We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Maun, Botswana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Dream Experience”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Apart from lovely rooms, great food, good game viewing, wonderful staff they also managed to create an experience full of surprises that sets them ahead of the field and leaves one with memories to mull over for years.

Room Tip: There are only 5 so all good...honeymooners take the last!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Mervyn,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are very happy you enjoyed you stay with us at Baines' Camp and do hope to welcome you back again one day soon..

Would be great if you could keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreat and Baines’ Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    15
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
85
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
witley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Baines was our first stop on safari and it was impossible to beat, the location is beautiful, overlooking a lake surrounded by reeds from which you hear the hippos grunting through the day and night and can spot them swimming about, there are only five rooms here so the service is very personal, we were introduced to our personal maid and safari guide and were woken by a cup of tea in the room every morning before joining our guide, Fred, for a delicious breakfast. The rooms are beautiful, total luxury designed in a rustic way. What makes Baines so special is not easily put into a few words, the delta itself is beautiful and special not least because you only ever see one other vehicle when you're on a drive so it really feels like your own private safari. The food at Baines is exceptional all the way from breakfast through bush lunches to sumptuous afternoon tea to private, candlelit pool side dinners, and lying in a very bubbly bubble bath under the stars, surrounded by candles, listening to the hippos and watching the fireflies is a very special experience.
Our guide Fred was wonderful and we both felt very attached to him by the time we left and all the staff and management at Baines are first class.
We met the orphaned elephants and this was a big highlight of the trip, it's a good four or five hours plus an amazing lunch that just seems to magically pop up in the bush! The elephants are wonderful and Doug and Sandy are clearly living their lives for the elephants and the activity is purely to help keep the elephants alive rather than as a tourist attraction.
Save Baines for the end of your safari trip as it cannot be bettered.

Room Tip: All good! We were in the one nearest the communal areas and it was still a good distance from it, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely detailed review of your stay at Sanctuary Baines' Camp. It was great to hear you had a wonderful experience.

We are also thrilled to hear that your highlight was the Elephant Interaction – a highlight of ours too.

The team at Baines' loved hosting you and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreat and Baines’ Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I planned our stay direct with Sanctuary Retreats and the service the office provided was fantastic. They were very helpful and responsive.

When we arrived at the camp they gave us the option of going out directly on a game drive right away or checking in and going to the room. We chose the game drive and it was fantastic. We saw a leopard and a cub within the first hour. The scenery was beautiful, birds everywhere, elephants and giraffes walking in the distance. We had our sundowner next to a herd of buffalo. As the sun went down we continued our drive and saw quite a lot with the spot light.

When we arrived at the lodge the choir was waiting to greet us with a song, it was a really nice welcome. We then went to our room where we found two bubble baths drawn for us on our deck. The surprises didn't end there; we had an amazing dinner on the pool deck, under the stars.

The following day, we had another excellent game drive. Our guide was excellent and very patient. He noticed that the lions we were seeing looked hungry so we watched them for a long time. Long enough to see their strategies and watch them kill a Wart Hog. It was truly amazing and I appreciated not being rushed, it was so nice to spend our morning with the lions.

That evening we were told we were going into the village for dinner. Knowing there was no village around we knew they were up to something. I will not spoil the surprise for others but the evening was amazing and something I will never forget. If they tell you this while you are there, be sure to bring your camera.

I can't believe the service at this hotel, it was so far beyond what I would have expected. All of the game drives were wonderful; the boat trip to the reserve was beautiful. Absolutely everything at this lodge was perfect and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are in great . Our room was on the Hippo trail so we saw Hippos every nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventuretravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this fantastic review we are honoured to have hosted you and absolutely delighted that we exceeded your expectations.

We would love to welcome you back one day, hopefully soon..


We would love for you to keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Baines' Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Completed our African adventures with 3 days here. It far exceeded our expectations, and our expectations were high already. We didn't think it could surpass our experiences in Kruger or Chobe but it did. Everybody involved with our stay went the extra mile. Nothing was too much trouble. We give it 10 out of 10.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Dennis,

10 out 10 what more could we ask for??

Thank you for posting this wonderfil review on Tripadvisor we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and that we exceeded your expectations.

The team loved your feedback and hope to welcome you back one day soon.

We do hope to welcome you back again one day and until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreat and Baines’ Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

we are still here...when i m writing this review about baines.....room N. 3...and we enjoyed the athmosphere and the lodge..we have to say that after arriving from Chiefs camp, sister property in the Moremi Reserve, we were disappointed from the lack of predators in the area...but after 24 hours , we have been captured by the competence of Kevin, the manager ,really outstanding, the passion of Soli our guide, the friendliness of all the staff and the magic atmosphere of the lodge and landscape...highly reccomended!!!
Elena&Eraldo

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Elena & Eraldo,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of Sanctuary Baines' Camp on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you do much for your recommendation.

We are so sorry to hear that you found your game-viewing experience disappointing. As we operate in a pristine Wilderness area where the wild life is free to roam, it is never a guarantee on exactly you will see.

Kevin, Sully and the rest of the team enjoyed hosting and hope to welcome you back one day in the not too distant future

You can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Baines' Camp by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

There was not a moment that I wasn't charmed. I highly recommend that you have a bubble bath under the stars, a truly unique and romantic experience. The Living with elephants day was worth the extra add on, to spend a day with the elephants was increadible. And don't hesitate to sleep outside, it was glorious to fall asleep under the stars. the food was thoughtful and plentiful and will not disappoint. This was our fourth safari lodge in two weeks, it surpassed all the others. Thanks to Tuelo for his increadible guiding and finding us a leopard on our last morning. Thanks to Flo for he big kind heart that welcomed us.

Make the time to co e here and stay an extra night if you can.

Room Tip: There are only 5 and seemed to be all well spaced and appointed. 3 and 4 are closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaniaCarriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Tania,

Thank you for this lovely review we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that there wasn't a moment that you were not charmed.

The bubble bath is truly a unique and romantic experience and we so glad you enjoyed it. Cannot agree more the Elephant Interaction is definitely an incredible experience.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff especially Tuelo and Flo; they loved hosting you and hope to welcome you back one day soon.

You can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Baines' Camp by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Baines Camp for three nights. We had the most amazing time. From the surprise bubble baths on the deck to sleeping under the stars i can not say enough good things. Our arrangements for our entire trip were made by Bronwyn Walker at & Beyond travel. The entire trip went like clockwork. Ever detail of the logistics were perfect. We also did the Elephant Experience while at Baines. The highlight of the trip for me. It would be worth the 16hr flight back just to do that one event.
The people at Baines were wonder as was the food. loved it!!!

Room Tip: They all had a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Baines' Camp, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a lovely review thank you!!

We are glad that you had such an amazing experience with us. We cannot agree more the Elephant Interaction is definitely a must, truly a memorable experience and very happy this was a highlight for you. Delighted with your comments regarding our staff and the food, thrilled that you loved it!!!

We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon..

You can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Baines Camp by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okavango Delta
0.0 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 21 in Chobe National Park
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#23 of 71 in Okavango Delta
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Baines' Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Baines' Camp

Property: Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Address: Boro River, Botswana, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Baines' Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Baines’ Camp is our smallest and most intimate camp, built on raised platforms high above the Boro River in a huge private concession bordering the Moremi Game Reserve. An eco-friendly property built using only commercially grown wood, with over 150,000 recycled aluminium cans incorporated within the walls to provide insulation. The camp is raised above the permanent water of the Boro River while wooden walkways connect the main areas and luxury rooms. The swimming pool and the wide wooden deck that surrounds the main dining and sitting room is the ideal place to relax while observing the varied wildlife present here. See prowling lions looking for prey at the edge of the lagoon that the camp overlooks, or watch one of the many elephants who live in the area. The five suites at Sanctuary Baines’ are opulent and luxurious, with ensuite facilities and four-poster beds. Traditional safari ceiling fans create a cooling breeze at even the hottest times of the year. Should you wish, your bed can be wheeled out onto the private wooden deck for a night under the stars, overlooking the shimmering waters of the Boro River where hippo can often be spotted. Or take an indulgent soak under the stars on your own private viewing deck in our opulent star bath. At Baines’ Camp, the sky’s the limit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sanctuary Baines' Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Baines` Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Sanctuary Baines' Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing