We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view from your bed”
Review of Leroo La Tau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leroo La Tau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012

What a fabulous place, rooms were exceptionally large and nice en-suite, very big balcony area where you could relax and watch all the animals passing by. Food was excellent and staff extremely friendly. Whilst we were there, we visited the Hide and video'd an amazing sight of 2 black mambas mating for about 40 minutes, a very rare occurrence they told us. Saw plenty of animals, reptiles and birds whilst on the game drives.

Room Tip: Choose one close to reception
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Leroo La Tau
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 132 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

The location of this safari lodge is so fortunate (across the river from Makhadikhadi Pan National Park), and the design of its handsome riverfront rooms so well placed on a bluff above the river, that you can lounge on your balcony and watch herds of zebra, wildebeast (gnus) and elephants come to drink within a stonesthrow of your bedroom. Then, out on four-wheel safari you can find the truly rare African wild dogs on a hunt, or an increasingly rare lion (being lost to farmers bordering the parks), a leopard using feline feng shui to decorate a tree with a fresh impala, or even a cheetah, which will prove much faster than your camera finger.
The lodge is managed by Juan and Priscilla, who are building new housing for the staff, and morale -- and service -- couldn't be better. Most highly recommended. Joseph Harned, Miramar Beach, Florida

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a riverfront room! If you walk with a stick, as do I, request a room close to the...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23Yossel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We visited Leroo La Tau in November. Everything about this place is amazing..the rooms, the view, the staff, and the safari. The lodge and rooms are beautifully done looking out across the river into the park. What a treat to sit on the deck and watch herd after herd of zebra coming down for a drink or elephants wading along. I loved everything about this place.
This was my last stop and completely different than the other places we stayed. At first sight I feared I wouldn't see much but that was not the case at all. On every drive we were amazed by the animals we saw..lion, giraffe, zebra, and we had the good luck to run across cheetahs. During the boat tours you were able to see the elephants submerge themselves in the river and watch every type of animal coming down for a drink. Besides the change in scenery versus the other lodges we stayed at; Leroo La Tau also offered a night drive in the area right next to the lodge. The staff was exceptional. Juan, his wife, and Fred were informative and welcoming. This is a just another great part of Botswana!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gobrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We found Leroo-la-tau a wonderful lodge at Makhadikhadi Pan National Park. The lodge itself lookes brand new and is situated along a wonderful river view, which is the same for each room. The scenery is completely different from e.g. Chobe park or Okavango-delta, because its is in the desert. The area is very dry, which makes it easier to spot animals who come drinking at the river in front of your lodge. The view of thousands of zebras (Makhadikhadi has the second largest zebra migration in Africa) who come drinking at the river, is simply overwhelming.

The safaridrives start a short boat trip upstream away from the lodge. Make sure you also take a boat trip a little downstream to get closer to the drinking zebras! We found Patrick, our guide, very able and funny.

The rooms look brand new, and are like little houses, not tents. The bathrooms are very spacious and the private terraces give great views on the river. The food was exceptionally good, due to the great cooking abilities of Nellie and Ruben. Their cakes at tea and their dinner dishes ( e.g.fish cake) were the best we had in Botswana.
The boatramp is located behind room 1, which makes it advisable to ask for rooms 1-6 since they are located between the central facilities and the boat ramp. Room 7-12 are on the other side of the central facilities.
A great destination!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

o Beautifully refurbished recently, stunning location, lovely tranquil atmosphere. Great views over the water -- watch herds of zebra coming to drink.
o Very comfortable, tastefully decorated chalets. Beware of the monkeys letting themselves in for a rummage!
o No-one comes to Botswana for the food. It was ample and pleasant enough. They are trying! Enjoyed a late lunch set out just for me.
o Friendly, willing staff. A special mention for Fred, the senior manager, who has trained many youngsters. Logistics -- arrival and departure -- were handled impeccably.
o Mix of game drives and boat trips. Didn't see an enormous variety of wildlife, but at least we were the only ones on the road. No convoys of frenzied snappers here. Real opportunities to see the good, the bad and the ugly sides of life on a reserve. One precious Italian guest was disgusted by a dead hippo in the water, with vultures perched on its belly, as if it spoiled the view. I was lucky enough to see lions ambushing a zebra by the water.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evabxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 10 day trip through Botswana and Zambia. Leroo La Tau was our first stop and we enjoyed our stay. We flew in to the Leroo La Tau airstrip and were met by our guide Patrick who was assigned to us for our entire stay.

Of the three lodges we stayed in on our trip, we enjoyed our accommodations at LLT the most. Our cottage was very new and well appointed overlooking the Boteti Rover with great views from the deck, beds, and bathroom :) There was only one other couple staying at the lodge while we were there, so we enjoyed getting to know them. Some of the guides and staff ate dinner with us each evening which was nice because we talked about our day and enjoyed learning even more from the guides. Speaking of eating, the food was outstanding. Everything was fresh, healthy, and displayed beautifully.

Since this was our first game drive in Africa, we were very excited to see elephants, Impala, Kudu, and Zebra. However, it seemed that on each game drive we covered the same territory. We couldn't understand why the game reserve was so large, but we only covered a small section of it. After going on other game drives in Chobe National Park, and looking back on Leroo La Tau, we think the game drives were somewhat of a disappointment. However, we must admit that we didn't travel at the best time of year for this part of Botswana. Having said that, our guide Patrick was extremely knowledgeable of the animals and this part of Botswana.

We spent two nights at LLT and felt that was enough. We enjoyed our time there, but were anxious to move on and possibly see more animals which we did.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Auburngirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We stayed at Leroo la Tau very shortly after its refurbishment and, having been on safari in Botswana several times, we were extremely impressed. The location was stunning - situated overlooking a large waterhole, we were able to spend the day sitting and watching / photographing a multitude of game. The lodge itself was wonderful - it had a very relaxed and tranquil atmosphere and the rooms, also overlooking the waterhole, were luxurious, large and extremely clean, each with an individual terrace. The staff were extremely friendly and we were even treated to a choir performance during one of our dinners which was wonderful. The food was delicious, and there was a lot of variety during our stay.

In terms of the wider location, we were amazed by the beauty of the dry river landscape and the fact that it seemed as though we were the only ones there. I've been to some safari lodges where it felt as though it was a zoo with the number of vehicles around. I think Leroo is the only lodge in its game reserve, and the only other vehicle we saw while we were on game drive was another one from Leroo.

We had Captain as our guide and he was fantastic - extremely knowledgeable and he really went out of his way to track the animals we wanted to see (lion!). What we were most stunned by was how he managed to find a lioness with 3 tiny cubs in a bush in the pitch black using just a flashlight - that took some serious skill to be able to spot her by just the eyes! We came very close to finding the resident pride when found a fresh zebra kill but they had unfortunately moved on too quickly (after only eating half of it - the lions at Leroo are spoilt!!).

On the subject of zebra - Leroo is THE place for them. I have never in my life seen so many!! At one point, in the dry river bed, we saw an enormous cloud of dust ahead of us (which I thought was a fire before realising it was zebra on the move!) and before we knew it we were literally surrounded by thousands of zebra - it was breathtaking!!

We were also extremely lucky to see a rhino while we were there - the particular reserve has 2 females and one male, and if you really want to see a rhino then this is one rare place in Botswana where this may be possible. He walked right by the lodge past the waterhole one morning as we were getting up for game drive - everyone in camp got VERY excited and it was nice to share that excitement with them :)

In terms of the other game we saw, we shared sundowners with hippo in a pond, we saw elephants, giraffe, jackels, ostrich, warthogs and crocodiles to name just a few.

Overall, Leroo was fantastic and I can't wait to return!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonya214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
37.8 mi away
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
#2 of 9 in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
105 reviews
19.1 mi away
Tiaan's Camp
Tiaan's Camp
#1 of 1 in Xhumaga
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deception Valley Lodge
Deception Valley Lodge
#2 of 7 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Haina Kalahari Lodge
Haina Kalahari Lodge
#4 of 7 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#22 of 71 in Okavango Delta
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leroo La Tau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leroo La Tau

Address: | Boteti River, Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > Central District > Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Price Range: $476 - $856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leroo La Tau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leroo La Tau, reopened in 2008 under new ownership, rises majestically above the dry Boteti Riverbed which stretches across the western border of the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park. The park, populated by up to 30,000 zebra and wildebeest closely accompanied by predators, offers guests the chance to experience the exhilaration of seeing large concentrations of game and the resultant predator interaction.The lodge comprises 12 thatched chalets, each with en-suite bathrooms. The main lodge building is surrounded by an expansive wooden deck with a plunge pool, where guests can immerse themselves in the ultimate wildlife experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leroo La Tau Hotel Makgadikgadi Pans National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing