We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights during early December. The safaris were wonderful and we were spoilt for animals. Our guide was Rambo, who did his best to ensure that we didn't miss anything. Tehre were only three of us allocated to the four-wheel drive that could seat 10. The day safari with the boat trip on the Chobe river was the highlight of our stay as we saw hippos, and hundreds of elephants by the river.

We found the food at the lodge to be of a good standard with a home-cooked feel. The free laundry service was efficient and our clothes were returned very clean and well-ironed. Muchenje has a casual atmosphere with communal dining, which was a great way to get to know the rest of the guests. The managers, Joy and Rob, made us feel a part of the family. Due to our short stay, we didn't get to use many of the facilities, but there is a great pool and a fantastic view. The bar is well stocked and the drinks on the game drives and picnic lunch were of a good standard. The rangers are knowledgeable and our transfers and transport were efficient and well-arranged. The staff are friendly and efficient.

The lodge is well designed, and each room is separate with a good bathroom, great bed and airconditioning. My only criticism is that the rooms will need updating soon as ours was a little tired looking, but they were well-maintained and very clean. Chobe is the best place to view wildlife and they are more abundant than Kruger. I would love to visit again just before the wet season starts. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Muchenje again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 432 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

One of the best places to stay near the Chobe River. The games drives were perfect, kept us busy. There was so much to see, there were so many animal. Just what i wanted. I am still amazed at all we did see. There was the amazing herds of elephants. I really enjoyed the cruise along the River and watching the elephants swimming across the River. The morning drives were very cold in June. You will need a hat, gloves and very warm clothes. One game drive we did see a pack of lions on a hunt,,,great fun!
The room was fine. Staff very friendly. But sorry to say i agree with the other reviews the food was below average. But the location made up for it...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmc112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The view from the lodge at Muchenje, overlooking the Chobe River, is fantastic. The staff were friendly and the food on par with other lodges in Southern Africa (which is overall very good). The all day safari, although at first I thought may be too much, turned out to be the highlight of our stay. Lunch on a boat beached against an island full of hippos, cape buffalo, elephants, and crocodiles was a very nice touch. Hitting Chobe area as our third destination in Botswana was the right choice because the amount of wildlife in Chobe far exceeded the numbers we encountered in Okavango and Kalahari.

We only had 2 nights at the lodge, but wished we would have had a 3rd so we could enjoy more of the lodge itself.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are standalone villas and all appear to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roydyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This lodge has an excellent location overlooking the river and open space. The managers were super friendly and helpful, the accommodations were clean and comfortable, and the staff, including safari guides were superb! Much better than other more expensive safari lodges that we visited in South Africa. The game drives were frequent (we never rested unless we skipped one) in the Chobe National Park with guide that knew the area and knew the full lifecycle of all the plants and animals in the area! This was a trip with my 81 year old mom and my sister. We all LOVED it and saw so much game! When I go back, I'll stay here again. We were there in November 2011.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FromTheOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Funny, I was just about to post and then read the latest review and owner response. My take, excellently constructed and furnished camp but agree wholeheartedly with the negative comments. Food was under-cooked, over-cooked but rarely properly cooked. Raw cauliflower, dried out fish, curry with pasta - just three examples. The managers openly moaned about their staff on several occasions. Staff were obviously demoralised and consequently some did not give their best. However the guides were good and tried very hard. Overall, a shame and steer clear until the above is resolved. Then I'd recommend this camp.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbagger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This lodge has a magnificent location with brilliant views and the main lodge area is wonderful. However the food was dreadful and the staff were obviously unhappy and this was totally the opposite from other camps we had stayed. However the game we saw was brilliant and our guide was excellent. We weren't the only ones complaining about the food etc so it wasn't just us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twiglet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muchenje1, Owner at Muchenje Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear you did not enjoy your food. We do try to cater for a broad range of tastes, and 'Tefo' or Chef (from Botswana) is very proud and passionate about his work so I know will be disappointed. Tefo has had some great feedback lately which makes this so much more difficult. Perhaps you could email me some suggestions of what was wrong with the food during your stay, and we would welcome some menu suggestions.
Our management are very open to meal requests so its a shame they did not pick up your thoughts on the food as they would definitely have created a menu to suite your tastes.
We will encourage Tefo with some more training, and continue to help him raise the bar
Thank you for your feedback. Assuring you we value each and every clients stay for it to be the best possible Chobe Experience
Matt Smith
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We spent 4 days here and what a marvellous position the Lodge occupies, high up overlooking the Chobe River towards Namibia. From the outset it was a full day's activities. Up at 5, out at 5.30, back for breakfast at 8.30, out again at 9.30 for a full day in the Chobe Game reserve. Plenty of game, hippo, lion, jackal, giraffe, buffalo, kudu, sable, zebra, elephant, warthog and of course lots of impala.

The rooms were very comfortable, food and service first class. Arnold our guide was excellent, eagle eyed and very knowledgeable about the animals, birds and plants. He looked after us superbly and never tired of answering our many questions.

Well done to all at Muchenje we had a great time and wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandR186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
0.4 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
502 reviews
46.6 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Muchenje Campsite & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#19 of 21 in Chobe National Park
48 reviews
62.5 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 21 in Chobe National Park
140 reviews
29.7 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#4 of 21 in Chobe National Park
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muchenje Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muchenje Safari Lodge

Address: Private Bag K31, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: $888 - $1,134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muchenje Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, Owner run property situated on the edge of the Chobe National park. Our remote location means game drives do not reach the masses that inhibit other Chobe Lodges.Recently upgraded, Muchenje offers Rustic luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Muchenje Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing