We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Muchenje” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muchenje Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magnificent Muchenje”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife and I were picked up in Kasane by Lips and taken to the lodge to be met by the relief manager Cath and her enthusiastic staff.Cath sat down with us for lunch when we arrived and made us feel so welcome that we had no doubts that Muchenje had been a good choice for the start of our second trip to Africa.The rooms are wonderful and are much better than they appear on the web site.Food is home cooking and is plentiful and there is enough variety to make it interesting.Let me be clear this is a great place with great staff led by a great temp GM but the real stars of the show are the guides.We were lucky enough to get Lips and I know everyone likes to think they had the best guide in Africa but he may well take that title.Lips found all the usual grass eaters as well as a pair of male lions on the prowl and we we're fortunate enough to see a female lion reunite with one of her cubs after a hyena had killed her other one.The drama continued on the full day river trip with great up close viewing of elephants and yes Lips found us a leopard to really top off a great day.We stayed 3 nights in June and would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great out look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    62
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
78
201
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

In March 2014 this year a group of my friends and I stayed at Muchenje. It is now June and I have to say that this is the best experience I have ever had and within a heartbeat I would return again. Creative tours took on board activities we hoped for and Muchenje staff (who really felt like family within a couple of days) gave us all those experiences and more. Nothing was too much effort. Their attention to their clients, care for their staff, community, villagers and environment was exemplary.

Our safety was paramount. We had staff patrolling the units from 6pm each evening and escorting us to our units at night. There was mother of all electrical storms and power from Zambia was out for a couple of days. During this period we still had our delicious meals, cooked by gas cookers under kerosene lamps. Daily activities continued and water had to be carted in. Full marks to management. Judy was the relief manager and what a gem she was. Where else do the staff deliver a rollicking serve of African song and dance before returning to their cooking, waitressing and other rolls just before our evening meals. Even better was the inclusive manner in which staff had their meals with us. This added yet another dimension to our African experience.

Johnson the barman and KP our guide spent time teaching me lai lai (sp), an old African board game which I had seen on the web. The guys still play it and dropped eveything one evening to deliver a crash course! Originally I thought it was just an ornament originally.

We were even taken for a visit to Kasane to visit another accommodation that I had been considering prior to booking. Great to see the businesses working together!

Plenty of good advice, conversation and information was passed our way. You won't be disappointed if you close this venue to visit Chobe, villages and the locals. At no time did we feel unsafe or vulnerable despite being in a very different environment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
173 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We visited Muchenje on the occasion of our 25th anniversary celebration. Having just come from 5 star hotels, we didn't know what to expect. What we received in service, quality and memorable campfires exceeded all expectations. Temporary GM Cath did a great job making us at home from the start. Our guide Bee couldn't have been better--from our first encounter to our last, every effort was made for us to enjoy ourselves, including custom meals and a picnic lunch not to be beat. It also didn't hurt having our Sundowners celebration! The quality and care evident in the Chobe preserve was vastly superior to our Kruger experience. The rooms have been recently refurbished and while not elegant offered us the view and vitality sometimes missing in other locations. If you can only go one place, make it Muchenje!

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking the flood plains rather than the bush go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Having just come back from a fantastic holiday to Namibia and Botswana, I felt I had to write a review of Muchenje. If you are going to chobe you musts stay here. Although it was not the most luxurious place we stayed in on our trip everything was perfect. The staff are all wonderful, excellent guides, and the managers always waiting for you on your return from a game drive to see what experiences you had. Very good food, lovely fire to sit round before dinner, generous with the drinks. Our guide Lips was excellent, tracking animals, respecting them and giving us the best experiences possible. The view is one of the top 10 in the world. We stayed for 3 nights - next time would consider 4 so could spend more time at lodge to relax - lovely communal spaces. The trouble is just too much to do to relax! Agree the river trip is a highlight. Will return.

Room Tip: All seem good, not a long walk to main reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

My family and I loved the warm and professional staff. Cath the GM was wonderful and make our trip very special. The game drives yielded lots of sightings including a pair of male lions and lots of elephants, giraffes, kudu and gazelle. Our rooms were homey and comfortable. We are heading back to Texas very satisfied customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

What can I say? Our room looked over the flood plains and wild life in the foreground amazing. The lodge is quite small which we loved, 11 rooms in total which gives it a real personal feel. The hosts Robert and Joy were very welcoming and made the whole experience so much more with stories around the camp fire. The guides were very knowledgeable and wanted you to see everything possible so thank you Rambo. If you want to see big herds of elephant, zebra, giraffe, hippo, warthog, crocodiles, various bucks, birds and if lucky lions and leopards then I highly recommend this lodge. The river cruise is a must; elephants playing in the river, crocodiles stalking their pray and hippo's doing as little as they can. excellent! Food fab, bar fab and even laundered your safari clothes free for the next day. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adamrt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Beautiful location with great views from all rooms. Bed was comfortable and accommodation was very clean. Remember to take conditioner with you as I did not find it in 3 of the four lodges we stayed at. Warm welcome from the manager and his wife every time we returned from a game drive. A well organised and managed lodge with tasty food. A big thank you to all the staff at Muchenje for a memorable stay – in particular to our enthusiastic guide Lips! It was great to see an elephant drinking water from the lodge swimming pool! Night drives and the village visit are not really worth it – the drive is just around the lodge – better to conserve your energy for day drives and the long full day activities! Don’t miss the river cruise – that was our high light.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thilakawathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
0.4 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
60.1 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 20 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
34.9 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
35.3 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muchenje Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muchenje Safari Lodge

Property: Muchenje Safari Lodge
Address: Private Bag K31, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Muchenje Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, Owner run property situated on the edge of the Chobe National park. Our remote location means game drives do not reach the masses that inhibit other Chobe Lodges.Recently upgraded, Muchenje offers Rustic luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Muchenje Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing