We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haina Kalahari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

From the moment I arrived I felt like I was spending a weekend with very good friends. Wanda's (not sure about the spelling..) hospitality was great. Adrian's deep knowledge of the fauna and surroundings was extremely helpful, and a real pleasure to chat with him. Tracking abilities and conservation chats were also great with Vincent. It is great to feel the passion which they run this place and their love for nature and wilderness.
Regarding the food, I can't say that there was a single dish I didn't like during my stay. Most of the days we had different kinds of game meats, all cooked in different styles. They asked me from the beginning if I had any specific dietary requirements (none in my case), I guess so they could accommodate meals accordingly. Many kind of drinks were available as well, from water, wines and beers to soft drinks and spirits.
The tent where I stayed was very well equipped, with hot water basic electricity for some lights and excellent beds. It was a pleasure to stay there for a bit and relax between the rides.
Safari rides were very good. I went during summer (rainy season) and honestly had little expectations on what I could see, since animals tend to be more disperse as water is not scarce. This, however was not an issue, with my diligent guides we managed to see giraffes, eagles, wildebeests, impalas, kudus, Elands and other kind of antelopes. The highlight of the visit was seeing a lioness (very, very close encounter) after having a kudu meal and the night when we spotted two leopards in different sites.
The bushman walk was also good. The local guys will show you how their people used to live many years ago, how to make fire, extract water from certain roots and other few activities.
I was also keeping an eye to see whether this was as suitable place to bring my family (wife and 2 boys at 10 and 6 years old) and I wouldn’t hesitate to do so. I can highly recommend this place for any kind of traveler. Hope I can return any time soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlosLAlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 92 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great super and friendly
lovely to arrive after that hot dusty journey, worth the trip
beers could be colder but that's being picky
food excellent
staff great
wish we could have stayed longer, we'll be back though
RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngwesi, Manager at Haina Kalahari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

You have to come back and we will have a beer bucket full of ice ready ;) Thank you for the review and hope to see you soon !! Was lovely meeting you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We recently visited the Haina Kalahari Safari Lodge. I was taken back by the stunning area, the very friendly hosts and the animals that we saw there. We were in the Mongoose tent which is the family Tent which was spacious with a beautiful bathroom making you feel as though you are in the bush, I especially loved the tree next to the show square. Although it was very cold at night being the middle of winter in the desert, the beds were very comfortable with a nice hot water bottle waiting for you under your covers. The days were magnificent. Our hosts were just out of this world, welcoming, attentive, friendly and very present. They all went out of their way to make us feel at home and even babysat my two kids who didn't want to go out one afternoon for a few hours and one of our hosts Adrian even took my son on a spin on his motorbike which just made my son's day. Food was just delicious, I wanted to take Wanda home because all her creations were just amazing, and Crystal, her husband and granddaughter who prior to us arriving dealt with all my emails and questions were just a pleasure to be around as well. We loved the evening campfire where all the guests could just relax, talk about what they saw that day and where in the world they came from and it also gave the guests a chance to get to know our hosts a bit better which was lovely. The water hole at the main reception area of your lodge where you can see all kinds of animals 15m from where you are sitting having a drink or reading a book is just an amazing experience and very unique. The bushman experience is A MUST. It was one of the highlights of this trip to see how the true Motswana bushman used to live. Our kids had so much fun, we felt so relaxed, Haina is definitely a lodge we'll be visiting in the near future again.

Room Tip: If going in the Botswana winter, it can get up to 2 degrees in the tents, so take thermals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed there for two nights as part of our safari experience. We opted for a tent/villa as opposed to camping outdoors. The accommodation is breath-taking, with a king bed, central bath and other regular room accessories available. The room was so spacious.

At the central reception is where we would have all our meals. Overlooking it is one of the better water pans that attracts most of the wildlife that live in the large enclosure. This waterpan is within 10m, and all day long we saw different species of antelope, wild beast, warthog, giraffes, hyenas, jackals and a honey badger.

This was our daily routine: morning started at 0700 with breakfast buffet, 0730 we would go for a 2 1/2 hour game drive, at 1100 we had brunch, after lunch at 1300 we could go solo quad bike riding or bushmen walking, then we would do a night game drive at 1600 to return at 1900. We would have a three course dinner at 2000.

The staff are very personable, warm and friendly, from Crystal and Dean the managers, Petros who was our game ranger and all the other staff. Having gone there in the quiet season we were able to do whatever we wanted.

Overall, WHAT A SAFARI...!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finikias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I ´did have a pleasure to stay for few days in Haina. I was lucky enough to be the only guest on those days, so I was really pampered - got special food don ejust for me and opportunity to meet the managers and spend time with them. Excellent place :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverline888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Our stay at Haina belonged definitely to the best we had during our travel in Botsuana.
The warm and friendly welcome on arrival, the great evenings sharing time with the staff (Dion, David, Trust and Crystal), and the location of the tents it all made our stay wonderful.
It was a once in a lifetime experience seeing a Leopard so close to the car in the darkness. Especially when the car breaks down! Also getting so close to a group of Lions was a great feeling.
All together we would definitely go back here, we loved the place and our stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaBaKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The warm traditional song of welcome set the tone for the next 4 days. The beauty of the lodge, the luxurious tented en suite accommodation and its surroundings pealed away the tresses of city life, while the friendly and efficient staff catered to all our pleasures.

Each day was filled with the wonders of the African bush - lions, leopards, black back jackal. All this, was accented by the colourful array of bird life.

Watching the sun slip down over the Kalahari horizon was the perfect entre to scrumptious the dinners served each night.

Thank you to everyone at Haina Kalahari Lodge for the most memorable and we believe the best stay in Botswana.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cinds101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Kalahari Game Reserve
0 mi away
Deception Valley Lodge
Deception Valley Lodge
#2 of 7 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
143 reviews
0 mi away
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
#2 of 9 in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
113 reviews
0 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Mikalele Motel
#1 of 1 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Haina Kalahari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haina Kalahari Lodge

Address: Farm 67 | Hainaveld, Central Kalahari, Central Kalahari Game Reserve, Botswana (Formerly Haina Safari Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Botswana > Ghanzi District > Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Price Range: $812 - $1,026 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haina Kalahari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Haina Kalahari Lodge on the northern border of the Central Kalahari Game Reserve in Botswana. Classically African, relaxed and informal accommodation is offered in luxury safari tents. The main boma of wood and thatch houses the lounge, dining room and bar area. Mobile overnight and day trip safaris are offered into the Game Reserve. Activities on offer include game drives, quad bike safari and an unforgettable experience with the local Bushmen people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Haina Kalahari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haina Kalahari Lodge Botswana/Central Kalahari Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing