We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Baines Camp, Botswana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Reviewed January 5, 2008

We had 4 nights over Christmas 2007 at the wonderful Baines Camp run by Semma and Charl, the most lovely couple who make their camp run in smooth elegance. The accommodation is gorgeous and sleeping under the stars in our four-poster bed was quite an experience with the hippos munching all around us! The small pool and too sala's was a fabulous and most welcome place to snooze after the fantastic morning game drives. It has to be said that the food was exceptional. The chef coped unbelievably with our family's many peculiarities, ie, one kosher, one vegetarian and one that wont eat duck or lamb. The 4pm teas were the highlight of our whole holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janettraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Baines' Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 128 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2006

Baines camp was the start of our Honeymoon. Following a 15 minute transfer by light aircraft from Maun airport we were ready for the beautifully simple yet elegant hut which was to become our home for the next 3 nights. The camp is in the southern part of the Delta and is surrouded by water. It only has 5 rooms making it very exclusive. The staff were fantastic, always cheerful and helpful. The food served was lovely and we couldn't have asked for more.
The game viewing was great. We were surrounded by hippos by the camp and wandering elephants and hyenas. We also saw leopard with it's kill, lions, a large herd of buffalo and so many other animals and birdlife. The guides from the camp had a great knowledge of the wildlife and a good eye for tracks!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs-Scanlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2006

We had 2 nights in April 2005 and it was our first safari. We had a fantastic stay.
The rooms were great with shower open onto the hippo pool and the star beds were a fantastic experience. Food and staff were also fantastic. The game viewing at this time of year can be a bit sparse as the waters haven't come in and therefore there are large areas for the animals to cover. We didn't see any cats, but saw most everything else.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank salbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Olivia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Lara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Laurenz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okavango Delta
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 22 in Chobe National Park
283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#22 of 71 in Okavango Delta
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#17 of 71 in Okavango Delta
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#2 of 71 in Okavango Delta
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Baines' Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Baines' Camp

Address: Boro River, Botswana, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range: $1,127 - $2,907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Baines' Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Baines’ Camp is our smallest and most intimate camp, built on raised platforms high above the Boro River in a huge private concession bordering the Moremi Game Reserve. An eco-friendly property built using only commercially grown wood, with over 150,000 recycled aluminium cans incorporated within the walls to provide insulation. The camp is raised above the permanent water of the Boro River while wooden walkways connect the main areas and luxury rooms. The swimming pool and the wide wooden deck that surrounds the main dining and sitting room is the ideal place to relax while observing the varied wildlife present here. See prowling lions looking for prey at the edge of the lagoon that the camp overlooks, or watch one of the many elephants who live in the area. The five suites at Sanctuary Baines’ are opulent and luxurious, with ensuite facilities and four-poster beds. Traditional safari ceiling fans create a cooling breeze at even the hottest times of the year. Should you wish, your bed can be wheeled out onto the private wooden deck for a night under the stars, overlooking the shimmering waters of the Boro River where hippo can often be spotted. Or take an indulgent soak under the stars on your own private viewing deck in our opulent star bath. At Baines’ Camp, the sky’s the limit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sanctuary Baines' Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Baines` Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Sanctuary Baines' Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing