We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best views ever” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muchenje Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best views ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Lovely room, magnificent view, good food but small selection, great service, no
heat in room, should have stayed 2 nights as they have a great 8 hour long safari you can
go on. Hard to find -sign is off road against brush

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryO0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    62
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
78
201
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Muchenje was delightful ...great food and comfortable room, with a wondeful view over the Chobe River. We loved the land safari and the elephants at sunset were quite special. what made Chobe so so special was the boat trip, having lunch with the Crocodiles , afernoon tea with the Hippos and finally seeing the Elephants cross the river , right on cue. this is surely one of the great wildlife experinces, particularly the baby Elephants using their trunks as snorkles. we also visited a local village to mee the people...living proof that you dont have to be rich to be happy, a great end to an extraordinary holiday in Botswana. im going back as soon as i can.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to have great views, which is what its all about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Muchenje Safari Lodge was our second stop on a tour arranged by Island-Safari, and it was a definite step down in all but one respect from our first stop at Islands of Siankaba Lodge. The chalet was nice enough, but a strange red substance dripped from the thatched roof, through the mosquito netting on to the bed. The manager was quick to come and inspect the problem but dismissed it as “moths.” The management was, overall, one of the disappointments at the lodge: in a number of small ways the resort seemed to be run for their convenience rather than the guest’s. Two examples: the laundry service, which is included in the tour, doesn’t include “smalls,” underwear and socks. For these they provide a clothes line in the shower and detergent. Really, for the prices we pay, they should do all the laundry. A small thing, yes, but enough to give the place the feel of a budget camp rather than luxury lodge. Then there was the coffee. I stopped by the lodge fifteen minutes before the official time of breakfast and asked for a cup of coffee. While they serve an acceptable presse then, they gave me a cup of instant. And the food was not very good. Edible but not really enjoyable. Enough of the bad. What counts most at a game lodge are the guides, and here they excelled. We took an all day drive that was half on land and half on a boat, each with a different guide, and both guides knew their wildlife and could articulate their knowledge in a way that was both informative and entertaining. Absolutely first class. My wife, who did safaris in East Africa, said these were the best guides she had experienced. All told, five star game viewing, three star accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

The lodge was modern and in a beautiful setting. However it was far from the chobe game park and it took a long time to drive there and back. The national park closed at 6:30 and there was not time to get to where the animals were and out of the park before closing. They said night drives but it was only one road which was available with little game to see. No night drives allowed in the National park

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aureliaNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

During our 14 night safari trip this was the only lodge we stayed in. We wanted to visit Chobe National Park because of the large volume of game.
Muchenje is located in Chobe Forest Reserve, on the western side outside the National Park. While the lodge has a lovely location on a height and with great views of the Chobe River, we were disappointed with our stay. The rooms were fine - thatched chalets with en suite facilities and private balconies. However, we felt that the quality of the guides was very poor. Certainly they seemed to be lacking in knowledge and enthusiasm. We also found that the general atmosphere too formal compared with a smaller camp setting. Finally, the shower did not drain and I had to unblock it by removing a huge plug of hair from the drain- I wonder how well the shower had been cleaned in the past!
We personally feel that this lodge is better for groups rather than couples. We spent 2 nights here and there was a large group travelling together on both days while we were the only couple. For couples, the smaller camps provide much more of the personal touch and you also get to know other guests better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HoneySmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Muchenje is on the Western side of the Chobe national park. It is set on a slight elevation, so has good views across the river into Namibia. Accommodation is in thatched chalets, and is comfortable. Baboons, warthog and other animals come into the lodge, but the main game drives are in the park, which is mainly notable for huge herds of elephant, as well as large herds of zebra, giraffe and antelopes. The Western end has fewer tourists, but the big herds tend to be at the Eastern end, which is also where you need to go for boat trips - well worthwhile for the water birds, crocodiles, and elephants taking mud baths. However, the journey takes only 45 minutes and is on a road through the park, so you can get reasonable sightings on the way to the boat. Food is very good, and drinks are included. Don't rely on the internet here; my Blackberry could get some reception but only occasionally.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Muchenje Safari Lodge was lovely and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Each villa was clean, comfortable and self contained. Every meal had an excellent buffet style arrangement where you could select from many items, some traditional and some more Western. What I particularly liked was that the staff came and ate with you so you got to know each other during your stay. The safaris and the guides were brilliant and you could see the game very close to the jeep because in Chobe hunting is prohibited and the animals are protected by anti-gaming personal. The guides were very knowledgeable about the animals and had fabulous eye sight spotting animals at a great distance.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
0.4 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
60.1 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 20 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
34.9 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
35.3 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muchenje Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muchenje Safari Lodge

Property: Muchenje Safari Lodge
Address: Private Bag K31, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Muchenje Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, Owner run property situated on the edge of the Chobe National park. Our remote location means game drives do not reach the masses that inhibit other Chobe Lodges.Recently upgraded, Muchenje offers Rustic luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Muchenje Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing