We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was our first trip to Botswana and we were really looking forward to it. Have been to many game lodges in South Africa and wanted a different experience. Beautiful country with great game viewing. Zarafa is absolutely stunning with every convenience you could ever want. Lovely tented camp with beautiful accommodation. Service is outstanding, thank you to our hosts and Catherine for a lovely evening meal. Isaac our guide was very knowledgable and we enjoyed our game viewing with him.
There is no mobile network or internet at the camp so say goodbye to the world before you arrive

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaOkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hello there!

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.
It was indeed about time you visited Botswana !
We truly hope you will visit us again when your travels bring you back to this part of beautiful Africa.

Kind regards,

The Zarafa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
75
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sea island georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

we just returned from a three day safari at Zarafa. It is hard to find enough superlatives to describe our trip. The staff makes you feel as if they are your long lost family. The "tents" are incredibly luxurious in a true african safari fashion. Isaac our ranger was incredible. He combined exceptional knowledge with incredible tracking skills to make each drive more spectacular then the previous one. He seemed to supply just the right amount of information about every animal and the surprisingly large number of birds we encountered. His obvious love of his job translates into a phenomenal shared enthusiasm with his guests. Having a sundowner next to a hippo pond with 9 of these magnificent animals looking on as we enjoyed our beverages and snacks with the sun going down is an experience to be cherished forever. the same can be said for enjoying a breakfast in the field while surrounded by the most beautiful scenery and a family of giraffe accompanied by a heard of zebra. Each camp meal was superb and all requests were quickly honored. Our hosts were engaging friendly and very personable. Our last evening we arrived back in camp to an unexpected surprise. The staff had prepared a hot bubble bath in our copper tub, a fire was blazing in the fireplace (it was a bit chilly), there were flowers and candles around the tub with iced champagne beside it. On our private deck, lanterns were lit and a table for two prepared and beautifully set. After our bath, a delicious candlelight dinner was served to us by the incredibly friendly staff. It was totally unexpected and a moment we will surely remember forever. It was another example of the staff showing extreme care and service and going the extra mile. I cannot think of any way to improve on our experience and would recommend Zarafa without hesitation. The camp, the setting, the staff were all exceptional. My hat is off to them for their exceptional warmth and professionalism.

Room Tip: There are 4 identical tents each with private plunge pool, outdoor shower and deck. Should you be ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brainctr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi there!

Thank you for sharing your lovely review here following your stay with us at Zarafa Camp.

Even though you mention it is hard to find enough superlatives to describe your stay, we light up with joy reading your kind words.

It was our absolute pleasure hosting you and we are looking forward to spoil you with many more African memories when your travels bring you back to Botswana.

Warmest Regards,
The Zarafa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This camp was amazing. Our game rides were exceptional - there was always something to see. As amazing as the animal sightings were, the staff was even better. Isaac was fantastic - the best we could have hoped for and he truly made it an amazing experience for our family. Katherine and Frank also made the experience exceptional (and a big thank you to Katherine for delivering an exceptional culinary experience for Sophie:). We can't say enough about this camp and we look forward to our return to stay in the new family camp!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, Director of Sales at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi there Heather

So excited that Zarafa's team managed to blow you away!
Thank you for taking time to let us know here how your stay went.

Let us know when you coming to stay at the brand new Zarafa Dhow Suites which open in May 2014!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We have just returned from a magnificent safari experience at Zarafa. From the friendliness of the staff; the healthy, wholesome cuisine; the beautifully decorated decor redolent of Out of Africa safari elegance; the incredible and breathtaking scenery and setting of the lodge; the most amazing game experience; and the superb professional and knowledge of our incredible guide, Lets, Zarafa was simply sensational. Thank you to the entire team and namely Frank, Katherine and the awesome Lets for making our 9th wedding anniversary (that we had actually forgotten about because we were so blown away with Zarafa!!) so supremely special. Til we meet again x

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaAponte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, Director of Sales at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi there Tina

It is wonderful to see that the Zarafa team ensured your stay was a special and memorable one!
Hopefully the wedding anniversary was only forgotten because you were having such an amazing time at Zarafa...

We look forward to having you stay with us at our other camps in the hopefully not too distant future!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have been on safari before and been very pleased. We had high expectations for Zarafa but they were exceeded in every way. Marcus and Marijn, the managers, were professional and thoughtful in every way - and lots of fun. The ambiance of the camp is wonderful, cleaners, cooks, guides - everyone always with a big smile on their faces. The rooms were incredible, big and beautifully furnished. Plunge pool and outdoor shower - lovely luxuries after hot game drives. Our guide was Kane. It is hard to imagine anyone more in sync with nature. We had some very exciting game drives and even if we only got to see tracks of a leopard, we were more than thrilled with everything Kane showed us. We were able to drive next to a lioness for a couple of hours, we saw a pack of wild dogs gobble down a newly caught impala in no time at all and we saw lots of hippos and elephants in herds, but also old males all alone. Zarafa is not only a wonderful place for viewing game - we went there in the wet season (February) and the birdlife was incredible. Lots of different species and little chicks everywhere.
Back at home again we feel a bit sad - what could ever top Zarafa? We will have to to back!

Room Tip: The slight impairment to sleep quality is due to the number of hippos and elephants passing by outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, Director of Sales at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Elizabeth

Hopefully you receiving a full night's sleep now that you have returned home!

We look forward to exceeding your now high expectations of Zarafa when you come stay at the brand new zarafa Dhow Suites, opening May 2014, or or perhaps one of our Kenyan camps?

Yours in safari!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent three nights at the Zarafa camp, and our hosts Marcus and Mareena (sic) were as accommodating and professional as we could have wished for. They bent over backwards to make certain that our family felt at home, and no request was too large or small - great and thoughtful hosts.
Our safari guide was Isaac, and he was very patient, refined and educational. The facilities are extremely well maintained and we have already referred friends to the facility. Absolutely perfect and memorable for our family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Jan,

Greetings from the Zarafa team!

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your family. Thank you for your kind review, we feel so motivated through your thoughtful words. We are most looking forward to welcoming your friends in our home.

Kind regards from the bush,
Markus & Marijn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had been to Botswana several times before. This camp was above and beyond any other camp that we had been to. The facilities are incredibly beautiful and functional. The room was large, with both an indoor and outdoor showers, a plunge pool (that was always clean), a deck, and very comfortable and useful amenities. We made use of the included SLR Camera and Binoculars in the room on every drive.

We were worried before arriving that the camp would insist on being over-bearing and on strict schedule, but Marcus and Marijn were anything but! They made sure that we did what we wanted to do when we wanted to do it. They accommodated any ask that we had (we hope we were reasonable! haha). The chef Catherine took our input before every meal and planned to our wishes and desires. We loved every meal! She is to talented and skilled!! We even asked her to email us her recipes (which she did) as we left. Her meals were better than some 5* restaurants we had in populated area, and we were out in the middle of the bush!

Last but not least, the guiding and wildlife. We were lucky with abundant wildlife viewing, lots of big cats, great birding, and wild dogs! Every game drive was an event! We chased dogs on a hunt, watched a snake and mongoose fight, saw a leopard with a kill in a tree, and more.
Isaac our guide was incredible skilled and seemed to know where to find the animals. He would see fresh tracks and off we'd go on another adventure! His tracking skills were incredible, and he never gave up, so we had amazing sightings.

Kudos to the Zarafa team and staff, you made our stay incredible. This place is the real deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveNYCgotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your Zarafa experience on Tripadvisor.com. We are very happy to hear that we managed to be the real deal for you and your family, it was only a pleasure. We hope that when your adventures bring you back to beautiful Botswana, you will visit us again, this time with some real challenging requests!

Greetings from the entire Zarafa team,
Markus & Marijn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
55.5 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
45 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#4 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
213 reviews
19.8 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#9 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.7 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#13 of 72 in Okavango Delta
185 reviews
20.6 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
44.7 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#18 of 72 in Okavango Delta
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp

Property: Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp
Address: Selinda Reserve | Selinda Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zarafa evokes a sense of luxurious old-style safari with spaciousness and 21st-century eco-consciousness. About Zarafa CampEach of Zarafa's four sumptuous tents with generous veranda is positioned under cool, shady trees, fronting onto the idyllic Zibadianja Lagoon. The spacious bedroom has a lounge, en-suite bathroom with copper bath, indoor as well as outdoor shower, copper heater for cosy winters as well as its own private pool for summer. The main area, similarly furnished, evokes traditional safari ambiance. Lounge and dining facilities may be enjoyed under canvas or on the full-length shaded deck. The camp is run completely on solar heating and power.Environment and WildlifeThe Selinda Concession is dominated by a vast grassy floodplain interspersed with slightly elevated palm islands and aromatic sage bushes. Resident wildlife includes red lechwe, kudu, tsessebe, giraffe, warthog and steenbok. Top predators are lion and spotted hyaena, as well as cheetah, wild dog, side-striped jackal, serval and even aardwolf. Elephant, buffalo, wildebeest and zebra are other herbivores seen throughout the year, complemented with varied bird life.Experiencing Zarafa CampDay and night game drives in custom-built 4x4 vehiclesGuided nature walks (on request)Canoeing and house boat for private dining, evening or day trips into the lagoon and onto the riverCatch-and-release fishing (seasonal) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zarafa Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing