We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
197
20
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
197
20
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palm island water based walking tour mokoro ride game drives bush walk fire pit private dinner bird viewing incredible knowledge night stay other guests always felt safe stayed nights great guide different species landing strip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 223 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2015

Xugana was the ideal place for our family of 5 adults to stay in the delta. The staff were genuinely warm and couldn't do enough to accommodate us. Our guide, GB was very experienced and we were able to see the highlights for the area during our two night stay (hippos, crocodiles, elephants, monkeys, birds, etc.). We greatly underestimated how the wonderful staff would shape our experience. They were such interesting people to talk to and it was very pleasant to have them accompany us for meals. They truly went above and beyond when they surprised us with a private dinner on a floating dock in the middle of the lagoon to celebrate my parents' anniversary. Highly recommend a visit to Xugana.

Room tip: Best views
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JJO812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Xugana Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2015

Dear JJO812
Thank you for sharing your stay experience. The floating deck at Xugana is one of my personal favourites, it truly allows you to experience the wilderness of the delta. Sitting enjoying your meal under the stars and listening to the sounds around you. I hope your parents had a great time and memories were made that can no be cherished forever.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

From the staff waiting on the jetty to great you to them waving you off at the end of your stay this place could not be faulted.
The staff were amazing. A special mention must go to Julia who made us feel so welcome. The whole team made you feel part of the family and the fact that the guides and management sat with you at meal times added to this feeling.
The rooms were really well equipped, and the communal areas overlooking the lagoon were immaculate. Dinner under the stars is really special. The food was excellent with cakes to die for in the afternoon.
It was our first walking safari and we were a bit apprehensive that no one had a gun but it soon became obvious that our guide Dennis could read the animals and did not need one. His information on the habitat and animals was excellent and we learnt a lot from him.
This lodge seems to be set up mainly for a 2 night stay and as we stayed for 3 nights we repeated 2 of the activities. Don't get me wrong all the trips were excellent but on the second boat trip we only saw what we had seen the previous day location wise.
This lodge will always hold a special place in my memories though due to the attention and care that the staff gave to everything. Would definitely recommend it!

Room tip: All good but rooms 1 & 2 best for sunrise views.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Xugana Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2015

Dear Lesley0608
Thank you for a great review of your recent stay at Xugana Island Lodge. Warm welcomes and friendly smiles are definitely a great way to start your stay. All our staff aim very high to ensure that you as our guest are made to feel at home and comfortable as possible. I am glad that Julia made an impact on your stay and I will be sure to share this feedback with her and the rest of the team. Thank you for choosing Desert and Delta Safaris for your first walking safari.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

Our visit was a real highlight. The rooms are very well appointed, and the staff are friendly, helpful and very professional. The meals were excellent. TH was our guide and he looked after us very well. He was knowledgeable and worked very hard. We saw some beautiful birds and some animals.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank CallySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Xugana Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2015

Dear CallySydney
Many thanks for the review on your recent trip into Xugana Island Lodge. I will be sure to share the feedback with GB and the rest of the team. Thank you for choosing to stay with Desert and Delta Safaris.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2015

The place was really nice and good food, We had a private dinner on the floating dock, the first night, we were the only guest at the camp. Our guide BG was very good. The game viewing was disappointing, and not the right time of the year for birds. Nice quiet place, but not much to see. Enjoyed the Mokoro canoe ride and bush walk.
A little pricey for what you get to do. The last morning of 2, we had no activities and had to wait until after 11:00 with nothing to do, until our boat ride back to the airstrip.

Date of stay: July 2015
3  Thank Kit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2015 via mobile

I was absolutely delighted with our stay here. There are only a maximum of 16 guests at any one time meaning that the experience is personal and attentive. The accommodation is in thatched roof discreet rooms with views over the water. The rooms are beautifully presented and equipped well. The food was amazing, and guests sit down to eat with the staff every mealtime, giving guests the opportunity to feel very at home. In the evenings a fire pit is lit and guests gather round it to talk. Everything is included, including laundry and a well stocked bar. The game activities are well organised and guided by extremely experienced staff who seem to love their jobs. The activities include walking safaris, river cruises and trips in the traditional boats, called mokoros. There is nothing that would make this place better!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank shamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Xugana Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2015

Dear shamat
Many thanks for the wonderful review of your time at Xugana Island Lodge. A great overview for any future guests travelling. We will be sure to share the great comments with the team in camp. Thank you for choosing Desert and Delta Safaris for your stay in Botswana.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews