We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ghoha Hills Savuti(Chobe National Park)
$1,324
$1,248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas(Chobe National Park)(Great Value!)
$1,046
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Camp Savuti(Chobe National Park)
$1,182
$991
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Mwandi View(Kavimba)
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Muchenje Campsite & Cottages(Kasane)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chobe River Camp(Katima Mulilo)
$154
$131
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Camp Linyanti(Chobe National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Ngoma Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
344
71
17
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
71
17
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat tripchobe riverflood plaingame drivesthe managerslocal village and schoolother guestsearly morningpicnic lunchfamily roomsuperb viewsfamily styleguide beenight gamekasane airportridge overlookingafternoon drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 443 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Muchenje is just a couple of kms from the Chobe National Park. Each room is a thatched chalet with large comfortable bed. There is a verandah attached with stunning views over the Chobe river. You can see deer and elephants from there. the baboons will be round the corner somewhere.
There are safari activities from 5 am to dusk and beyond. You can tailor your trips to meet your needs- we asked for a trip to the Namibian border after seeing the local village and school. Lips was our very helpful and knowledgeable guide. All staff are very helpful and friendly.
The point of coming here is to see the animals -- if you want all the latest mod cons like television high speed wifi then it may not be for you.
The meals were ample but it was largely a set menu.
Assuming its the safaris you want then I dont think this place can be bettered.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daviddocklands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a nice start to our venture into Botswana with the crossing from Zambia by small boat across the Zambezi where we were met the other side and taken to the lodge.The welcome was superb and before long we were out by land-rover looking at all the animals and birds everywhere.Back at Muchenje lodge the food was excellent and we were looked after so well by the staff and by Joy and Robert.Breakfast was a highlight with made to order eggs and omelettes.With the bar and food in ample supply we forgot our waist-lines for a while and enjoyed our stay more than we can say.Thank you everyone and a special word of thanks for our guide Nick.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorrocks1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

we had 3 nights here it was wonderful . the staff were brilliant they went out off their way to help. The food was great i am a fussy eater but joy made sure i had something i liked to eat . the lodges were more than we thought they would be we found a lion on our first drive what more can you say great guides we were sorry when it came to an end

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here in early February and had a wonderful time. The accommodation is just lovely and the food is very good. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make you feel at home. We saw some superb wildlife, with more elephants in one day than we had seen in a whole holiday previously - mind blowing!!! Having a mixture of water based and land based safaris was just great. Thanks to our guide Kabelo, for being so informative and such good fun.
As the lodge is one of only two lodges on the west side of Chobe it means that you don't have as many vehicles on this side of the reserve which is lovely. Wish we going back tomorrow.
Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Room 8 has a great view of the flood plain.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank africaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Turning off the macadam road and following a winding rutted track you could be forgiven for being concerned. Then you drive up to the entrance of the Muchenje Safari Lodge where you are welcomed into the large imposing thatched open plan building which contains the reception, lounge area and dining area.

We had one of the ten thatched rooms that are sited on the escarpment edge providing a view across the Caprivi Strip. The room comprised a bedroom with a large double bed encased with mosquito nets. The bed linen was a clean crispy white. The bedroom had en suite facilities. Outside was a balcony
with a stunning view. Bino’s are a must. The laundry service means that you do not have to take vast quantities of clothes.

The lodge has a swimming pool that is built amongst natural rock formations, and takes advantage of the views. Due to it being the rainy season we were unable to take advantage of the facility.

The lodge provided game viewing which is undertaken in open safari vehicles, either Land Cruisers or Land Rovers. These vehicles can carry 9 passengers but the maximum carried was 6 so everybody had a “window seat”. A professional guide led each safari. A typical day was a call at 5am, breakfast then out until about midday. Then back for lunch. Rest until 4pm, high tea, then out again until between 7 and 8pm. After which diner was served. The food was sumptuous and everybody sat at the long table to eat and chat. The driver/guide joins you for all meals. The early morning game drives often saw us surrounded by literally 100’s of baboon’s and impala.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikewelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews