We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience of a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We spent a day each at Sanctuary Stanley's and Baines camp and loved them both. The staff was incredibly attentive and pleasurable to be around. The food was delicious, particularly at Baines. A totally different experience than Kruger. You wont find the Big 5 as easily but Okawanga Delta makes up for it because it is really a water-based experience. Motor boat and canoe game viewing is quite an experience. Also if you haven't had a tented camp experience, dont miss it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarnold500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 184 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

When you visit this camp you feel as if you are in the middle of nowhere! There aren't loads of game vehicles competing for a viewing. It feels as if it is just you in the middle of Africa. Botswana people are warm and sincere and the lodge staff are 100% committed to ensuring that you are looked after. The tents are wonderfully equipped in a simplistic way that is true to the area that one is visiting. The Delta should mesmerise you! Make sure that you go on a makoro trip to fully appreciate where you are. We had a wonderful ranger that has spent years in the Delta and assisited us in fully appreciating the area that we had been in. Kot, you are a true ambassador to the Delta and to the Sanctuary Group.

You do not need to bring a suitcase full of clothes if you are visiting one of the Sanctuary Lodges. They provide complimentary laundry every day. This is a super nice touch and this along with the fact that drinks were included in the package is great. You therefore pay for your trip in advance and the only additional expense would be tips.

If you are a weary soul, the Delta and the Stanley Lodge experience will revive you within a day or two.

Room Tip: There are only 8 suites in a U shape. It is nice staying in the middle of the U shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bugzPaarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and had a fantastic time. The facilities are amazing and when the cost of providing electricity, five star catering, services including hot showers in the tents and plumbing is taken into account the cost is not that high and cannot be compared to a hotel or resort in a town or city. The staff and management were without exception helpful, efficient and friendly and our guides knowledge and ability to track and spot the birds and wildlife was exceptional. We were the only guests staying for 3 of the 4 nights and were treated like royalty. I would also definitely recommend visiting in low season as we saw plenty of animals including cheetah and leopard and had the advantage of having the whole area almost entirely to ourselves. I can't speak highly enough of Stanley's and our experience was exceptional in every way - a truely memorable experience

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Troybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

From the moment of landing on the dirt airstrip, we felt a part of Africa. The tented accommodations are wonderful and give you the feeling of camping in the bush ( although much more comfortable ). From the moment we arrived at the camp to our departure, we were treated like valued guests. Morning game drives were a little long, but because we were essentially off road for most of the day made for a wonderful experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable and took us places in the land cruiser that we would not have dreamed of attempting. Two down sides: our vehicle broke down all three days we were there.. but after all it is Africa and make sure you insist on being provided purified bottled water. The first two days we were only given local water that had been purified with a tablet. Not good enough, as they do have ample supply of purified water. Harry's meals were a real highlight and as stated elsewhere are first class. We also stayed at Kapama private game reserve in S. Africa, but if you want a real safari experience choose Stanley's camp over the larger facilities.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the lodge as the out lying rooms are quite a walk to the dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Stanley's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you very much for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read you had a great time at Sanctuary Stanley’s Camp, but would like to address the two issues of the vehicle break down and the water supplied in camp.

The problem with your vehicle was due to electrical wiring problems caused by water crossings in the Okavango Delta. The vehicle was brought to Maun and all faults rectified. With regards to your water quality concerns at Sanctuary Stanley’s Camp we do have an advanced water purification process in place, as we are aware of the environmental impact that plastic water bottles can cause.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sanctuary Stanley’s camp in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were on a 4 camp 25th wedding anniversary mega holiday. The camps we visited were Okuti and Kanana (both Ker & Downey) and Santuary Stanleys, and Sanctuary Sussi and Chuma (Sanctuary Retreats). All camps provided complimentary shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. A small point maybe, but I had checked and been told that some didn’t.

This was the third camp on our trip and a different organisation. The staff weren’t so friendly as we’d experienced before. The main building was modern and comfortable but there was no help-yourself fridge as there had been at our previous two camps and we did find that getting enough water and ice was a bit challenging. Meals were once again taken at a large refectory table, but you could go independent if that was your preference. Guides didn’t tend to join everyone at dinner but at breakfast and lunch they did.

The evening game drives ran a lot later than we’d previously experienced and this often meant you had zero time to even freshen up a little before you sat down to dinner. Excellent chef at this camp who produced a lot of choices at all meals. Our guide was TT, who was very knowledgeable as they all are, but did tend to have tunnel vision regarding getting you to the lion, the leopard or whatever, at the expense of loads of other stuff which you might like to have lingered on. Quite a bit of game, and once again we saw wild dogs, together with lions (really close), and much much more.

The piece de resistance was the elephant experience with Jabu, Thiembe and Marula. (I’m now in love with a toy-boy in the guise of Jabu, 25 years old). Half a day and lunch interacting with these 3 beautiful beasts (orphaned many years ago and now under the care of Doug and Sandi, who are providing them with the family structure an elephant matriarch would, whilst at the same time enabling them to be semi-wild) was truly overwhelming. We had booked this event specifically for the day of our Silver Wedding and it was absolutely magical. Cannot recommend it highly enough and urge anyone who can, to do it.

Our accommodation was still of a very comfortable high standard, though smaller than previous camps. On the upside, there was power in the room and better lighting. Again, same day laundry very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bossybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is another resort of the Sancturay Retreats group and another wonderful choice.the tented accommodation ( no air-condition) makes the experience all the nicer, the food Great, the staff nice and the guides top notch! a small intimate camp offering great game viewing.we felt very well taken car off. Partake in the elephant experience.... Unique!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traceller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This lodge is not for the meek and mild; you may have elephants outside your door and the Delta hosts a never ending battle with wet feet and mosquitos.
Imagine, then, my surprise at discovering a world class chef in Harry Feiersinger preparing cuisine fit for any Paris or New York fine dining expedition.
I still can't quite believe the cuisine was made in the lodge and not flown in from a fine European restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evantorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
65.6 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#2 of 72 in Okavango Delta
132 reviews
0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#26 of 72 in Okavango Delta
131 reviews
23.1 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#16 of 72 in Okavango Delta
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.8 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#15 of 72 in Okavango Delta
202 reviews
10.5 mi away
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safar...
#12 of 72 in Okavango Delta
241 reviews
0 mi away
Tuskers Bush Camp
Tuskers Bush Camp
#21 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Stanley's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Stanley's Camp

Address: NG32 Game Reserve, Okavango Delta, Botswana, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range: $565 - $1,110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Stanley's Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Stanley's is a classic tented camp with just eight tents built under an imposing African Ebony tree on a private concession overlooking the Okavango floodplains. Sanctuary Stanley's Camp is built on a 260,000 acre private concession in the renowned Okavango Delta. This traditional safari camp has a large lounge area and dining area with incredible views over the floodplains in front of camp. The main area features a bar from where refreshing drinks are always served with a smile, a small library area and curio shop. From the swimming pool - a real treat after a hot day of game viewing - guests can watch giraffe and other plains game march across the savannah and sometimes catch a glimpse of rare wild dogs. Everything about Sanctuary Stanley's Camp is built to the highest ecological standards so that we don't damage this highly sensitive area.The intimate camp features only eight safari canvas tents, each individually designed, furnished with African antiques that exude a classic and understated elegance that harks back to the explorers and colonialists of the 19th century. Each tent has a large wooden deck providing private areas where you can relax in a hammock while soaking in the surrounding sights and sounds or enjoy cocktails, before dinner is served in the spectacular dining mess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Sanctuary Stanley's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Stanley`s Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing