We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lion Tracking with the Pros”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deception Valley Lodge
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lion Tracking with the Pros”
Reviewed October 31, 2007

A first class establishment with care and concern given to every comfort and pleasure and all in the middle of the Kalahari! Excellent animal tracking and insight into the ways of the Bush people.

  • Liked — Privacy
  • Disliked — temperature control in the outdoor shower
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank booters14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
70
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

This was our 5th trip to Botswana and our first to this lodge. We loved it and would definitely go back again. Guide & tracker were excellent, the bushman cultural walk was interesting, game viewing far exceeded what we had expected to see in the harsh Kalahari environment. Waterhole near the lodge was a plus, providing some unique sightings such as a brown hyena around dinner time as we sat by the fire with drinks -- can't beat that! Lions roaring all night one night & giant footprints near our room in the morning, fantastic stars at night, and extremely comfortable rooms with great food. One of the owners acted as our guide, and his family background as a descendant of early Boer Botswana settlers was a real plus as he shared his love of his country and environment with great enthusiasm & knowledge.

  • Liked — wildlife & nature in area
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2007

This was our first stop in a trip through Botswana, and it was our most enjoyable and memorable. The two night trip felt like it was much longer, in no small part due to the excellent hosts, fun game drives and amazing food (delecious Impala schintzel - really!). Whilst not as rich in game as other locations in Botswana, the thrill of the find makes it all the more satisfying and gave a greater sense of appreciation of the other locations we stayed at. The busman walk is not to be missed. We had a wonderful time and highly recomend the Deception Valley Lodge - the best we stayed in in Boswana.

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Disliked — not prepared for the cold
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JD-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2006

The Deception Valley Lodge is gorgeous and well-appointed. It is located in the heart of the Kalahari Desert. Each room is a suite with livingroom, bathroom, and bedroom. The game drives were amazing as we saw lion, oryx, giraffe, and kudu. The management and food in this lodge were stellar. In front of the lodge is a watering hole which provides hours of entertainment as wart hogs and kudu stop by for a drink. The bushman program offered at this lodge was very interesting and authentic. I highly recommend this lodge if anyone is visiting Botswana.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Hates_Flying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 8, 2005

The Central Kalahari is a harsh environment and DVL is the best possible way to obtain a feel for it over a short stay. The Lodge is beautiful and extremely luxurious with very friendly and highly knowledgeable staff who make your stay utterly memorable. The outstanding experience is the bushman walk which my family of 5 thought was the highlight of 9 days spent in the central Kalahari. It is something unique and it is hard to see how anyone would not find it fascinating.
The game at DVL is good and the guiding brilliant and if you ask them they will take you on a journey to the Central Kalahari Game Reserve as an extra. This would be well worthwhile and a 3 to 4 day trip encompassing Piper Pan is recommended.
Deception Valley Lodge is the perfect contrast to Okavango and puts a proper balance on any trip to Botswana - very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 5, 2004

We had a delightful stay of two nights at the lodge. We had our own beautifully decorated, comfortable chalet. Jackie and Johnny, our hostess/chef and host/guide, were delightful. The walk with the Bushman was fascinating. We truly enjoyed the experience.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Kalahari Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Haina Kalahari Lodge
Haina Kalahari Lodge
#4 of 6 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
#2 of 9 in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#3 of 71 in Okavango Delta
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deception Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deception Valley Lodge

Property: Deception Valley Lodge
Address: Farm 65 Haneveld | Private Bag HA 58 HAK, Central Kalahari Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > Ghanzi District > Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Deception Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, South African Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Deception Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deception Valley Hotel Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Deception Valley Lodge Botswana/Central Kalahari Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing