We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and wonderful game viewing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savute Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent service and wonderful game viewing”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I am constantly amazed at the level of luxury and service that these camps are able to provide in such remote locations. Savute Safari Lodge was no exception. Strategically placed overlooking waterholes, the camp has comfortable, luxurious common areas (lounge, bar, dining areas). The main dining facility is open air, looking out over the water holes as well, providing a constant source of wildlife viewing. We really enjoyed sitting and watching the animals come and go, and interact with one another. The boma area with open fire was cozy and friendly for after dinner drinks.

Our room was spacious, well equipped, spotless and very comfortable. We spent quite a bit of time on our deck overlooking a water hole, watching elephants come and go. The bathroom had a nice, spacious shower with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Laundry was taken and returned promptly, always neatly folded.

The staff at the camp are amazing. Friendly, helpful, happy, informative, they went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. We were met on arrival with hot towels and beautiful singing. We were treated to singing and dancing each evening and enjoyed it very much. Check in was quick and easy, as was check out.

Our guide, Baba, was very informative. We saw a huge variety of game and had excellent morning tea and sundowner stops.

I like these camps being all inclusive so you don't have to worry about bills and carrying too much money around. So convenient.

The food was excellent, a wide variety offered at every meal, and accompanied by nice wines in the evening.

I would recommend Savute Safari Camp very highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluegoldhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review of Savute Safari Lodge. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are even more delighted that you saw the value in our team at the lodge and their efforts to ensure that your stay with us was a hospitable one, is recognized. Many thanks for that - we will ensure that your comments are shared with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Botswana and certainly to Savute Safari Lodge some time in the future?

With kind regards and warm safari greetings, Obie, Angie, Mash, Baba and the entire Savute Safari Lodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    39
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
184
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Had the pleasure of spending three nights at Savute with my family - a party of 6. We were blown away by how incredible the staff were, especially our guide, Watch, who we absolutely loved. As a group, the staff was unbelievably friendly, upbeat, and did an amazing job of making our three day stay worth every penny. Watch went above and beyond his call of duty and found us leopards, cheetahs, and lions all before any of the other guides in the area. We never once felt unsafe while at Savute and were able to enjoy an incredible few days with big game animals in such close proximity. Hoping to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcnicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was blessed to be able to stay at this wonderful camp during a recent photography tour with Jim Zuckerman. We stayed at three different camps in Botswana all owned by the same company. I have to say our group really loved all three but the best was Savute and Gwist as a guide made it all the better. We saw a total of 6 different leopards during our three nights with sighting each and every day (one inside the camp). Also got to see two Cheetah the last morning, the wildlife viewing was so nice. The service was top notch, the drinks cold and the food very tasty. I can't say enough about the entire staff and encourage anyone traveling to Botswana to stay here you won't be sorry. Hello to the crew at the camp I think about you often and can't thank you enough for the experience of a lifetime. Take Care Memoriee

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikapet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Memoriee

Thank you very much for your kind review of Savute Safari Lodge. One of the biggest motivating factors for our team here at Savute is the feedback that we receive from our guests, especially from a forum such as this. We will ensure that your kind words are shared with the team here.

Gwist will be very pleased to read your comments and we are so pleased that his efforts contributed so hugely to your safari experience.

Many thanks again and again!!

With kind regards and warm safari greetings, Obie, Angie, Gwist and the entire team at Savute Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Rob and I recently had the very good fortune to be booked at Savute Safari Lodge for a 2 day stay, and it is one of the most wonderful experiences of our life....and we have had a number of good experiences! We stayed in a beautifully appointed luxury cabin with a waterhole in front of the verandah, and the day we arrived we were greeted with 22 elephant drinking and socialising about 20 metres in front of our room-- mind blowing! The 15 minute trip in from the airstrip with our guide for the stay, Gwiss, actually took about an hour, because of the number of wildlife up close and personal which we came upon as we drove, and we just HAD to look at them all. A very exciting start! We were given a very warm welcome by the staff, and as soon as we had had a bit to eat, set off on the first of our jeep excursions. Our guide was an expert finder of tracks and game, and we were blown away by the number of especially exciting things he found for us to see. The sheer numbers of game in the park is incredible, but the guides first have to find them, and that is not easy without the expertise. We ate first class meals , most served alfreso on the verandah at long tables, so that we met lots of interesting people and no one was left out. After dinner we all adjourned to an open boma (fire) beside the dining area for cocktails, coffee, whatever one wanted, and a happy sharing of the days experiences. Congratulations Obie, Angie and the team, on running such a wonderful place of hospitality and bonhomie. You make your guests feel very welcome, and we were very sad when the time came for us to leave.

Room Tip: We were in cabin 7 and loved it, but as the lodge is a small one, I think all the cabins would be te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Rob and Gillian - Many thanks for this wonderful review of Savute Safari Lodge. We are indeed very happy that you had such a great stay with us and it ranks right up there with the best experiences for you. Gwist has just paid us a visit in the office and we have shown him your feedback - this is so motivating for him!! Many thanks!! With warm safari greetings, Obie Angie and the team at Savute Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We just spent three nights here in room #8 overlooking a popular watering hole for elephants. There was no reason to view from other areas on the property--this room was perfect. Some folks complain about noise, but it was part of the experience. Not a bother at all. The food was also excellent and they accommodated special meals very well. Our guide was Gwist, who was amazing in his ability to track animals and his thorough knowledge of all types of birds, animals, etc. we can't say enough about the friendly, warm staff who made our stay here so wonderful.
Our travel agent highly recommended staying here and we were not disappointed. They do provide insect repellent, although we didn't really need it, but we needed more sunscreen. Be prepared to dress in layers, especially on the morning game drives as it gets very cold.

Room Tip: Room eight overlooks the elephant watering hole. great viewing, but a bit noisy at night. Well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemur_chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Savute Safari Lodge. Gwist is going to be delighted to read your comments as we know how committed he is and hard he tries. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Room 8 some time in the future?? -Kind regards, Angie, Obie, Gwist and the Savute Safari Lodge team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thank you to Walter at Safari Online. We wouldn't of had this experience without his knowledge of this lodge.
Not sure why this lodge is only a 4 star it should be a 5 star.
This lodge offers a morning and night drives.
The rooms are large, bright and are overlooking the waterholes where all types of animals come to drink. We saw the tinniest elephant. He was only around 5 months old.
Food was outstanding, the night entertainment from the staff was unforgettable. Thank god we filmed it to so family and friends back home. We saw loads of different birds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ednaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review of Savute Safari Lodge - we are indeed happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your endorsement of Walter Khors is right on the button as well. Kind regards - Obie, Angie and the Savute Safari Lodge team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Savute Safari Lodge was our first stop on our visit to Botswana and what a start! The staff's welcome was very warming and we were treated like family throughout our stay. All of the staff know your name and are interested in you without being overbearing, we've never relaxed so quickly into a holiday. The safari and guides were fantastic, professional and friendly. All of the staff made our stay the best I've had in any lodge or hotel, they've got customer service nailed. Thank you for such a wonderful experience everyone at Savute Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Westley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We are incredibly pleased to read your review of Savute Safari Lodge. Many thanks for your kind words. It was wonderful hosting you on your recent stay with us and certainly we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. With warm smiles and greetings, Obie, Angie and the Savute Safari Lodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
13.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
253 reviews
60.7 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
439 reviews
13.0 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 21 in Chobe National Park
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
87.4 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 21 in Chobe National Park
273 reviews
90.1 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 21 in Chobe National Park
39 reviews
92.8 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 21 in Chobe National Park
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savute Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savute Safari Lodge

Property: Savute Safari Lodge
Address: Savute Channel | Savuti Area, Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park none, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Savute Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To ensure a private and relaxing environment, Savute Safari Lodge accommodates just twenty-four guests in twelve thatched chalets built of local timber. The chalets, which have been elegantly furnished in calm neutral tones to blend with the natural environment, feature expansive private decks, a combined bedroom and lounge area and en suite facilities. Your stay at Savute Safari Lodge is fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, drinks, national park entry fees, scheduled activities, laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Savute Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savute Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing