We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Kanana Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kanana Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We booked this camp via Paul Hickey-Fry at Real Africa. From the moment our light aircraft landed at the airstrip we knew were in for something special. We were met by Mark and Georgie and some of the staff who sang us a welcome in their local language Setswana. The rooms were well appointed and had all the facilities you could possibly need. The game drives were well put together and almost immediately we found a pride of lions. The food was superb and there was no end to their generosity with beverages. One evening we were also treated to a practical talk on the stars in the southern hemisphere which was fascinating. The Okavango Delta is itself amazing and well worth a boat trip. The staff were all happy and the overall atmosphere prompted a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    24
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
146
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We arrived from the Kalahari for a three night stay and we loved every moment, from the minute we arrived. The staff were welcoming, warm and friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our every wish. We were taken on game drives (and mokoros) by Amos, who knew every bird by sight and song and was an expert tracker, bringing alive the whole experience to a new level of excitement and wonder. Following eagles, vultures and tracking wild dogs, leopard and elephant made up some of the highlights of each game drive. The breakfast, lunches and dinners were very good indeed and the staff were particularly careful to help me avoid wheat (I have an allergy), giving me delicious alternatives. The rooms were carefully zipped up (including the shower area) to keep out mosquitos and 'bugs' which made the stay most relaxing. It is an extremely well run camp with unbelievable attention to detail and a fabulous feel to it, it was as if it was fun by a very happy family of people. Indeed everyone was infectiously happy and it was a joy to be amongst such wonderful people. I have never enjoyed 3 days more. Almost cried when I left!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EMonteith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just a 20 minute short flight from Okuti this camp offers similar activities but being part of a private reserve there is more flexability for the guides , fewer people and some additional activities too. The staff were fantastic to a man/woman led expertly by Mark and Georgie. Very comfortable tented chalets , great sleep quality including roaming hippos and buffalo in the camp! Don't go out at night! Our guide - Amos- was very experienced and a charming character with bags of experience on our morning and afternoon game drives and the sundowners in the bush very memorable to. A real treat in the " wilderness" and SO far from the hurly burly of London!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanCLOndonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our room was good, food great and staff generally very good. The Safarying was excellent. We did morning and evening drives and saw so much. We also did a night drive and walking safari one morning. We saw a great deal and the highlight being to see two leopards (a mating pair) at night. Really exhilarating! The walking safari was fascinating. We didn't see much wildlife but our guide (Aubrey) gave us brilliant demonstrations of bush craft.
Dinners were very good as was the impromptu entertainment. Everybody was really helpful and made our stay very special. Thank you.

Room Tip: We were a little distance from the main lodge which we liked. All of the lodges looked a good standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ker_Downey_Botswana, Manager at Kanana Camp, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
So glad you had a great time at Kanana and lovely to hear you enjoyed your guided walk with Aubrey. We are proud to announce that Kanana has been placed 3rd and highly commended in the Safari Awards category of Best Safari Property in Africa and Best Community Focused Safari Property in Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We flew to the Kanana camp from another Ker & Downey camp at Shinde. It was a 20-minute flight in a small single-engine aircraft. Once again, it was an unsealed airstrip in a clearing near the camp. We were met by our guide, Aubrey, in an open 4WD vehicle.

There were lots of similarities (and some differences) compared with the Shinde camp. But let me state right at the beginning that they were both brilliant. They were both brilliant for a whole lot of reasons.

An obvious reason why they are brilliant is because they have brilliant staff. For example, Aubrey our guide. Like other guides, he was uncanny in being able to locate animals for us to see. His eyesight is amazing and his knowledge of the animals is encyclopaedic.

One day, he showed us an elephant walking across a shallow lake and drove around the lake and parked just where the elephant walked in front of the vehicle giving us a fantastic photo opportunity.

He seems to have an uncanny ability to predict what animals are likely to do. One night, on an evening game drive, he spotted a jackal in the grass. When it disappeared into the grass, he drove at high speed along the dirt track for about 500m and then stopped dead just in time for the animal to reappear from the grass and walk in front of the vehicle.

Another member of staff who deserves special mention was the camp manager, Mark. He was very attentive to the needs of his guests – making sure we were all being looked after. For example, he was always there to top up my wine glass before and during dinner and then offering me a port after dinner.

On the evening that we arrived at the camp, I mentioned to Mark that I’d taken so many photos already on our holiday in southern Africa that I’d almost filled up all the spare camera memory cards that I’d brought with me. Mark volunteered to fly in a couple of extra memory cards on the daily flight that comes into the camp.

Here we were in the middle of nowhere and he was able to get the cards from a shop hundreds of kilometres away and he only charged me normal retail price. I’ve experienced excellent customer service in various parts of the world but this tops the lot. Brilliant.

There were plenty of other staff who deserve special mention and I can’t remember all their names but I do remember Priscilla, T-man, John, Owner and Amos.

Obviously we came to Kanana to see wild animals and we weren’t disappointed. There were elephants, hippos, giraffes, kudu, zebras, impala, buffalo, baboons, monkeys, reedbuck, lechwe, tsessebe, hyena, crocodiles and an amazing variety of birds including egrets, cranes, storks, pelicans, cormorants and herons.

One of the attractions of Kanana is that it offers water-based expeditions. This included a dinghy trip on the lagoon and a mokoro (canoe) trip. Towards the end of the dinghy trip, we stopped in the middle of placid lake to have a fish. It was amazing how easy it was to catch the fish.

As with the Shinde camp, we were told not to venture outside our cabin after sunset without a guide because there could be wild animals roaming through the camp. For example, an elephant had been breaking through the electrified fence to come into the camp overnight.

Our cabin was close the lagoon which contained hypos. One night, my wife heard a noise and looked out to see a kudu munching on a tree near the front porch of the cabin.

The meals were excellent. It’s amazing that they can serve such a high standard of food in a wilderness camp.

I can thoroughly recommend Kanana camp for an exciting and memorable African adventure. Ker & Downey have a great system, great locations and great service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottmingen, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Very good rooms, food and very friendly staff.
Forget stress, enyoy the nature and the animals.
We loved to stay here.
We dont need 5 star hotels, here we have all we need to relax.
Many thanks to the staff.
Rainer and Anette

Room Tip: You only need a bed to sleep. Enjoy the animals, but always keep your shoes inside the room. Hyena...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Not only is the setting exquisite, the food and facilities fantastic, but the friendly and warm service just make this place a true paradise. Our guide was exceptionally knowledgable and friendly, while also being really professional and made us feel safe/in good hands, when face to face with the wildlife. The management are very hands on in everything and the staff just seemed happy and cannot do enough to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. Also the range of activities and access to the water directly from the lodge made this specific camp quite unique. Food was excellent too. I highly recommend this camp, it is just awesome!

Room Tip: I would suggest taking room 1, 2 or three. Just closer to the main lodge and dining areas. Importan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
68.6 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
46 reviews
17.6 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
220 reviews
6.8 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#15 of 71 in Okavango Delta
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.6 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#6 of 71 in Okavango Delta
87 reviews
23.0 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
224 reviews
82.1 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#14 of 71 in Okavango Delta
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanana Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanana Camp

Property: Kanana Camp
Address: Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Hotel Class:4 star — Kanana Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden jewel on the Xudum River, Kanana is located in the southwest of the Okavango Delta. The area encompasses a necklace of islands dotted with palms, figs, ebony and knobthorn, and is home to a myriad of birds, plants and animals. The nature of the habitat means it is the perfect place to experience the diversity of species found within the Okavango Delta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kanana Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Kanana Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing