We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
158
15
7
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
158
15
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool game drives didn t work ranger guide lifelong memories water activities resident hippos personal butler nocturnal animals african massage final destination outdoor shower local language sitting area south africa magical days classic safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 183 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2018 via mobile

The camp is fantastic, awesome rented accommodation with a private pool, outdoor and indoor shower and very comfortable beds. The central area where fantastic meals are enjoyed served by your personal Butler is very tastefully decorated and looks onto a beautiful waterhole with three resident hippo and a multitude of other game visit daily. The game drives were long but very good with great snacks mid way through the drive. Awesome to experience the delta.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank RHINOTHOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2018

My husband, mother, family friend and I spend our last 2 nights of an 8 night safari trip at Xaranna. I was pleasantly surprised by this camp and how intimate it was. The guest relations manager, Henri, is a doll and just so lovely and attentive. Anything we needed, he was there ready to do whatever he could. The tents were also really cozy and cute with a sitting area, but open washroom and private plunge pool and deck. They could use some basic updates but they were very comfortable and it was really cool listening to the birds and hippos. My only real concern with the tents were that they did not have phones in them so you couldn't call the main lodge once you were in your tent for the night. Due to the animals roaming around you need an escorted walk to and from your tent when it's dark out, so if you need someone after that point the only means of getting their attention is to blow an emergency horn. I mentioned my concern of this to Henri and he informed me they will be getting wifi to the tents as well as phones in each tent this upcoming week, so that's awesome! We had Moses as our guide and Atty as our tracker, both were wonderful. Moses is a wealth of information and just a super awesome and nice guy. After coming from Sandibe where we had just incredible game viewing, Xaranna gave us a different perspective and I actually enjoyed our evening drives more here than at any other lodge. We saw really cool smaller nocturnal animals and the concession is so big we always went somewhere new. We will definitely be back to this gem!

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank elissa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2018 via mobile

We visited Xaranna the second of 3 andBeyond properties. Although not as updated as Sandibe, this property was our favourite. The camp is on a channel with hippos and lots of aquatic birds. An elephant was just off the dining room grazing when we arrived. The sunrises were so beautiful over the water. Our guides Diane and Tollen were incredible. They tracked a male rhino for us to see the first day. The next day they tracked a family of wild dogs. We did the mokoro ride at sunset and the motor boat ride another day...wonderful views of the landscape. One point to note is that the water level gets low at this time in the year. The rooms are so spacious and private. We stayed 3 nights and we wanted to stay longer!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank suezoo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2018

Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp was the last of the three &Beyond properties that we stayed at in Botswana and was probably the best located and most 'luxurious', although Nxabega comes a very close second! We had a particularly well-situated 'tent', right on the channel, which was alive with hippo and elephant. Andre, Kaye and their team really looked after us and the accommodation was excellent, with an air-conditioning unit just above the bed, should it be needed, although we found the temperature at night, with the blinds up, really quite acceptable, notwithstanding 33 degrees during the day. The food was really quite exceptional given where we were and the resident chef (who I believe, has responsibility for several of the &Beyond properties) should be congratulated for the quality of the food and presentation. There was, sadly, one issue with our stay at Xaranna, that related to our ranger and tracker, who, compared with the rangers and trackers at the camps we had stayed at earlier, were in our opinion, not as committed and passionate about their roles as others, which was disappointing, particularly given this was our final destination, at the end of a wonderful stay in beautiful Botswana! Overall a great two nights, in a first-class camp.

Room tip: Tent/room 2 is in an excellent location, overlooking the channel
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RSSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018

I’ve posted the same comments under both as – while you can totally visit them separately – they are so close that you can split your stay which is what we did (2+2).
They are both on the water in the delta so in the right season it is possible to transfer between the lodges by boat taking around 30 minutes. Regrettably during our stay the water was waning so we were driven which took around an hour.
The main reason for adding these camps to our itinerary was the attraction of boat trips to add contrast to game drives. We were quite lucky as we were able to do two trips but it looks like the water will soon be too low so do take this into consideration when booking.
The layouts, décor and food styles are very similar so it is a very subjective thing as to which one is preferable and indeed during our stay I can honestly say between food, guides and accommodation they levelled out.
In both lodges all the staff were great and really could not do enough for you.
When out and about – whether on the water or a game drive – you encountered people from both lodges so the concession is very much shared.
So was it worth the transfer or would you be better just staying at one? For us the minimal hassle of packing and the change in scene was definitely the better option giving a bit more variety, new surroundings and new faces. But equally you may prefer to relax in just one.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews