We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The green Kalahari experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Kalahari Plains Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The green Kalahari experience”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We visited here in the wet season, so it was definitely not what we expected. It was green, wet, and not hot. No desert at all due to the rain. But a different experience in itself seeing the desert come to life with rain. This camp is situated in a National park, and as such the drivers must remain on, and not venture off road. Hence the animals may be a fair way off, if you have a huge zoom lense this would be an advantage here. Our guide/tracker TK was terrific. Once again, this being our 4th Wilderness camp, we were made very welcome by the manager Gideon and his staff, nothing was too much trouble, the accommodation was lovely and the food good. We saw a few different animals here that we didn't see at the other camps. The inclusion of a walk with a 'local' kalahari tribesman was informative and well worth it. We needed the exercise, as other camps you cannot venture out on your own for obvious reasons. We had a lovely stay here, do your homework as to the time of year you visit, as it would be completely different in the dry season.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ozros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kalahari Plains Camp, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Ozros,

Thank you for your considerate review of Kalahari Plains Camp.

The Kalahari has two main seasons. The hot season, September to April, sees temperatures ranging from 15 to 40 degrees Celsius. Rainfall is also possible during this time, especially during December, January and February. From May to August, the cool season, temperatures can reach as low as 1 degree Celsius, but typically climb to around 23 degrees during the day. As part of an inland plateau, these extremes in temperatures are typical of this altitude of 1 000 metres above sea level. The climate is also affected by the very clear skies during the dry months, which allow the surface ‘warm’ air to escape at night. With no air or light pollution in our atmosphere, guests can expect bright, crisp nights and some of the best astronomy opportunities anywhere in the world.

Thank you again
The Team at Kalahari Plains
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    20
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
53
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Kalahari Plains is an excellent adventure (as opposed to a premiere) camp,with an excellent staff especially Fani the guide. We were lucky in November to miss the extreme heat because of evening rains. One afternoon was over 100F. The tents are comfortable and the food okay. I am glad we went to the desert, although I would not return, primarily to see some unique wildlife (wild cat, vultures,etc) and the unique environment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidwpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Kalahari Plains Camp, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you, Davidwpatricia for your great feedback on our camp. We are very proud of Kalahari Plains camp as it is as you said very unique experience and we are pleased you enjoyed it so.
This part of the Central Kalahari Game Reserve offers year round viewing of key desert-adapted wildlife. Summer is spectacular with huge concentrations of plains game followed by predators such as lion and cheetah. General herbivore species easily seen are gemsbok (oryx), springbok, red hartebeest, grey duiker and steenbok. Less common carnivores from brown hyaena and even caracal are occasionally seen, while a host of smaller predators include meerkats (suricates), Cape fox, honey badger, black-backed jackal and many mongoose species.
Over 220 bird species can be seen in the area, with regionally threatened species like Kori Bustard and Lappet-faced Vulture and arid-west endemic species such as Burchell’s Sandgrouse, Grey-backed Sparrowlark, Kalahari Scrub-Robin and African Wren-Warbler.
Thank you again for your review.
The Kalahari Plains team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here as part of a road trip around Botswana. It was a very welcome change from our own tent! We arrived tired grubby and hot and were welcomed with a cool lemonade and the chance of a refreshing shower. The lovely staff organised for us to join the evening game drive which had already set off and even organised a nice cold G and T and beer for us.
We were very well looked after over the next couple of days. We were lucky enough to get within a few feet of a pride of lions. The bushman walk was very interesting. The highlight was our anniversary when unknown to us the staff set up dinner on the roof of our tent so we could dine under the stars.
One of the most memorable places we've stayed. Can't recommend highly enough.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travellerfromkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I loved being in the Kalahari, it's a wonderful contrast to the Okavango Delta and further north at Chobe Game Lodge. Amazing sunsets and night skies. I could star gave for hours, it's stunning. The tent is also quite spacious and bathroom is great, not the most luxurious but certainly more thanks would expect in the middle of the desert. The bushman walk was the highlight for me, you won't experience this on any other safari. And yes, it's really cold in the morning and at nights, days warm up nicely. The food here was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at For 2 nights. It was our second visit to this hauntingly beautiful part of Botswana. The camp is positioned magnificently to give you a feel for the wide open spaces that is the Kalahari. Sitting on the deck looking out over the pan as the sun sets and the evening chill starts to bite to see a large lion stroll 100 m in front of you calling to its mate is hard to forget.
The staff are gentle and passionate about the conservation of the Kalahari and make every effort to make your stay a special one. All tents face over the pan and If you want a quieter tent request one further away from the main area, although the noise seldom goes on late, given the early start for game drives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chefane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divonne, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have been on safaris before but this was the first time I had felt so remote. Reaching the Kalahari desert after a 24 hour journey, squeezed in a plane seat for hours, and then to suddenly gaze at the immensity surrounding us was a memorable experience!

It was the rainy season but in effect still very dry as they had not had a drop of rain for several weeks.

We got to see a lot, more than I expected, in truth. Transferring to the camp from the airstrip, we were lucky enough to spot a cheetah drinking from the watering hole in front of the camp – great start! The following day was even better as we spotted a female cheetah and her 2 cubs. We watched her for some time as she was busy stalking a springbok, with the little ones in tow, replicating her every move – amazing! We also saw 3 Kalahari lions, and plenty of oryx, bat-eared foxes, black-backed jackals, leopard tortoises, honey-badgers, ostriches…

Our guide Rogers was very good. The San bushman walk was fun and informative.

The camp itself was very comfortable, with such a great atmosphere! Friendly and interesting guests, good food and very nice staff who welcomed us with a song. The platform tents were roomy, well set up (ladies with coloured hair beware of the salt water shower!). There is a deck above the tent where you can sleep under the stars – we slept there 2 out of our 3 nights in Kalahari and it was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nadège
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at Kalahari Plains for 3 nights and were hugely impressed with the finish, feel and setting of the camp. We loved the feeling of being so remote.

Our room was great-very well equipped to a high standard. We would suggest asking for one of the rooms further away if you want privacy but this didn't really bother us. The view from the bedroom through the wall sized 'window' was incredible-particularly as we were treated to some amazing thunderstorms each night!

We saw the Kalahari lions two out of three days-we even saw them stalking giraffes which was amazing. Amongst the wildebeest, springbok and oryx we also saw honey badgers, bat eared foxes, a cape fox and many different birds. We woke one morning to find leopard tracks through the camp and had the thrilling experience of hearing lions roaring outside the camp and our tent at night! We also saw a black mamba on our bushman walk which was scary but our guides remained calm and managed this well.

We had the camp to ourselves on the last night and were treated to a romantic meal for two with champagne for our honeymoon. A very nice touch and a delicious meal! All other meals were very tasty and we really enjoyed getting to know the staff and other guests at meal times. The guides and staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful.

Definitely worth a visit to experience a different side of Botswana to the Delta! Great camp.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further from the main area for more privacy.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Kalahari Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Deception Valley Lodge
Deception Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
#2 of 9 in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Mikalele Motel
#1 of 1 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#5 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
#4 of 9 in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Kalahari Plains Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Kalahari Plains Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris Kalahari Plains Camp
Address: Kalahari Game Reserve, Central Kalahari Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > Ghanzi District > Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness Safaris Kalahari Plains Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Endless skies, ancient cultures, abundant summers and insightful winters.Kalahari Plains Camp, overlooking an immense grassy and fertile pan with endless horizons and beautiful skies, is raised off the ground to catch the breeze and take in sweeping views across the Kalahari by day and star-filled skies by night. Solar power provides electricity and hot water, and innovative insulated canvas walls and roof keep the temperatures inside comfortable. The lounge and dining area, also raised, are perfect for watching wildlife in front of camp. HighlightsThe Central Kalahari Game Reserve is famed for its outstanding wildlife. This region offers some of the best summer wildlife viewing in Africa; the desert springs to life attracting vast herds of antelope (principally springbok, gemsbok, red hartebeest and blue wildebeest) followed by abundant predators – including the legendary black-maned Kalahari lion and cheetah, offering perhaps Botswana’s best viewing of this species. The unique culture and traditional lifestyles of the San Bushman people are celebrated here by San staff from the area.10 Tents (including 2 Family Tents): En-suite canvas units; rooftop sleep-out areaExperiences: Morning and afternoon game drives Guided nature walks San Bushman experience Day trips to Deception Valley ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Safaris Kalahari Plains Camp Botswana/Central Kalahari Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing