We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haina Kalahari Lodge
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

this place is probably one of the best,.excellent tented accommodation,the staff are a delight to be with .the food was to die for sitting in the open air restaurant overlooking the waterhole being visited by impala and kudu.the game drives are informative and the guide is very friendly with every day ending in a sundowner ,what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
37
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Everything was amazing at the this lodge. The staff was incredibly friendly, the food was amazing, and the wildlife was incredible. We were fortunate to see a pride of lions 2 days in a row! I would highly recommend booking this lodge while in Botswana.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doe U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xaxaba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've been to 30+ properties in Botswana at all levels of service and Haina exceeded expectations. The guides at Haina have a wonderful balance of knowledge, enthusiasm and humor. Game viewing is a a gamble anywhere. If someone tells you differently, be suspect. That being said, no one will work harder to put you on the game then Haina staff. On day two, we got onto some fresh lion tracks and Adrian's excitement quickly became contagious. We followed a stalking pride during the day and roaring lions serenaded us at night. The mostly locally-sourced meals were delicious and elegant. Attentive staff met needs without hovering. We arrived as guests, left as dear friends.

Room Tip: bring ear plugs if active wildlife at night is an issue for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Haina after a stay in the Delta. We were greeted by our host, suzanna. She was charming and great at what she does. Lions roam the camp as well as numerous kudu and impala. The tents were great. You get the true kalahari experience. Suzanna accommodated our desire to take a trip to the national park and deception valley. The trip was long but worth the extra expense. Animals are not as numerous in the kalahari but can be spotted. The trip was topped off by our bushman walk. Very educational and enjoyable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank curtishinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HainaKalahariLodge, Manager at Haina Kalahari Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are so happy you had a wonderful time with us at Haina Kalahari Lodge and hope to see you back soon. Best regards the Haina Kalahari Lodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We visited Haina Kalahari Lodge in July 13 with two other couples and stayed for 3 nights.

From the minute we arrived the Lodge’s caring and experienced Manager, Suzanna, knowledgeable and hardworking game ranger, Gwisani, and the rest of its well-trained and friendly staff, went out of their way to ensure that all our reasonable needs were catered for.

ACCOMMODATION: we stayed in their extremely private luxury tents which had king size beds, a bath and shower with great views of the surrounding bush. They are well fitted and very comfortable. The only problem encountered was with one tent’s malfunctioning hot water supply. The tents could also do with at least one power point for charging electronic implements, using cpap machines etc. The Lodge Boma, however, does have ample charging & internet facilities.

FOOD & DRINK: The variety, quantity and quality was superb. Each meal was also served piping hot, which is a rarity in the bush.

ENTERTAINMENT: The Lodge Boma is very comfortable with an outdoor fire/eating area, a very spacious and comfortable indoor area , and an easily viewable waterhole which attracts a myriad of general game. In particular, we saw some great encounters between rutting male Impalas and their less than impressed female counter parts.

We made good use of the quad bikes available for general game and bird viewing around the Lodge’s private reserve, and nearby well maintained airstrip.

We also used the Lodge game ranger, Gwisani, and specialised vehicle on a daily basis for game drives and sundowners during which we saw many great animal and bird sightings including a pride of Lions with cubs, black backed jackals, and African wild cats.

One of the highlights was definitely the Bushman experience which the Lodge provides free of charge. It is an extremely interesting and entertaining look at a once vibrant and unique culture that is rapidly being destroyed by the relentless march of modernity.

MISC: The Lodge provided free relatively fast wi fi in the main Boma, which helped a great deal due to the lack of any mobile phone reception in the central Kalahari.

All in all a most pleasurable stay at a professional, well run establishment which I would recommend as a base to anyone who wants to visit the central Kalahari, or has visited one of the larger game reserves further south (the Central Kalahari Reserve is only a 2 hr drive away), and wants a bit of pampering and luxury to end off their tour on a high.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexmac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Lovely spot deep in the bush. Long straight sand road to get there and to leave again. Saw no wildlife but heard all sorts of purrs and grunts close by so kept us on our toes. The 2 camping areas are well cleared and laid out. Ablutions, very nice but a little far when you hear those Purrs. Adds to the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oudtBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I was part of group of 4 planes and 8 pilots in June 2013. We landed at the lodge's private runway and got the royal treatment from the moment we landed. The lodge is run by a couple (Adrian & Wanda), who went out of their way to ensure that everyone in our group was comfortable and taken care of. This lodge is smaller than others in the area. But the personal attention you will get will be truly memorable...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjshem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Kalahari Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Deception Valley Lodge
Deception Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Mikalele Motel
#1 of 1 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
#2 of 9 in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge
#4 of 44 in Maun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#15 of 24 in Kasane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haina Kalahari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haina Kalahari Lodge

Property: Haina Kalahari Lodge
Address: Farm 67 | Hainaveld, Central Kalahari, Central Kalahari Game Reserve, Botswana (Formerly Haina Safari Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Botswana > Ghanzi District > Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Haina Kalahari Lodge on the northern border of the Central Kalahari Game Reserve in Botswana. Classically African, relaxed and informal accommodation is offered in luxury safari tents. The main boma of wood and thatch houses the lounge, dining room and bar area. Mobile overnight and day trip safaris are offered into the Game Reserve. Activities on offer include game drives, quad bike safari and an unforgettable experience with the local Bushmen people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Haina Kalahari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haina Kalahari Lodge Botswana/Central Kalahari Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing