeting him. His knowledge of the area and the animals was unparalleled; but his love of being a guide and ability to share that joy with visiting travelers makes every game ride amazing.

The animal sightings were great. Everyday we saw animals and at close distances which has made for some incredible photos. My main interests were in seeing the big cats, which we did and often. We had leopard sightings almost every game ride and one afternoon it was almost as if the leopard was posing for us and waiting for his photo shoot. He laid very calmly beside a termite mound gracing us with an occasional glance while we took pics from about 15 yards away! We saw elephants, zebras, impala, giraffes, lions, leopards, a cheetah, hyenas, tons of birds, learned about the local flora and fauna and the saw skull of a long deceased elephant- the sheer size of the skull was massive. The photos I took while in this camp are better and closer than those of the other camps we visited, again I contribute this to our guide Thuso, who always got us in position for a great photo opp.

The accommodations and food at the camp were wonderful. The staff was ever helpful and offered a range of cuisine that I'm sure even the pickiest eater could enjoy. I will say that the weather (we were there in early July) was much colder that we had expected and the hot water bottles provided for warming our beds and for the morning game rides were much appreciated.

WELL DONE, CHITABE CAMP!!!! Thank you for an outstanding African experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCgirl0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We had a fantastic stay at Chitabe and wish it had been longer. The staff was accommodating and friendly. We enjoyed chatting with them around the fire over a glass of wine. The sighting were great--cheetah, lion, leopard, elephants and more.

Our tent was huge and beautifully designed and our bed very comfy. The weather was cold so we didn't get to enjoy the outdoor shower but on one warm afternoon we did get to sit near the very nice little pool. We certainly enjoyed the campfire, hot coffee and sundowners though! The food had some great highlights and some not so great moments as well but overall we enjoyed it.

One of the best parts about Chitabe was clearly our guide Ebes. He was so smart and kind and gentle. If he didn't know something about an animal or plant he'd look it up immediately. His manner of speaking was comforting. He really cares about wildlife and preservation. A remarkable man. (as a side note, we also talked to Finley here and there and he was fantastic too). We'd highly recommend Chitabe. It was a great compliment to the wet camp, Kwetsani that we went to. You will be impressed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perrystreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
86.0 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#15 of 71 in Okavango Delta
195 reviews
45.6 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#17 of 71 in Okavango Delta
149 reviews
62.7 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#20 of 71 in Okavango Delta
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#2 of 71 in Okavango Delta
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#22 of 71 in Okavango Delta
130 reviews
34.4 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitabe Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitabe Camp

Address: | bordering Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range: $500 - $1,050 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chitabe Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The archetypal Okavango game-viewing destination. Raised on decks on a beautiful tree island in the south-east of the Okavango, Chitabe Camp looks out across a Delta floodplain that is transformed during winter from dry rushes to lush oasis, one of only a few distinct habitats in this diverse concession. Back in camp, the thatched dining and lounge area provide beautiful views, while each tent exudes its own personality, aided by superb fine art wildlife photographs. A pool provides cool sanctuary in the heat of the day. Highlights: On this classic safari experience, game drives take in the different habitats - the variety of these ensures that there is an equal diversity of wildlife, including big game such as elephant and buffalo, but also a range of plains game species like wildebeest, tsessebe and lechwe in numbers that support healthy lion, leopard and hyaena numbers, as well as regular visits by wild dog and cheetah. The camp is composed of 8 tents: spacious en-suite Meru-type tents, individually styled; outdoor shower; double vanity basins. Experiences include: day and night game drives • guided walks (on request). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chitabe Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Chitabe Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing