We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Colby B

Once in a lifetime amazing experience -be one with wildlife

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 21, 2015
Zarafa is exquisite. Excellent and very knowledgeable guides and TONS of wildlife. The rooms are massive and very comfortable. The "surround sound" outdoor showers spray from all angles - and if you're lucky you can shower while watching and elephant or buffalo play around in the water in front of camp.

The staff is beyond accomodating. They wake you up every morning with hot tea or coffee (or whatever you ask for). They don't say no to anything - they will make anything happy to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. If you have the opportunity to go, GO!
Date of stay: July 2015
Room Tip: All tents are amazing - and have an unforgettable view!
Trip type: Traveled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this review
Responded Aug 31, 2015
Dear Colby

We love your description of the outdoor shower!
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with others, it was an absolute pleasure to spoil you here at Zarafa.

We’d love to see you visit again soon.

Kind regards
The Zarafa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
65.0 miles from Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
32.3 miles from Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
46.4 miles from Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
54.5 miles from Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Okavango Delta
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
180
4
5
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
180
4
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild dogs the managers game drives chef raymond animal behavior safari experience bucket list landing strip fabulous experience private pool great wildlife beautiful setting knowledgeable guides dhow lagoon plains conservation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 191 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2015

Have been to several safari camps and this is right at the top. Rooms, meals, service ... man we were all spoilt. Our passionate guide Issac was outstanding ... A true carer of nature, we definitely learnt a lot because of him.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank koropok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2015

What a lovely compliment, thank you so much!

All our staff are passionate about nature, and more so conservation, and we thank you for being a part of that.

Warm regards
The whole Zarafa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2015

Definitely recommend for those looking for something a bit more private and celebrating something special. Grounds were beautiful, staff was friendly and accommodating, game viewing was spectacular. All around great time.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank zach650
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2015

Dear Zach

Thank you for taking the time to review Zarafa.
We’re touched by your compliments and we thank you for sharing this with others.
Till next time!

The Zarafa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2015

After 20 years "Out of Africa" what a RETURN!! Zarafa had it all - lots of animals, great accommodation, world class food and the nicest staff on earth!!! I would recommend this place to all. Rubin was an awesome guide!!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CesarJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2015

Dear Jocelyn

We’re delighted that your return to Africa included a visit to Zarafa.
Thank you for your review and the compliments, we do hope you return sooner than 20yrs from now as we would love to spoil you again!

Warm regards
The Zarafa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2015

Camp was gorgeous and wildlife viewing was amazing. We went to Kruger also and I definitely preferred Botswana - for the most part, untouched by mankind. Rueben was an excellent guide. Food was incredible. Staff was very polite and helpful. Could not have asked for a better experience. We will hopefully be back!!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2015

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with others, we appreciate your kind compliments.

Botswana is indeed such a special place, being so well looked after yet untouched by mankind.

We’d love to see you back soon!

Best regards, The Zarafa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2015

I have recently returned from a Safari holiday in Botswana staying at the opulent Zarafa Camp.
Four luxurious Meru style tents overlook the Zabadianja Lagoon, surrounding a central area where guests gather for Lunch/Dinner and to watch the amazing sunsets.
Guests have the option of spending an afternoon on Zarafa's boat cruising on the Lagoon which can make a pleasant change from another game drive. During my visit I was lucky enough to photograph Leopard,Lion,Elephant,Buffalo,Wild Cat,Fish Eagles and Wild Dog.
It was good to catch up with Managers David and Willem whom I had met on previous visits. It is their attention to detail and the ability to make guests feel immediately at home that makes this a very special place. My thanks to Katherine the Chef and her team for the varied menu and providing sumptuous food worthy of Five Stars.

Great Plains have have created a wonderful camp, although on the pricey
side it delivers in so many ways. I hope one day return.
Jeff

Room tip: All rooms offer the same interior. Rooms 2 and 3 are closer to the main area.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffd100804
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2015

Dear Jeff

It was lovely to host you again and we’re thrilled that you had such a great experience and fantastic photographic opportunities.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.
Till next time!

David, Willem, Katherine and the rest of The Zarafa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews