We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“What a spot!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our stay at Muchenje was one of the highlights of my trip to Africa. Wonderful vistas of the Chobe River from the excellent open plan lodge and rooms, friendly and efficient staff and some great game viewing on offer. The place has a really nice 'feel' about it - welcoming and relaxed. The meals were good - not outstanding but there was always plenty to eat.

Getting up close to elephants, hippos and crocodiles on the Chobe River was amazing and we also saw large herds of buffalo, giraffe, zebra, monkeys and more - unfortunately the cats eluded us this time. And then there were the sunsets... Would love to go back - two nights just wasn't long enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZDaffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    64
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
81
212
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had a very nice stay at Muchenje. Service was excellent and game drives were terrific. Food was good, but not exceptional. Followed this with visit to Thornybush private game lodge near Kruger. Chobe drives had more volume of animals, but Kruger had more quality. For instance, Chobe has no Rinos. Quality had to do with the ability to go off road at Thornybush where as at Chobe you must stay on established trails. Never the less, highly enjoyed both experiences.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in August. The lodge and accommodation were excellent. Nick was our guide and went out of his way to be obliging when any photography opportunities came our way. He was very knowledgeable and how he was able to spot some of those cats I will never know. This is the only lodge I have stayed in where the managers and guides join you for meals and to share in their experiences. The owner was also visiting and showed the same interest. This was a nice touch and made it an excellent experience for me. Well done.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardkapiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here on second leg of our African trip. Transferred from Livingstone, took about 3 hours including the immigration stops, river crossing nad transfer to the lodge which is about 40-50 mins drive froma Kasane.

Arrived about 1pm and met by Joy, had lunch and straight out on an afternoon drive with Nick a very knowledgable young guide who was our guide for the allday safari also.

We were perhaps a little more fortunate as we were the only two checking in that day so consequently our safari trips were just us and the guide which meant that we could stop and look at different things for as long as we liked.They reckon there are between 60k and 120k elephants in Chobe I think we saw most of them togehter with loads of others and even giraffes in quite large herds which we didn't see in Kenya a few years ago

Meals are taken in the main part of the lodge and all round large tables so you get to meet and chat with other guests at the end of the day.

Our rooms were well kept and clean and looked out over the plains below.

Rob and Joy were superb hosts even going to the trouble of posting an item left at the lodge to our home.

My only sorry was that we only stayed two nights which meant we had the half day safari on arrival, the following morning we did the early morning drive before breakfast and a full day the same day. Knowing the lodge now a would definitely stay another day perhaps two and spend it at the lodge relaxing.

Thoroughly recommend Muchenje for a safari holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDuke50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Like most we only stayed two nights. Did the whole day safari which included the boat cruise. On the jeep safari we saw three leopards, our first ever real up close viewings, Wow. Hundreds of beautiful elephants and the flood plains were teaming with animals. Its like nowhere else we have been, even the Serengeti.

The lodge is lovely, although large. Everyone had a good time around the dinner table and we met some really nice people. The rooms are very nice but we were there in winter so locking the door was not a problem. There is a fan over the bed which we used at night. It could get hot in summer. The outside deck give spectacular views across the Chobe Plains.

Rob and Joy are great. So much fun and hands on. They spent a lot of time advising us on our self drive next year and have continued to do so by email. Thanks so much we really appreciate it and hope to buy you that drink next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our first holiday of this type. We were not at all sure what to expect but from the start it was great. We were warmly greeted by Robert and Joy when we arrived at lunchtime and were immediately fed with home cooked cottage pie. after a dusty journey from Zambia this was most welcome.
The accommodation was very comfortable and our middle daughter was given the lodge with a resident honey badger and porcupine. The highlight of her holiday was actually meeting the porcupine going back to its burrow outside her front door one evening!

Safari experiences were plentiful and our guide, KG was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to make sure we saw as much as possible. we saw impala,giraffes, crocodiles, hippos, baboons, warthog, zebra etc etc. The real spectacle though was during a water safari where we watched a great herd of maybe 40 or 50 elephants come over the ridge towards the water and swim across to the other side.

The lodge sponsors a local school and we were lucky enough to visit as it was both interesting and encouraging to see these children so eager to learn and to welcome us. My husband had great fun racing paper aeroplanes and losing.

Every single person we met while on this holiday was pleasant and helpful from the guides to the waiting staff.
The views from our lodge were spectacular and overlooked the Chobe river and into Namibia beyond and one of the happiest hours we spent was sitting on our verandah watching the baboons playing on the slopes below us.
This was a brilliant setting and a very happy holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsajd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I loved Muchenji lodge but people should be aware that it is a lodge not a bush camp. The town and other camps are close and there is a feel of being more civilized than you get at the remote camps. This camp tends to attract families and while I was there the place was overrun with young children. The staff put them all in their own vehicle so we didn't have to worry about having a child scream when we were watching the lions so I give the staff great credit for that. The all day safari with the boat safari is the best thing offered but the ride back from the river is long and very windy on macadam in an open vehicle. We were freezing and found the ponchos after we got back so we didn't have to be so cold. Would have been nice for the staff to let us know they were in the vehicle.
Despite the above, this was a wonderful experience for me. Rob and Joy are delightful and made the camp as wonderful as it is. The rooms are small but comfy, they don't ventilate well but I was there in winter and that did not bother me - summer might be an entirely different experience. You have to keep your door locked at night so don't get the benefit of the air from the sliding door screen.
The food was good and plentiful. I wouldn't call it gourmet, more home style, but it was to my taste so I ate too much as usual! The bar was always open and the staff were warm and friendly and ready to help.
There were three tables in the dining room and since we were all doing things together during the day, the atmosphere at the tables for dinner was light and fun with people talking and laughing across tables.
The lodge itself was comfy - I even fell asleep while reading on a couch. The view of the Chobe river can't be beat, and things were always clean and well kept. I think this was a credit to Rob and his dedication to making Muchenji a first class lodge.
The all day safari and boat safari was the best, it is tons of fun and you see animals every ten feet. The morning safari starts really early because you have to drive to the entrance of the park and you want to get there early to try and spot the lions. We did come upon a pride of 9 one morning and our guide didn't move until they were gone so we got a chance to observe and photograph. The night drive was sort of a bust but at least we tried!
I took one afternoon off because of a sore throat and Joy was like a mother hen taking care of me. Since I was a woman traveling alone this was most welcome. The down side of hanging out in your room is that the maid staff doesn't seem to adhere to the guest's schedule and come in to turn down the bed at their convenience, not yours. At other camps the room staff are like ghosts so it was a little disconcerting because I seemed to always be in the room when they wanted to turn it down and they didn't seem to want to come back.
Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed by stay here despite a few minor inconveniences, and Rob and Joy make the place what it is.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
0.4 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
441 reviews
46.6 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#7 of 26 in Kasane
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 21 in Chobe National Park
39 reviews
29.7 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 21 in Chobe National Park
275 reviews
35.3 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 21 in Chobe National Park
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muchenje Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muchenje Safari Lodge

Property: Muchenje Safari Lodge
Address: Private Bag K31, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Muchenje Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, Owner run property situated on the edge of the Chobe National park. Our remote location means game drives do not reach the masses that inhibit other Chobe Lodges.Recently upgraded, Muchenje offers Rustic luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Muchenje Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muchenje Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing