We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leroo La Tau
Nearby Hotels
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Room 50 Two(Gaborone)
$180
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cresta Mahalapye(Mahalapye)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlane Hotel(Gaborone)
Booking.com
View Deal
$90
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$103
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$277
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
131
12
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
12
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdesert deltaday tripthe rivergame drivesnational parkdelta safarischobe game lodgewonderful lodgecliff overlookinga short boat ridesalt panshis teamgame reserveafternoon safarilocal villagewonderful staylarge deck
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 146 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Like many other reviewers, Leroo La Tau was our last stop on our Botswana safari tour. We were there for two nights (and wished it was longer).



LOCATION: 
The lodge is located on an elevated position above the river with spectacular views of the surrounding area.


SERVICE:
 The level of service during our stay was superb. Every single staff member greeted us with a hello and smile making us feel most welcome. A special mention must be made regarding Juan and Priscilla. Not only was the service they provided professional and knowledgable, but it was delivered in a very personable manner that truly made you feel like a guest at their "home".

ROOMS:
 There are only a small number of lodges. Each one is very nicely appointed balancing the modern amenities we all seek while on holiday while still maintaining a unique African ambiance. Each one overlooks the river and are spaced out appropriately to provide privacy. At night you can hear the hippos wandering around.


DINING:
 The food selection and service was excellent. The food tasted great and served in a fantastic atmosphere. It was my wife's birthday while we were there and they baked a special birthday cake for her.

SAFARI: There is an abundance of game viewing in the area. You are transported by boat to where the safari vehicles are kept where you then drive around the riverbank and surrounding area.

Overall this is an excellent lodge that provides a very high standard of service and amenities. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends or family.

Please see some of my photos as well as they can provide some additional insight into Leroo La Tau.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms with spectacular views over the river and surrounding area.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MisterCheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our final stop on our Botswana trip, and well worth the wait. The lodge is up on a cliff overlooking the Boteti River and the Kalahari Desert, and the cabins have walls of glass facing the River, for 24/7 views of wildlife coming in for a drink. We saw herds of elephant, zebra, wildebeest, giraffe, and the occasional hippo just by looking out the window. Almost didn't need to go on any of the safaris, but we did, and enjoyed those as well. Particularly liked the "night safari," as this was the only place we were able to leave our cabins after dark. Staff is friendly, accommodating, and welcoming, and the food is wonderful.

Room Tip: There is no way to choose a bad cabin here. However, the walk is longer from the outer cabins to get to the lodge.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackyardBunnyWatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Leroo La Tau, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks you very much for the time you have taken to review your experience with us at Leroo La Tau. We are indeed delighted that the unique location and "different" experience of Leroo La Tau provided a memorable and enjoyable stay.

With warm safari greetings - Juan, Priscilla, Nelson and the team at Leroo La Tau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our last stop on an 18 day adventure throughout Botswana and what a pleasant surprise. Pricilla, Juan and all their staff made us feel like family and the wildlife and scenery were exceptional. The food was so good, I brought the recepie of one of the home baked cookies back with me. Everyone planning a vacation within Botswana should make sure Leroo La Tau is a must on their list. The Makgadikgadi Pan salt flats are something out of Star Trek, and worth the trip alone. My wife and I hope to go back someday and revisit the area with Leroo La Tau at the top of our list.

Room Tip: The entire lodge, including our accommodations were wonderful, with a view from the balcony of a variety of animals that come to drink from the river. It was mesmorizing to spend our time watching all of the activities.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandyOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Leroo La Tau, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

It goes without saying that your room is ready and waiting for your return visit to Leroo La Tau. Many thanks for your very kind review of your stay with s. We loved having you as our guests and are delighted that you enjoyed the Makgadikgadi experience with us.

With warm safari greetings - Juan, Priscilla and the entire team at Leroo La Tau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went here as our final lodge in Botswana and it continued to great service and friendly staff we had encountered throughout - friendly, welcoming and a great personal touch come as standard and they have customer service down to a tee. The guides are absolutley fantastic at their jobs using their tracking skills to find all sorts of wildlife, the really care about the experience they provide their guests and are as disappointed as you if they dont find what they are looking fot - thankfully, good things come to those who wait and they usually do find what they are looking for - we had some phenomenal wildlife experiences and no game drive is the same. Thank you Leroo La Tau for such a lovely stay and Calvin for superb game drives.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy_Westley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Leroo La Tau, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

We have just shared your wonderful review with our colleagues and everyone is jealous at the fact that you got to see the elusive Brown Hyena on your recent visit to Leroo La Tau. Many thanks for your kind words - we are very happy that your stay with us at Leroo La Tau was such a success. Hopefully we look forward to your return visit some day?? With kind regards, Juan, Priscilla, Nelson, Calvin and the Leroo La Tau team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Leroo La Tau is a gem. This was our first African safari, so we didn't know exactly what to expect . But from the moment we were meet by our guide, Captain, at the airport, we felt like honored guests. The setting of the lodge is magnificent, on a bluff over looking the river. Hundreds of zebras and wildebeests would gallop down the opposite bank in the midday heat - the largest herds we saw anywhere during our week-long jaunt. The rooms all having stunning views of the river. The staff could not have been kinder or friendlier, and we will always remember their singing and dancing before dinner! The skill of the guides in locating a lioness and her two cubs was superb, and the whole experience was magical. Leroo La Tau won this year's trophy for the best Desert&Delta lodge, but were too modest to mention it themselves (we found out at another camp). I cannot imagine a better introduction to the glories of an African safari.

Room Tip: ask for rooms closest to the lodge - the walk in the sand can be a little taxing.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank transplantdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Leroo La Tau, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Indeed Leroo La Tau is the current holder of the fabled Elephant Trophy! It stands proudly on our bar. This trophy, the envy of all the Desert & Delta Safaris camps and lodges, is a symbol of our customer service delivered to our guests during the course of 2012. We are very determined to try and keep it here for another year.!! Many thanks for your very great review of your stay with us. Your kind words will be shared with our team of dedicated people here. This is a huge reward for us. With warm safari greetings - Leroo La Tau.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews