We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
69
8
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
69
8
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house amazing experience spent two nights fnb mokoro delta animals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 84 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2014

After the tiny plane flight in, to be met by Mokoro and glide silently through the reeds to the camp, has to be the ultimate experience. Knowledge, my guide, lived up to his name and poled his mokoro to a nearby island where we stalked on foot for hours, returning to a delightful laid back lunch or dinner. We happened upon a wide variety of game and I realised quickly that the water was no barrier to them.
I was the only guest at first and was offered the treehouse by Lennar, the Manager. After the first night and very little sleep, I was shown the other reed huts further back in the island, but demurred and opted to stick it out in the treehouse which has splendid views over the delta and cooling breezes. Elephant and hippos visited at night, the former shaking the palms and bringing down the dates in a huge shower, while the hippos grunted all night up and down the waterway.
A visit to the nearby village, made me realize just how much we take for granted and how different we are. The villagers have no refrigeration or running water and only a couple of small solar panels to generate some power in a couple of huts. They have been stopped from fishing the local crystal clear waters. It seems incredible that they are unable to have at least one tap in the middle of the village. I support the owners' eco friendly stance at Delta Camp and also realize that they are constrained by Government regulations to maintain the Delta's pristine quality.
Try Delta Camp if you want something which will stay in your mind forever.

Room tip: Make enquiries about the type of accommodation on offer.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AnacrusisAnacrusis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

My wife & I stayed two unforgettable nights in the Tree House at the unique & luxurious Delta Camp. We explored the delta with John, our outstanding & knowledgeable guide & mokoro "gondolier". I highly recommend visiting the Okovango Delta and, when you do, staying at the Delta Camp!

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ucaimaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at delta Camp in the off season when we were the only guests. We had the tree house room and it was MAGICAL. Hippos played under our balcony while eagles watches. The staff and guides are fantastic. MD is particularly excellent.

The food is great and you will feel like you are will friends.

This lodge is a hiking lodge, so get ready to roam and see the animals on foot and in dug out canoe. Cannot recommend it here enough.

Room tip: The tree house! Stay in the Tree House!
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank monkeypod7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We knew it as Oddballs but others called it Delta.. anyway it was our first experience in the Okavango and very pleasing in every way.
Flew in from Maun, stayed two nights, took several mokoro trips and Colin had a go at driving one, mentored by Jackson, who says he has been there since 1975.
Beds are in dome tents, no extra space, your gear goes in a lockable trunk on the platform.. bucket shower, perfectly fine, flush toilet.. all solar, no generator noise.. friendly people, lovely sunsets, cold beer, hippo grazed past the tent, elephant in the reeds.. got the picture?

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aeoliansands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We have just returned from an amazing trip to Botswana. We spent 2 nights in Delta Camp. John our guide was fantastic, and we felt privileged to be shown his village of Xaxaba. John showed us his home (that he built himself) and introduced us to his wife. We enjoyed the tranquility of the mokoro, and loved seeing the painted reed frog. It was amazing to be on foot and see wild animals so close. Our accommodation in camp was unique as it was built around a tree (not the tree house).
Lena (the manager) has a great understanding of the people and the animals of the Delta.
On the way to the airstrip, we had to wait for a herd of elephants to move off the road. It was fantastic.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews