We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
341
50
7
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
50
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water hole watering hole wild dogs savute channel desert delta game drives dining area view of the water warm towels safari lodge wonderful camp his knowledge sense of humour three nights before dinner watch elephants landing strip
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 401 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2015

We stayed two nights at salute and it was a great experience.
The accommodation was very attractive- individual thatched bungalows with a whole glass front overlooking a busy water hole. Elephants, buffalo and even wild dogs were on view from our room. The only downside was that it was unbearably hot during the day - air conditioning would be a massive improvement- although it did cool down at night.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our guide was Chief and he was brilliant. We saw everything - leopards lions buffalo and many more.
Sitting eating dinner at night with dozens of elephants walking past was truly magical. The communal dinner hosted by the staff was very convivial and everyone seemed to be having a good time.
I would recommend the lodge with the proviso that you might want to avoid the hottest parts of the season.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cpnim100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2015

Dear Cpnim100
Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review of your recent visit to Savute Safari Lodge. I will be sure to pass on the great comments to Chief and the rest of the staff. I am very pleased that you had such great game viewing.
Thank you for choosing Desert and Delta Safaris for your stay in Botswana
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2015

Location, food, staff and amenities were excellent. A visit to a safari lodge is after all a getaway exercise to enjoy the natural wonders of the African bush, which includes strange animal smells as well as abundant insects. Savute Safari Lodge fits the bill perfectly. The staff were warm and hospitable and the food was a culinary delight. Mindful of the remote location of this delightful safari lodge, I am amazed at the ease with which everything seems to fall in place and found the chalets comfortable and well above average. Thoroughly enjoyed the isolation and will definitely return to be spoiled over and over again.

Room tip: Channel facing room
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jmb023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2015

Dear jmb023
Thank you so much for your recent review, and for choosing Desert and Delta Safaris for your stay in Botswana. Our staff are definitely key to what makes our guest experience a memorable one. Thank you for taking the time to write a great review.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2015

It wasn't an easy [self-] drive either inwards from Linyanti or outwards to the Moremi. However the time spent here was exceptional, watching leopards, wild dogs and of course the myriad animal coming down to the waterhole in front of the camp. Only drawback was the smell of elephant, particularly for the chalets [maybe numbers 3-7] in front of the waterhole.

Staff, organisation, facilities and food were all excellent. Seach, Score and Lucky stood out amongst the staff.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hunger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2015

Dear hunger4d
Thank you for your review from your recent stay at Savute Safari Lodge. Driving through the National Park is always a tough one. However your arrival at the lodge must have been a great sight. We are all glad that you had such wonderful sightings and enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for choosing Desert and Delta Safaris for your stay in Botswana.
Kind Regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

Savute Safari lodge....greeted with damp musty face clothes.( Chobe had nice clean lemongrass clothes.)way over priced no a/c anywhere...no fans at night all electricity is shut off. The pool is dirty can't see the bottom. Perhaps they should rename it "Lodge of the Flies". Flies in your face in your eyes your nose your ears and at breakfast and lunch all over the food. No refreshment center in room. Almost all the pathways are dirt...so your feet are always dirty. There has been a drought for a long time which no one wants you to know. Lots of elephants but not much wildlife compared to Chobe Lodge which was far more luxurious...cheaper and with a clean private pool and a/c. No flies at Chobe. Sadly the staff here can't even provide a battery operated fan to use when they shut off the generator. It cools off at night...about 2 hours before wake up call! If you come near September or October be prepared to sweat all night.
The food was pretty awful. Chicken with no meat. Hot milk with cornflakes and hard dried up toast for breakfast. Dinner was chewy dried eland or the chicken with no meat. Staff only wants to hear happy feedback and was indifferent to our complaints about the heat and no fans. Toilet seat was broken. There are tents nearby that offer a/c. For the outrageous price this place should have a/c! Guides were ok. Chobe game lodge guides were awesome.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Gourmetsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Owner at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2015

Dear GourmetSNOB,

It is with great disappointment that we read your review on Savute Safari Lodge.

Many guests who stay at and love Savute Safari Lodge for what it is will agree that our team on the ground, and the owners of the lodge, Desert & Delta Safaris, would have welcomed any constructive feedback from you with open arms and take immediate action to address any issues raised by yourself during or after your stay.

We therefore wish to clarify in response as follows:

We are confident that the information on the lodge and the area provided to you before you decided to confirm your booking, was accurate and within parameters of what you received.

Unfortunately, and something completely out of our control, the heat wave that we have been experiencing in Botswana in the past month was not something we could have predicted when your booking was made and confirmed with us in April this year. Likewise, the fascinating thing about Savute is the unpredictability of the channel flowing and drying up and the impact of that on the environment and the wildlife. After all the vast majority of our visitors to this area are there because of their interest in wildlife. We are not sure what you qualify as a long time in terms of drought, as the channel was still flowing and the marsh had water a mere five months ago. Given the history of Savute, the channel has been known to be dry in excess of 30 years at a time. This considered, a rather large contradiction to your statement. Needless to say, it has never been the case that “no one wants you to know of this”.

As you would have experienced, the drying up of the channel has resulted in the water access for the wildlife now being limited to a few waterholes. We are very fortunate that one of these waterholes is situated right in front of the lodge. This waterhole attracts herds of elephant providing a spectacular view to guests, on our strategically located deck, during meal times. Once again, a knock on effect of that and the increase in temperatures, has led to us experiencing more flies than usual. We certainly would not purposefully want to encourage flies to annoy our guests. The implication of this temporary increase in flies was completely coincidental to the time that you stayed at the lodge. It is unusual and related to the changing environment of the area – certainly not a common or usual occurrence. We are however employing counter measures to significantly reduce the flies, especially at meals times, to ensure the comfort of our guests.

As is the situation with all our guests, it is a known fact that the lodge is remote and does not run on main grid power supply. The generator is turned off when the last guest goes to bed and this does have an impact on the running of the electrical appliances in the rooms. This has been the case since the lodge was initially built, almost 20 years ago and we have hosted thousands of guests in this time that have a complete understanding of the logistics involved when visiting an area like Savute. We have initiated the procurement and installation of solar generated power throughout all our properties, which, when installed at Savute Safari Lodge, will alleviate the power generation issues for the future. In the meantime we are running our generators throughout the night to counter the effects of the current heat wave.

We reject your statement on the swimming pool being dirty. Swimming pool water is tested on a daily basis and maintained through a functional filtration system. The pool is swept twice a day whilst guests are out of camp and on activities. However, the Savute Safari Lodge swimming pool is grey in colour and quite possibly your assumption to it being dirty is due to this.

Your comments and assumption on pricing is not correct. Chobe Game Lodge, which is owned by the same company, and we are delighted that you had a great stay there, has the same per person per night rate as Savute Safari Lodge.

All dinners at Savute Safari Lodge are served as buffet style, on the deck, overlooking the waterhole. In terms of our dinner offering, we always provide at least two meat dishes, white and red meat, a choice of starches, a choice of fresh vegetables, green salads, fruit salads, and cheese board with all meals. At breakfast, there is always cold milk served with the cereals. Furthermore, warm and cold milk jugs are present at the breakfast tea and coffee station. Be that as it is, we have never sold the lodge experience to offer gourmet meals. Our food offering is of a high quality, freshly prepared and presented to our guests in a homely fashion. All other guests staying at Savute Safari Lodge at the time that you were there only had complimentary things to say about the food and the meals they were served. Once again, although your statements about the food are of your own opinion, something we totally respect, we would have gladly addressed your special needs if you had brought them to our attention during your stay.

The Savute area is one of the most productive areas in Botswana in terms of diversity and prominent wildlife sightings. We are sorry that the wildlife sightings of lions, wild dog, buffalo, giraffe, hyena, leopard, jackal, tsessebe and other more common game species did not live up to your expectations.

The facecloths provided to you upon arrival at the lodge and after all activities are washed and dried after each use. They are then dipped in ice water and lemon essence shortly before your arrival. These are rolled up and placed in a cooling container with ice to ensure that they are refreshing for your arrival. We negate your statement on the standard of this service as the facecloths are prepared in exactly the same manner in all our properties, of which Chobe Game Lodge is also included.

The toilet seat which you mention broke during your stay possibly on the night before your departure. We are confident that we would have picked up the problem, during our routine room checks, had it happened earlier as we did on the morning of your departure. We would have however rectified the situation immediately had the problem been brought to our attention.

We wish to reiterate that we respect and encourage your opinions of your stay with us to the fullest; however, the manner in which you construe the facts of the bigger picture to paint your own description of negativity about our property is, in our opinion, not accurate. We are very aware that the influences of weather and environmental conditions can have on an experience. More so, we are aware that our management and staff have a vital role in ensuring that the guest experience is delivered to the fullest. Apart from you speaking to management about the heat and the fans not working, we were not aware of any of the other issues raised by you in this review. We can only assure all future guests to Savute Safari Lodge that the manner in which you have presented your experience of our company by no means reflects what we strive for on a daily basis and/or represents what we offer or deliver as a service.

Walter Smith
Marketing Director
Desert & Delta Safaris

On Behalf of the Savute Safari Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

We have been to many safari lodges but the view from our room at Savute must come as one of the best. We overlooked the water hole which was constantly being visited by elephants of all sizes. We also had hyena, lion and antelope visit as well as a good collect of birds. Waking up and getting to bed with this on your door step is very special!
The rooms and communal areas were immaculate. The large rooms included indoor seating in the window so you could watch the animals whilst trying to keep cool in the middle of the day.
Warning! At time of our visit the waterhole outside rooms 7-12 had been drained due to someone complaining smell drifting to the dining area! What do you expect in the African bush! Rooms 4& 5 had best views of remaing waterhole. Apparently a new waterhole is to be made soon.
Food was excellent and made special by the elephants passing a few meters away whist you ate.
As for the game drives what can I say that has not been said before. Our guide Metal was brilliant. We met up with the elephant eating lions on most drives and also saw leopard and its cub along with many other animals and birds. Slightly disappointed with the fact that no big herds were around but that was due to the lack of water and time of year - nothing to do with the lodge.
Would recommend this lodge to anyone!

Room tip: At the time of our visit the waterhole outside rooms 7-12 had been drained. Rooms 4 & 5 have best views at the moment.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lesley0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2015

Dear Lesley0608
Thank you so much for a wonderful review, I have already shared this with all the staff at the Lodge. Such great feedback is always so motivating to all of us, and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews