We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
163
4
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
163
4
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild dogs the managers game drives sister property we spent hours incredible food african safari great guide the main lodge camera plains accommodations conservation bush hosts tents wildlife
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 173 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2015

Have been to several safari camps and this is right at the top. Rooms, meals, service ... man we were all spoilt. Our passionate guide Issac was outstanding ... A true carer of nature, we definitely learnt a lot because of him.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank koropok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2015

What a lovely compliment, thank you so much!

All our staff are passionate about nature, and more so conservation, and we thank you for being a part of that.

Warm regards
The whole Zarafa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2015

Definitely recommend for those looking for something a bit more private and celebrating something special. Grounds were beautiful, staff was friendly and accommodating, game viewing was spectacular. All around great time.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank zach650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2015

Dear Zach

Thank you for taking the time to review Zarafa.
We’re touched by your compliments and we thank you for sharing this with others.
Till next time!

The Zarafa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2015

After 20 years "Out of Africa" what a RETURN!! Zarafa had it all - lots of animals, great accommodation, world class food and the nicest staff on earth!!! I would recommend this place to all. Rubin was an awesome guide!!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CesarJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2015

Dear Jocelyn

We’re delighted that your return to Africa included a visit to Zarafa.
Thank you for your review and the compliments, we do hope you return sooner than 20yrs from now as we would love to spoil you again!

Warm regards
The Zarafa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2015

Camp was gorgeous and wildlife viewing was amazing. We went to Kruger also and I definitely preferred Botswana - for the most part, untouched by mankind. Rueben was an excellent guide. Food was incredible. Staff was very polite and helpful. Could not have asked for a better experience. We will hopefully be back!!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2015

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with others, we appreciate your kind compliments.

Botswana is indeed such a special place, being so well looked after yet untouched by mankind.

We’d love to see you back soon!

Best regards, The Zarafa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2015

I have recently returned from a Safari holiday in Botswana staying at the opulent Zarafa Camp.
Four luxurious Meru style tents overlook the Zabadianja Lagoon, surrounding a central area where guests gather for Lunch/Dinner and to watch the amazing sunsets.
Guests have the option of spending an afternoon on Zarafa's boat cruising on the Lagoon which can make a pleasant change from another game drive. During my visit I was lucky enough to photograph Leopard,Lion,Elephant,Buffalo,Wild Cat,Fish Eagles and Wild Dog.
It was good to catch up with Managers David and Willem whom I had met on previous visits. It is their attention to detail and the ability to make guests feel immediately at home that makes this a very special place. My thanks to Katherine the Chef and her team for the varied menu and providing sumptuous food worthy of Five Stars.

Great Plains have have created a wonderful camp, although on the pricey
side it delivers in so many ways. I hope one day return.
Jeff

Room tip: All rooms offer the same interior. Rooms 2 and 3 are closer to the main area.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffd100804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2015

Dear Jeff

It was lovely to host you again and we’re thrilled that you had such a great experience and fantastic photographic opportunities.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.
Till next time!

David, Willem, Katherine and the rest of The Zarafa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews