We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveler rating
376
77
19
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
77
19
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat trip chobe river game drives flood plain local school other guests the managers early morning superb views family style guide bee big table served buffet style night game kasane airport afternoon drive ridge overlooking
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 483 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our time at Muchenje. Our Guide Rambo was terrific. He would see things that we wouldn't even had noticed. The food and staff were great as we're the rooms. Our full day game drive on the Chobe River was one that I will never forget.

Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mackenzie844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2016

This is one of my favorite properties in Chobe. Unique because the property pairs with the community. Bordering Chobe you have the chance to enjoy game drives AND walks. Rooms are beautiful with fantastic 180' views over Chobe.

The only thing to be aware of is for boat safaris it takes the day. You'll head out on morning game drive through the park, stop for lunch along the way, do an afternoon boat safari and then drive back through Chobe to the lodge after (there is a paved road through the park).

Room Tip: Families - there is a special suite with upstairs loft for the kids, main room for parents and 2 bathrooms with private outdoor patio!
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stargazer12y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2016

My rating would be excellent except for the end.
The Muchenje safari lodge was a fabulous experience for us as our first safari. The lodge is beautiful (just like the pictures) with views of the plains and the river below. There are comfortable couches and chairs with a large bar and WIFI. The meals are served at two long tables family style or buffet. It is great comraderie. The lodge has a maximum of 12 guests so it is private and comfortable. The food is plentiful and excellent. The hosts are well suited to manage the lodge (people oriented (Robert) and well organized(Joy)). The guests stay in small chalets on both sides of the lodge. All have views of the plains. They are well appointed with air conditioning, showers, and comfortable beds with mosquito nets. This lodge is all inclusive so all meals, drinks, beds and safaris are included.
The safaris start at 5:30 in the morning until 8. Then you return to the lodge for breakfast. By far, the morning safari had more animals than any other. The day long safari starts with a long ride on the paved road to Kasane to take a boat on the river for several hours. Then a very long ride (4-5 hours) in the park back along the river to the lodge. Some people have raved about the all day safari, but I found that it was too long with less animals than the morning safari. The night safari is after dinner for an hour riding around the lodge property (not Chobe park). We did not have much luck seeing animals on the night safaris. They say, they cannot guarantee what you will see. We did see thousands of elephants, giraffes, zebras and a myriad of other animals. We saw one lion and her cub walking right in front of the land rover. I thought that the different guides had different skills in tracking. In Chobe park you are not allowed to get out of your vehicle except in designated rest areas.
The one issue which causes me to give a rating which is less than excellent is that the managers insisted that we could not take the morning safari on the day of our departure since our flight was from Victoria Falls (two hours away) and not Kasane (where the flights are frequently canceled). The morning safari was returning to the lodge just as we were driving away. I was furious at missing a safari that I had thought I had been promised and paid for. This incident really tainted my appreciation of the all inclusive and expensive lodge.

Room Tip: closest to the lodge is best for safety - farther away if you want animals walking by
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank joann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muchenje1, Manager at Muchenje Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2016

Dear Joan
Thank you so much for the great review and thorough input on Muchenje. We are thrilled that you saw such great game and that you really appreciated the home-from-home atmosphere at Muchenje with our wonderful staff and management.
We are of course disappointed that your stay was marred by the early transfer through to the Falls, yes sadly the transfers have to leave the lodge earlier than normal, hence the inability to comfortably enjoy a morning safari, finish up and check out before the departure vehicle needs to leave the lodge to get you to Kasane in time for your transfer to the airport. The pick up time of the transfer is dictated by the transfer company as they have to ensure guests arrive in good time to make check in.
Unfortunately we can only apologise for the inconvenience and hope that the over all wonderful Chobe experience will endure.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.
Kind regards
Alex - Reservations & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2016

We had a 3 night stay at Muchenje in December. An old fashioned style lodge with a very nice communal area, bar, pool etc. The rooms were tastefully done and close to the lodge, rather than luxurious. The Game drives were excellent, and the guides very good at helping us spot plenty of wildlife, despite it being low season. The advantage of this time of year is the greenery and less crowding. The full day trip on the river Chobe was blissful, wi plentiful sightings of elephant, croc, hippo, sable antelope and numerous birds. for a first time safari, I was not disappointed. Our guide also correctly anticipated the likelihood of a lion hunting and killing a zebra, which unfolded in front of our eyes. horrific and awe inspiring at the same time. Food at the lodge also excellent. Small warning, if you don't like communal eating and prefer quiet contemplation, looking out over the scenery, you may not like this aspect so much.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank L I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muchenje1, Manager at Muchenje Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2016

Hi
Thank you so much for your lovely review on Muchenje. I am so pleased you had such a great safari experience with us and you are absolutely right that this Low Season is particularly rewarding, as well as pretty!
Witnessing a lion kill is something we all hope for (for our inner David Attenborough) but as you know now, it can be quite devastating too - I am thrilled that you witnessed this rare and special sighting and hope that this along with many other memories will last a lifetime.
It is a shame if you had preferred to eat alone at times, as the staff are able to set up individual dining tables to suit.
Kind regards
Alex
Reservations & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2016

Sadly I only spent two nights in this stunning Lodge. My private bungalow had a veranda over looking the flood plains of the Chobe River, which had various wildlife. The Lodge was hosted by Robert and Joy who were wonderful hosts, and staffed by people with great hospitality skills. As a solo traveler the long dining table was a welcome change from eating alone.
The guides were very knowledgeable and just as excited as we were to find herds of animals when we went on our safaris. Thank you Alex.
All in all an experience you have to have to fully understand how awesome it was.

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views, and are of a very high standard.
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 345cjw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muchenje1, Manager at Muchenje Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2016

Hi there
Thank you so much for your lovely review and so glad that you enjoyed our Muchenje Family! Yes, the home from home feeling at the lodge really does add to the whole experience and I am glad you appreciated it!!
We are so glad you had an awesome safari too and have many memories of your stay to cherish!
Kind regards
Alex
Reservations & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews