We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place”
Review of Planet Baobab

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Planet Baobab
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fab place”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We visited planet baobab whilst on a Gadventures trip and camped there. It's in a lovely setting in amongst huge baobab trees. The location is pretty remote.
Great bar, pool and showering facilities. We didn't use the restaurant as we were camping but I would definitely go back there if I was I the area!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    125
    53
    20
    10
See reviews for
84
109
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I camped here for one night as part of an G Adventures tour in September 2012. We really enjoyed our stay, even though it was short. The baobab trees are such an amazing sight! The pool area and bar area are great. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LaurieEFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whipsnade, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Can get busy. OK rondavels (but why are the twin beds so far apart?); restaurant OK. Staff welcoming and helpful. Decent pool. Campsite. Often used by overland safari groups and (noisy) local day-trippers. Youngish crowd. Magnificent baobabs in the ground which are lit up at night. One must be over 1000 years old. Has a slightly odd Kenya beach lodge feel to it. Which is nice if that's your scene. Wifi expensive. Beats me why in 2014 lodges and hotels don't just build that into the price as a courtesy. Management try hard but I get the sense there's a high turnover.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slowflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This place has two campsites, one of which is for trucks only.
Our site was invisible yet 20 meters from the reception.
Electricity, water, braai, firepit, private boma. Wifi. Pathways all lit. Restaurant - okay - and bar - brilliant! Dozens of baobabs on the grounds - hence the name.
Knowledgable management couple who can advise you about self-drive to the pans, or organize a trip for you. Also spent a few long evenings with them at the bar - fun and hospitable people.
A great place to stop, very well located for overland trucks.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mischa_zelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazarron, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

A lovely place to stay. Great service and facilities, nothing is too much trouble for the staff. A well laid out and well run establishment. The pool is a welcome site and the baobab trees fasinationg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vengavamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

On arrival we were greeted by Kelly, who was professional, polite and very informative. She gave us a very welcome cold drink and then explained very clearly how everything worked and gave very specific instructions on how to get to our room.
The room itself, was clean, tidy and functional with a hot shower and a massive Baobab tree outside the front garden.
There is a well lit pathway to the bar/restaurant/pool area. All the staff were happy and helpful.
The evening menu is limited, but what they do serve is tasty and decent sized.
10 out of 10 for breakfast, one of the best I've had in a long time - plenty of choice and even fresh fruit salad, which in the middle of the desert is quite impressive.
No complaints at all, but a suggestion for the rooms is some patio furniture for next time.
10 out of 10 for customer service. A little bit of attention to detail goes a long way.

Room Tip: all rooms would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truckslag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We generally use Planet Baobab as a stop over point between Johannesburg & Maun, we are always happy with the service, the food is great and the atmosphere is relaxed. The huts are basic, clean and comfortable and full of character. The staff went out of their way to assist us when we returned unexpectedly after spending a very wet and windy night camping on the Magadigadi. Next time we will arrange to do the quad bike overnight on the pans.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
68.3 mi away
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
#2 of 9 in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiaan's Camp
Tiaan's Camp
#1 of 1 in Xhumaga
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#16 of 21 in Chobe National Park
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Deception Valley Lodge
Deception Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Northgate Lodge
Northgate Lodge
#4 of 8 in Nata
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Baobab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Baobab

Property: Planet Baobab
Address: Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > Central District > Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the village of Gweta, 290 km from Francistown & 200km from Maun, this family friendly camp accepts children of all ages. Planet Baobab combines style with comfort while remaining true to its African inspiration. Accommodation provides different options at all price levels. Traditionally styled, beautifully painted Kalanga Huts with en-suite bathrooms or the shady campsite. The Africantastic ‘shebeen’ style central mess features a tasty bar menu, and when it heats up, cool off in the biggest coolest pool in the Kalahari. Activities on offer all year round include: guided bush walks; traditional cattle post and village visits; incredibly friendly habituated meerkats; historical baobabs. Dry season (25th April to 31st October) activities include quad biking on the saltpans; a sleep out under the magnificent Makgadikgadi night sky. Wet season (1st November to 24th April) activities include the spectacular zebra and wildebeest migration experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Planet Baobab Hotel Makgadikgadi Pans National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing