We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place to stay Gillian H”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Savute Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Rob and I recently had the very good fortune to be booked at Savute Safari Lodge for a 2 day stay, and it is one of the most wonderful experiences of our life....and we have had a number of good experiences! We stayed in a beautifully appointed luxury cabin with a waterhole in front of the verandah, and the day we arrived we were greeted with 22 elephant drinking and socialising about 20 metres in front of our room-- mind blowing! The 15 minute trip in from the airstrip with our guide for the stay, Gwiss, actually took about an hour, because of the number of wildlife up close and personal which we came upon as we drove, and we just HAD to look at them all. A very exciting start! We were given a very warm welcome by the staff, and as soon as we had had a bit to eat, set off on the first of our jeep excursions. Our guide was an expert finder of tracks and game, and we were blown away by the number of especially exciting things he found for us to see. The sheer numbers of game in the park is incredible, but the guides first have to find them, and that is not easy without the expertise. We ate first class meals , most served alfreso on the verandah at long tables, so that we met lots of interesting people and no one was left out. After dinner we all adjourned to an open boma (fire) beside the dining area for cocktails, coffee, whatever one wanted, and a happy sharing of the days experiences. Congratulations Obie, Angie and the team, on running such a wonderful place of hospitality and bonhomie. You make your guests feel very welcome, and we were very sad when the time came for us to leave.

Room Tip: We were in cabin 7 and loved it, but as the lodge is a small one, I think all the cabins would be te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Rob and Gillian - Many thanks for this wonderful review of Savute Safari Lodge. We are indeed very happy that you had such a great stay with us and it ranks right up there with the best experiences for you. Gwist has just paid us a visit in the office and we have shown him your feedback - this is so motivating for him!! Many thanks!! With warm safari greetings, Obie Angie and the team at Savute Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 348 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We just spent three nights here in room #8 overlooking a popular watering hole for elephants. There was no reason to view from other areas on the property--this room was perfect. Some folks complain about noise, but it was part of the experience. Not a bother at all. The food was also excellent and they accommodated special meals very well. Our guide was Gwist, who was amazing in his ability to track animals and his thorough knowledge of all types of birds, animals, etc. we can't say enough about the friendly, warm staff who made our stay here so wonderful.
Our travel agent highly recommended staying here and we were not disappointed. They do provide insect repellent, although we didn't really need it, but we needed more sunscreen. Be prepared to dress in layers, especially on the morning game drives as it gets very cold.

Room Tip: Room eight overlooks the elephant watering hole. great viewing, but a bit noisy at night. Well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemur_chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your review of Savute Safari Lodge. Gwist is going to be delighted to read your comments as we know how committed he is and hard he tries. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Room 8 some time in the future?? -Kind regards, Angie, Obie, Gwist and the Savute Safari Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thank you to Walter at Safari Online. We wouldn't of had this experience without his knowledge of this lodge.
Not sure why this lodge is only a 4 star it should be a 5 star.
This lodge offers a morning and night drives.
The rooms are large, bright and are overlooking the waterholes where all types of animals come to drink. We saw the tinniest elephant. He was only around 5 months old.
Food was outstanding, the night entertainment from the staff was unforgettable. Thank god we filmed it to so family and friends back home. We saw loads of different birds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ednaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review of Savute Safari Lodge - we are indeed happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your endorsement of Walter Khors is right on the button as well. Kind regards - Obie, Angie and the Savute Safari Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Savute Safari Lodge was our first stop on our visit to Botswana and what a start! The staff's welcome was very warming and we were treated like family throughout our stay. All of the staff know your name and are interested in you without being overbearing, we've never relaxed so quickly into a holiday. The safari and guides were fantastic, professional and friendly. All of the staff made our stay the best I've had in any lodge or hotel, they've got customer service nailed. Thank you for such a wonderful experience everyone at Savute Lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy_Westley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

We are incredibly pleased to read your review of Savute Safari Lodge. Many thanks for your kind words. It was wonderful hosting you on your recent stay with us and certainly we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. With warm smiles and greetings, Obie, Angie and the Savute Safari Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Savute Safari Lodge is a Desert & Delta property with African longhouse chalets overlooking a vast water hole area. This is our second trip to Botswana and of the four camps we visited, it was our favorite for in your face game watching. The lodge has a wonderful feel to it, very nice bar and living room area and an outside dining room with a continuous changing view. We had room #6- a very large and spacious area with generous armoires, desk and dressing table and separate shower and sink. It looked directly over the artificial water hole. The Savute Channel is about bone dry and that is practically the only water source around so you can watch large herds of elephant coming in to drink 24 hours a day about 50-100 feet from your room. It was interesting to watch the hierarchy on who got water first. While we were there-a wild dog killed an impala in front of the lodge and brought his pack back to feed. The wild dog is fast becoming extinct so we were fortunate to see them,Lucky our guide was very experienced and knowledgeable and we had wonderful lion sightings including mating lions, elephants up close and personal, cape buffalo, leopard and cubs and at least 30 giraffe in a herd-one of which was nice enough to stroll across the sunset during our sundowner. We saw hundreds of other wildlife as well. The Savute area is where it is happening. The staff sang to us at dinner and we had great food, wonderful wines. Score the #1 bartender took great care of us as well as the very attentive staff of Obie, Angie, Hendrick, Renny and team who made sure our stay was extremely memorable. If you want an OMG experience in Africa, this is the place to go!

Room Tip: Room #6 and 7 have really great views of the waterhole all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

We are delighted to receive your review of Savute Safari Lodge. It was only a pleasure to host you and welcome you into our Savute family recently. We are pleased that you saw what Savute is all about and hope that the memories will remain for a long time. Your room and our smiles are waiting to welcome you for your return visit. With warm wishes - Obie, Angie, Renny, Henricks and the Savute Safari Lodge family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Savute Lodge was the third of our D&D camps in our African safari, and it was the favorite of all four of us. The wildlife is spectacular, with elephants all day and night visible from the dining table. One morning from our bed we could see two lionesses on the prowl. Our guide was Gee, and the G could well stand for Genius. He was a superb tracker, who - incredibly - delivered on every single request - leopards (4), cheetahs (2), lions (6), hyena (one) and ostriches (too numerous to count). The final morning two in our group needed to leave by 9 AM for the airport, so he took out oearly at 6:45 to track a male lion. (On the way we had a side-tour to a leopard lolling in a tree). He found the lion, got us into position for the best pictures in the early morning light, called the other vehicles so they could join in the fun. He then told us he would need to fly to the airport because time was short. But on the way he suddenly stopped and pointed out a second leopard in a tree several hundred feet away. When asked him how he could have possibly known, he said that he noticed that several vehicle tracks in the road swerved as if they had pulled off to to observe something interesting. He scanned the horizon and voila! there was the leopard. In addition to the phenomenal tracking was the quiet confidence, quick humor and wonderful insights that he shared almost non-stop. We felt part of this great circle of life in a way that we will always remember.
The rest of the camp was also superior. The food excellent, the staff were over-the-top friendly, and we truly felt part of their family. We sensed that we left better people than when we arrived. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 have a great view of the water hole. You can request a guide; we also heard that Baba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank transplantdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

We are sincerely grateful for your very kind review of Savute Safari Lodge. Gee is going to be so happy to read your comments as we know how hard he tries - and then to get results like this must be very rewarding for him. Savute is a magical place and certainly we are pleased that you got to see it at its best. There is always a room, a plate of food while dining with the elephant and friendly smiles to welcome you back. Many thanks and warm safari greetings - Obie, Angie, Gee and the Savute Safari Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were collected by Obie (one of the managers) from the airstrip - Delta Air are rather unreliable so try to reserve a time well in advance, they messed us around and we ended up arriving late at camps every flight). The camp is awesome and the staff were exceptional. Rooms are magnificent and you almost feel you have too much space. Our room was right over the waterhole (river had just dried up and so the waterholes will probably have pumped water shortly) and we had a constant show of elephant, buck, dwarfed mongoose visiting. there are not too many places where you can stand in the shower (a proper inside one) and watch ellies socialising around a waterhole 20 metres away.

The game drives were excellent although quite long in the morning (I would suggest asking the guide to stop and just watch animals for a time as you see great interactions). Our guide was fairly new and although good, was shown up by a much more experienced Lucky who took over.

The staff were exceptional and the food really good. Even the barman Uncle Score makes you feel part of the family. This is a great bush experience from this visit and you really need to stay 2-3 nights to enjoy it. We missed a game drive and enjoyed just relaxing on our room deck watching ellies and draft mongoose going about their business. If you have a couple of good drives, missing a morning one is the ultimate luxury.

Well done Obie, Angie and your team.

Room Tip: Room 7 & 8 look directly over the waterhole. Room 6 is also awesome. Try to get one where the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review of Savute Safari Lodge. Once again, we are able to use this feedback to motivate our staff and the Savute family to keep on with their good work. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us and certainly look forward to your return at some or other stage. With warm safari greetings - Obie, Angie and the team at Savute Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
13.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
278 reviews
60.7 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
502 reviews
13 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 21 in Chobe National Park
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#10 of 21 in Chobe National Park
52 reviews
90.2 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#19 of 21 in Chobe National Park
48 reviews
87.4 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#4 of 21 in Chobe National Park
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savute Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savute Safari Lodge

Address: Savute Channel | Savuti Area, Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park none, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Savute Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To ensure a private and relaxing environment, Savute Safari Lodge accommodates just twenty-four guests in twelve thatched chalets built of local timber. The chalets, which have been elegantly furnished in calm neutral tones to blend with the natural environment, feature expansive private decks, a combined bedroom and lounge area and en suite facilities. Your stay at Savute Safari Lodge is fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, drinks, national park entry fees, scheduled activities, laundry service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savute Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing