We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chitabe Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chitabe Camp
Jesup, GA
Level Contributor
231 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our entire experience at Chitabe was first-class. Our guide, Ots, worked so hard, and the wildlife we were able to see in a few short days was unbelievable. The physical camp is beautiful....very clean & the staff was all very welcoming and helpful. A spectacular lunch in the bush was so special and such a great surprise for us. The coordination between Wilderness Safari Camps was so appreciated. We never lost any time in our transfers, with both morning & evening game drives daily. It worked like a finely tuned machine!! Thanks to all the people who keep this amazing camp running....you really know your stuff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paharlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
87
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

incredible experience, from the flight in to the tents up in the trees to the wildlife sitings . Our guides were great . This was the last camp in our 2 week trip and we were sad to leave. Our group of 8 was handled very well.The tents were spacious, clean and very nice appointed. Beautiful views from our deck, the elephants enjoyed the trees surroundng it.

Room Tip: all have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nocavat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was my third time at Chitabe and it was again the most spectacular wildlife that I experienced.
The guides are always excellent, the staff is amazing, the tents are superb, the food is very classy. I love this place and I will go there again. A big thank you to all of you at Chitabe, you really go out of your way, to make it very special for all you guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 62AndreasK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our entire Chitabe experience was simply out of this World. From landing in Maun, the short internal flight, first drive (and every drive thereafter), the staff, accommodation, the company and plethora of game, the sounds, smells and sights were all something I will keep in my heart and mind forever.

Having been in operation for more than 16 years this friendly, highly efficient and knowledgeable team of people run Chitabe as a home from home. No request is too small, no effort too large.

Welcomed by the edible Oats (our bush interpreter commonly called a Guide) with his enviable smile and generous heart who was much welcomed company on all our many, long, lovely languishing drives - I can still hear him laughing as we watched the naughty Baboons play endlessly!

The charming Josie who was the first smiling face I saw as we drove into Camp and gently took a few minutes to introduce us to the breathtaking surroundings. Given some time to settle into our room gave us a gap to just stop and stare - an activity I seemed to perfect during my 4 days at Chitabe - it's all just so magical that you have to stop and take it all in, like consciously storing the magic in your minds memory bank - you just don't want to miss a thing - don't sleep just be there!

Sunrises and Sunsets offered colours and compositions artists could not have made up - it truly is Gods own country.

Chitabe seems to be a gift to all your senses - the incessant song of the Fish Eagle rings in my ears (hopefully will do for a long time to come), the smell of sage, the light, cool breeze and respectful way nature exists for and with each other. I would imagine it's hard to leave without taking a piece of this paradise with you in your heart and mind.

For all my days to come I will wax lyrical about this magical place. Not one to give advice without being asked I'll buck my own rule and say go, please, you won't regret it - ever.

To my Chitabe family - a thousand thanks and more - I will carry you all, forever, in my heart.

Room Tip: All rooms are exquisite, private, exceptionally comfortable and offer you the ability to completely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was our third time back to Chitabe and it was like going home. In organizing our safari for 15 family members I made Chitabe the center piece of the three camps that we visited. Of the more than 9 Wilderness Camps that we have visited, this continues to be my favorite over the years. The animal life was fantastic with 4 leopard sightings, several lion prides and an incredible experience with a cheetah and her five cubs. Our group was fortunate in having three incredible guides in BB, Oates and Luke who not only found these wonderful creatures, but made it so much fun for the entire group. This was truly a once-in-a-lifetime trip for all of the family members, but with memories that will live on

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbh0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at this camp for 5 nights. The staff, led by Josie and Kris, were superb--friendly, helpful, and worked together beautifully. It is clear that the staff likes and respects each other. Our guide, Anthony, did a great job of finding interesting sightings, including our first kill. He also handled a dangerous situation perfectly. When a Cape buffalo charged our vehicle, he turned the vehicle to hit him straight on rather than allowing him to T-bone us. Great choice! We could not have had more fun. The lion sightings were tremendous--we saw lions on EVERY game drive. The facilities are beautiful and well maintained. The food is excellent! Terrific choice! This was our second stay at Chitabe--it will not be our last!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SafSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Chitabe Camp setting is beautiful. The accomodations were so comfortable and the Staff deserves special commendation. All were professional, personable and so enjoyable to be with. Anyone with game safari experience will tell you how impressive the guides are and how central to your safari experience they are. From our experience, our guide at Chitabe was exceptional, exceeding even the very capable and high quality guides we had at the other camps we visited. His name is DUX. Not only does he have an encyclopedic knowledge of animals, birds, plants and their social, environmental, and biological context, but he has the most expressive and poetic english that one could hope to hear. With his meticulous pronunciation and his talent for employing unique words and expressions to help explain the amazing natural beauty and animal behavior we were able to see, coupled with his penchant for wordplay, DUX is truly a master of his craft. He has a wonderful sense of humor and is a warm and upbeat person. If you make it to Chitabe, try to spend time with him and enlist him as your guide.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okavango Delta
0.0 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#12 of 70 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#18 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitabe Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitabe Camp

Property: Chitabe Camp
Address: | bordering Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chitabe Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The archetypal Okavango game-viewing destination. Raised on decks on a beautiful tree island in the south-east of the Okavango, Chitabe Camp looks out across a Delta floodplain that is transformed during winter from dry rushes to lush oasis, one of only a few distinct habitats in this diverse concession. Back in camp, the thatched dining and lounge area provide beautiful views, while each tent exudes its own personality, aided by superb fine art wildlife photographs. A pool provides cool sanctuary in the heat of the day. Highlights: On this classic safari experience, game drives take in the different habitats - the variety of these ensures that there is an equal diversity of wildlife, including big game such as elephant and buffalo, but also a range of plains game species like wildebeest, tsessebe and lechwe in numbers that support healthy lion, leopard and hyaena numbers, as well as regular visits by wild dog and cheetah. The camp is composed of 8 tents: spacious en-suite Meru-type tents, individually styled; outdoor shower; double vanity basins. Experiences include: day and night game drives • guided walks (on request). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chitabe Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Chitabe Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing