We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!”
Review of Leroo La Tau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leroo La Tau
Certificate of Excellence
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level Contributor
149 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is another great Desert&Delta lodge overlooking Boteti- river. Outstanding rooms with verandas perfect for game watching. Food is excellent, but the best is the extremely friendly and obliging staff. Ollie, Nelson, just to name two of them- they gave us the feeling to visit a family.
We were there on a self drive safari. On the day we left we were informed after coming back from the morning drive that we had a flat tyre. And what did they do? They sent us to lunch and changed tyres in the meanwhile.This is much more than good service, this is service you will never forget. Thanks folks- we had two outstanding days at Leroo La Tau!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
71
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

One of the lodges owned by Desert and Delta, Leroo La Tau is a lovely place. Really inviting rooms with balconies over the Boteti river teaming with wildlife, and bathrooms with full windows facing the river too. Really luxurious inside yet rustic outside. Terrific food and a very warm and welcoming staff. Manager's Priscilla and Juan make you feel right at home while Asst Manager Natasha will dazzle you with her winning smile. We had all our game drives with Matt, an amazing and very patient tracker and guide. Sundowners of cocktails and appetizers next to the river in the Makgadikgadi National Park make each evening magical. You'll enjoy the after dinner evenings around the African T.V.—a huge bonfire built each night and the companionship of like-minded wildlife travelers. A five star experience worth every penny spent!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. This is a really terrific luxury camp!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We spent a couple of days at the Leroo La Tau and it was a great stay. Situated beautifully on the Boteti river the lodge is on the edge of the Makgadikgadi National Park. To go to the famous salt pans it needs a full day-trip though. But there is lots of game to see near the lodge as well. As it is on a little private concession, you can also do a night-drive on the concession. Very nice experience. The chalets are beautiful. The view is fantastic. The morning sun kisses you as you get ready to start into the early morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

From Nelson to Ollie to Natasha. Malaki , Kay, Nellie...and I am missing many, the staff at Leroo La Tau is truly special. Dining at a communal table for all meals makes the stay feel like you are visiting family.
The food was all home made; the fresh bread alone makes me want to go back. The wines were delicious and plentiful.
The tea breaks served while on safari are wonderful..coffee, tea any alcoholic beverage desired along with a different, home made snack are offered 2 times a day along with a 3p snack served at the Camp.
The complimentary laundry is a definite plus. Laundry was picked up daily and left folded and ironed by day's end.
The accommodations, little huts overlooking the animals in the wild were perfect. The glass, floor to ceiling windows in the bedroom and bathroom allowed one to see wildebeests, impalas, giraffes .. From the room or terrace.
I cannot say enough about the Management staff who lead a remarkable gracious, warm, engaging team.
Though I did not use the pool, one is available as well as a library/ reading room in the main house which overlooks the wildlife.
The food must be highlighted. My friend and I went on a day trip to the Salt pans and an extraordinary lunch was packed for us, all served on dishes and so plentiful: pasta, home made vegetable quiches, home made breads, chicken and fruit along with wine and other beverages. I was not expecting such an elaborate and well planned out lunch break.

It was very sad to leave such a warm group of people who exceeded all expectations, all while, being so genuine.
I travel extensively throughout the world to 5 star hotels. Leroo La Tau will remain among my most memorable destinations.

Thank you Leroo La Tau! I miss you already and am only back 2 days.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

What a fabulous place, rooms were exceptionally large and nice en-suite, very big balcony area where you could relax and watch all the animals passing by. Food was excellent and staff extremely friendly. Whilst we were there, we visited the Hide and video'd an amazing sight of 2 black mambas mating for about 40 minutes, a very rare occurrence they told us. Saw plenty of animals, reptiles and birds whilst on the game drives.

Room Tip: Choose one close to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The location of this safari lodge is so fortunate (across the river from Makhadikhadi Pan National Park), and the design of its handsome riverfront rooms so well placed on a bluff above the river, that you can lounge on your balcony and watch herds of zebra, wildebeast (gnus) and elephants come to drink within a stonesthrow of your bedroom. Then, out on four-wheel safari you can find the truly rare African wild dogs on a hunt, or an increasingly rare lion (being lost to farmers bordering the parks), a leopard using feline feng shui to decorate a tree with a fresh impala, or even a cheetah, which will prove much faster than your camera finger.
The lodge is managed by Juan and Priscilla, who are building new housing for the staff, and morale -- and service -- couldn't be better. Most highly recommended. Joseph Harned, Miramar Beach, Florida

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a riverfront room! If you walk with a stick, as do I, request a room close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23Yossel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We visited Leroo La Tau in November. Everything about this place is amazing..the rooms, the view, the staff, and the safari. The lodge and rooms are beautifully done looking out across the river into the park. What a treat to sit on the deck and watch herd after herd of zebra coming down for a drink or elephants wading along. I loved everything about this place.
This was my last stop and completely different than the other places we stayed. At first sight I feared I wouldn't see much but that was not the case at all. On every drive we were amazed by the animals we saw..lion, giraffe, zebra, and we had the good luck to run across cheetahs. During the boat tours you were able to see the elephants submerge themselves in the river and watch every type of animal coming down for a drink. Besides the change in scenery versus the other lodges we stayed at; Leroo La Tau also offered a night drive in the area right next to the lodge. The staff was exceptional. Juan, his wife, and Fred were informative and welcoming. This is a just another great part of Botswana!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gobrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
37.8 mi away
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
#2 of 9 in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gweta Lodge
Gweta Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gweta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiaan's Camp
Tiaan's Camp
#1 of 1 in Xhumaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Deception Valley Lodge
Deception Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
90.4 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Mikalele Motel
#1 of 1 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leroo La Tau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leroo La Tau

Property: Leroo La Tau
Address: | Boteti River, Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > Central District > Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leroo La Tau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leroo La Tau, reopened in 2008 under new ownership, rises majestically above the dry Boteti Riverbed which stretches across the western border of the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park. The park, populated by up to 30,000 zebra and wildebeest closely accompanied by predators, offers guests the chance to experience the exhilaration of seeing large concentrations of game and the resultant predator interaction.The lodge comprises 12 thatched chalets, each with en-suite bathrooms. The main lodge building is surrounded by an expansive wooden deck with a plunge pool, where guests can immerse themselves in the ultimate wildlife experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leroo La Tau Hotel Makgadikgadi Pans National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing