We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommend”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in October and had a fabulous time. The accommodation is first rate and our housekeeper (Kerilenga) was very creative with our towels and seed designs on our bed. Upon our arrival we were picked up by our guide Alan who was the best we had during our 4.5 weeks in Africa. He was extremely knowledgable and easy to talk to. We were also fortunate to have Colin(Doc) as a spotter and we had lots of fun with both of them. The game viewing was quality ++++ with 5 viewings of leopards (with cubs) and just as many with lions (with cubs) amongst a stack of other, Giraffe, steenbeck, buffalo, myriads of birds, water monitors, other types of antelope. The drive through the watery roads added to the experience The food was amazing and nothing was too much trouble. The pool was a wonderful way to cool down as it is very hot in October although it is a dry heat. The sundowners were also a great way to finish off an afternoon of game viewing. Both Wilhelm and Jeremy were wonderful managers and weren't afraid to get in and help out when needed. I would not hesitate to recommend Sanctuary Stanley's camp or for that matter any of their camps if they are as well run as this one. As an added bonus we also did Walking with the Elephants which was an experience we will never forget. Thank you to all staff especially Alan and Doc for making our stay truly memorable.

Room Tip: All of them are OK we were in 6. If you have trouble walking ask for 1,2 or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Lynn,

What a lovely, detailed review! Thank you!

Thank you for your kind comments, the team especially Alan and Doc were delighted to hear your remarks as they loved hosting you and are happy that you appreciated their efforts.

We’d love for you to return one day for another memorable experience at Stanley's Camp or perhaps some of our other camps (we have sixteen others!).

Until then please keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Stanley's Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    34
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
77
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights here and had an excellent time! The management team was very caring and looked after us well - thanks Willem & Tiny! The accommodations were superb and the game viewing fabulous. The mokoro ride is a must. We also enjoyed lots of birding opportunities. We highly recommend Stanley's to anyone contemplating a luxurious safari experience!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KCF6326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

And yet another excellent review. Thank you!

We’re thrilled that you had an excellent time at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp as well and that our management team were very caring and you were well looked after.

Thank you for your recommendation - this is very much appreciated and we do hope you return one day for the fabulous game viewing as well as another mokoro ride.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Four of us stayed for four nights at this lovely Okavango camp, which is set in an amazing area that is one moment desert, the next, swamp. We were welcomed by singing staff members, and it set the tone for what was to come. The game viewing was excellent, and all kinds of animals strolled through the camp. One night we were surrounded by elephants, breaking down trees around our tent and harrumphing. I spent a morning "Living with Elephants", which was a wonderful experience. I have a great video of being kissed by a very affectionate elephant!
The manager, guides and staff were all knowledgeable and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with higher numbers are furthest from the main lodge. Not a problem if you don't mind a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for is great review!

We are delighted that you had a memorable experience at Stanley's Camp, our staff were very pleased with your comments.

Thank you for your recommendation - this is very much appreciated and we do hope you return one day for the fabulous game viewing as well as another kiss from an affectionate elephant.

Would be great if you could keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Stanley's Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at Stanley's camp in October and has the most amazing time. While the tents are not huge in size they are very comfortable and in the most amazing setting. What makes your stay at Stanley's so memorable is the attention to detail - lovely touches in the room like a local story about the animals left on your bedside table each night, coffee beans laid out in beautiful patterns on the bed each day, things like that. The food is excellent and the staff just wonderful - they can't do enough for you. Our guide, On, was a real gentle giant of a man who could sniff out game! We saw lions - male, female and cubs - leopards, elephants, buffalo, giraffes, zebras, all kinds of deer, a python one day, and much, much more. Each morning a table was set out in the bush for morning coffee and each evening for sundowners. Sheer bliss. The only disappointment was the lunch box we were given. It contained the driest bread and smallest piece of cheese I've ever had in a sandwich - what a shame when everything else was so wonderful.

Room Tip: All are wonderful but if I was pushed probably not too close to the lodge house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moraig30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are absolutely thrilled to hear you had such an amazing time at Sanctuary Stanley’s camp and thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Tripadvisor. On was very happy that you had such a great game viewing experience and that you appreciated he’s efforts.

A shame indeed and terribly sorry about the packed lunch, this is not acceptable and has been taken up with management to rectify immediately.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope to see you again one day soon.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine ca
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have been to Africa twice and stayed in many camps. So we feel able to review Stanley objectively. We would never go back. The tent was okay but the hygiene was not. Some of the staff was noticeably not clean from their smell. We never experienced this. I got food poisoning and threw up for two days. We know exactly when and how I got it. Our guide did not really try to speak to us and we spotted more animals than he did. At all the other camps we got tons of information about flora and fauna, not here. Although the management was very friendly we feel they are either too young or too inexperienced to run the lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Erica,

We are extremely sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay at Sanctuary Stanley’s Camp.

We take your concerns very seriously and this will be taken up with Management and addressed accordingly. Our aim is to delight our guests and your experience is not representative of the standards we set ourselves in looking after our guests, past feedback from guests and reviews on Tripadvisor are testimony to this.

We hope you accept our apologies and thank you again for your honest feedback as it helps in our efforts to constantly improve our service to future guests.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent 3 weeks on safari in East and southern Africa, and saw many camps, from 3 to 5 stars. Stanley's Camp had a unique blend of expert guides, excellent cuisine and perfect location for wildlife viewing -- in the middle of the Okavango Delta.

Room Tip: Try to stay in one of the tents with a lower number, say 1 - 4, because it's a shorter and safer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Exotic location with attentive, knowledgable staff.
See the Big Five between gourmet meals
Sundown cocktails in the Bush and personal elephant interaction
An infinity pool over the Okavango Delta
..........................................

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjwmdpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
45.1 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#33 of 71 in Okavango Delta
118 reviews
65.1 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#12 of 71 in Okavango Delta
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#10 of 71 in Okavango Delta
148 reviews
24.2 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
81 reviews
75.5 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#14 of 71 in Okavango Delta
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Stanley's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Stanley's Camp

Property: Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Address: NG32 Game Reserve, Okavango Delta, Botswana, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Stanley's Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Stanley's is a classic tented camp with just eight tents built under an imposing African Ebony tree on a private concession overlooking the Okavango floodplains. Sanctuary Stanley's Camp is built on a 260,000 acre private concession in the renowned Okavango Delta. This traditional safari camp has a large lounge area and dining area with incredible views over the floodplains in front of camp. The main area features a bar from where refreshing drinks are always served with a smile, a small library area and curio shop. From the swimming pool - a real treat after a hot day of game viewing - guests can watch giraffe and other plains game march across the savannah and sometimes catch a glimpse of rare wild dogs. Everything about Sanctuary Stanley's Camp is built to the highest ecological standards so that we don't damage this highly sensitive area.The intimate camp features only eight safari canvas tents, each individually designed, furnished with African antiques that exude a classic and understated elegance that harks back to the explorers and colonialists of the 19th century. Each tent has a large wooden deck providing private areas where you can relax in a hammock while soaking in the surrounding sights and sounds or enjoy cocktails, before dinner is served in the spectacular dining mess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Sanctuary Stanley's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Stanley`s Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing