We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great visit here”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We arrived with another couple who we were traveling with and were immediately greeted by Joy. She outlined the available activities which are morning drives, afternoon drives, full day safari (including boat tour), evening drives, walking safari, etc. For that day she booked us on a afternoon drive since we arrived late morning. Our guide Lips, was fantastic. In fact we had the same guide for the whole time there which was really great as we got to know him on a bit more of a personal level. For all safari experiences us four were always with Lips and no one else which surprised us (we presumed they would pack the vehicle with as many people as possible) - it was refreshing to not have to be jammed on the safaris. The lodge itself is nice, food is ok nothing all that special, and in your fees include bar service. The chalets are nice, en suite bathroom - the only bad thing I can say is that we were there in the extreme heat (October) and you cannot leave the front door open with just the screen due to Baboons and Honeybadgers - so Joy gave us some tips to sleep comfortably but it was somewhat uncomfortable. Robert and Joy are new to the lodge and we really enjoyed their company fantastic people who really helped unify the lodge in our opinion. Also, they DO all laundry - not sure when they started but Robert mentioned they have laundry machines now so they do everything (in Botswana the locals will not hand wash socks and underwear for cultural reasons) - laundry was fast as well they did it same day which was nice.

Overall if I was going to go back to Chobe or know anyone going to Chobe I would definitely tell them to stay here their team is terrific. Very professional when it came to transfers (btw even the guy that took us to the airport stopped on the way since he spotted a male lion in the bush), service, and safari.

If you are looking for a more intimate setting this may not be for you - I would agree with the reviewer below that this place is fantastic for groups - when we got there a group of 10 was leaving the next day, but when we left there were 3 separate groups of 2, just really depends on the luck of the draw I guess.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    63
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
80
212
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

loved it here, warm welcome and very well looked after by joy and rob. plenty of great activities on offer with great guides. rooms clean and lovely, food excellent, all staff members we had contact with were friendly and good at their respective jobs. free laundry service was much appreciated too. meals taken at large tables with rob and joy joining all the guests to eat. their attitudes and characters made this work very well, which hadn't been our experience at some of the other lodges that did this. were very sorry to have to leave - would have happily stayed for weeks!! one word of warning though - don't attempt the driveway unless you have a 4 x 4!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonNiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Just come back form a trip to Botswana and South Africa which included 4 nights at Muchenje. We have a fantastic four days and Chobe park is magical with so much game to see. The lodge is set up to offer all kinds of safari experinces and we took advantage of them all . The all day trip including the boat trip was lovely and it was great to see the animals from both the land and the water. The early morning walk was a real expeirince as we came across a herd of elephants and tracked them which was exciting if a little worrying at times! The evening drive was a different experince too. We even managed to squeeze in a visit to the local villsge and school - the kids were so lovely.
Admittingly some of the lodge could do with a bit of updating but somehow this only adds to the charm and i beleive is being addresed.
Many thanks to our guide Nick whose quiet and unassuming personilty was perfect but the biggest thanks goes to Joy and Robert who have just taken over as managers at Muchenje. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they went out of their way to ensure that everyone was happy and had what they needed. Thye will be a real plus to Muchenje.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MavisHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I stayed at Muchenje Safari Lodge in September for 2 nights, after 9 days bush camping in Botswana. My confirmed reservation was for 3 nights, but due to some sort of a mix-up I was moved to their adjacent sister lodge, Ngoma Lodge for the third night (see separate review).

Muchenje Lodge is located some 40 minutes drive from Kasane Airport. I was driven part way to the hotel by the tour operator’s driver and then met by one of the guides from the Lodge and my journey was completed with him.

On arrival I was met by hosts Rod and Kathy, who couldn’t have been more welcoming and hospitable. Rooms at Muchenje are individual African style thatched buildings, overlooking the floodplain of the Chobe River and Namibia beyond the river.

After nine days in the bush it was a welcome sight to see such luxurious accommodation. The room was exquisitely furnished and the bathroom was a delight. Kathy gave me a briefing about the Lodge, providing a wealth of information.

The main lodge houses the bar and dining area, as well as a pool, viewing area over the flood plain and a gift shop. The food was excellent and the tariff includes all items from the bar. At meal times guests are joined by hosts Rod and Kathy and the safari guides who are on duty at the time. This was both informal and very enjoyable.

A range of game-viewing safaris is provided at the Lodge, in well-maintained comfortable safari vehicles. Guests can choose from morning or afternoon game drives (or both) as well as a full day tour, which includes an excursion by boat on the Chobe River. A Night Drive with spotlights is also on offer.

In addition guests may opt to visit a local village and school and interact with the local people. The guests who selected this option stated that it had been really worthwhile.

I opted to go on the morning, evening and night game drives. The safari guides were knowledgeable and very accommodating when we requested moving the vehicles to slightly different positions in order to get the best photos. The game viewing was very good; apart from the usual elephants, zebra, giraffe, impalas, hippos etc., we also saw more unusual species, such as Roan and Sable Antelope. The animals were relatively unwary, so it was possible to get within range for some good photos.

On my third day I transferred before breakfast to the nearby Ngoma Lodge. I was sorry to leave Muchenje and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Lovely room, magnificent view, good food but small selection, great service, no
heat in room, should have stayed 2 nights as they have a great 8 hour long safari you can
go on. Hard to find -sign is off road against brush

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryO0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Muchenje was delightful ...great food and comfortable room, with a wondeful view over the Chobe River. We loved the land safari and the elephants at sunset were quite special. what made Chobe so so special was the boat trip, having lunch with the Crocodiles , afernoon tea with the Hippos and finally seeing the Elephants cross the river , right on cue. this is surely one of the great wildlife experinces, particularly the baby Elephants using their trunks as snorkles. we also visited a local village to mee the people...living proof that you dont have to be rich to be happy, a great end to an extraordinary holiday in Botswana. im going back as soon as i can.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to have great views, which is what its all about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Muchenje Safari Lodge was our second stop on a tour arranged by Island-Safari, and it was a definite step down in all but one respect from our first stop at Islands of Siankaba Lodge. The chalet was nice enough, but a strange red substance dripped from the thatched roof, through the mosquito netting on to the bed. The manager was quick to come and inspect the problem but dismissed it as “moths.” The management was, overall, one of the disappointments at the lodge: in a number of small ways the resort seemed to be run for their convenience rather than the guest’s. Two examples: the laundry service, which is included in the tour, doesn’t include “smalls,” underwear and socks. For these they provide a clothes line in the shower and detergent. Really, for the prices we pay, they should do all the laundry. A small thing, yes, but enough to give the place the feel of a budget camp rather than luxury lodge. Then there was the coffee. I stopped by the lodge fifteen minutes before the official time of breakfast and asked for a cup of coffee. While they serve an acceptable presse then, they gave me a cup of instant. And the food was not very good. Edible but not really enjoyable. Enough of the bad. What counts most at a game lodge are the guides, and here they excelled. We took an all day drive that was half on land and half on a boat, each with a different guide, and both guides knew their wildlife and could articulate their knowledge in a way that was both informative and entertaining. Absolutely first class. My wife, who did safaris in East Africa, said these were the best guides she had experienced. All told, five star game viewing, three star accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
0.4 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
439 reviews
46.6 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
250 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#7 of 26 in Kasane
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 21 in Chobe National Park
39 reviews
29.7 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 21 in Chobe National Park
273 reviews
35.3 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 21 in Chobe National Park
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muchenje Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muchenje Safari Lodge

Property: Muchenje Safari Lodge
Address: Private Bag K31, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Muchenje Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, Owner run property situated on the edge of the Chobe National park. Our remote location means game drives do not reach the masses that inhibit other Chobe Lodges.Recently upgraded, Muchenje offers Rustic luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Muchenje Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muchenje Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing