We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TraveLodge(Kasane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
344
71
17
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
71
17
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat tripchobe riverflood plaingame drivesthe managerslocal village and schoolother guestsearly morningpicnic lunchfamily roomsuperb viewsfamily styleguide beenight gamekasane airportridge overlookingafternoon drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 443 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2011

The accommodations, the hosts, the safari guides, the food -- everything about our stay was excellent. We were there for 4 days, and enjoyed a full-day safari as well as early morning, evening, and night drives with our capable and pleasant guide Chipo. Her knowledge of the wildlife, including plant life as well as all kinds of animals and birds, was impressive, and she was creative about searching for places to show us animals we had not seen before. Our host was JJ, who did everything possible to welcome us and make us feel at home. We enjoyed meals with the lively and diverse set of guests who shared Muchenje during our stay. We have travelled extensively, though this was our first trip to Africa, and I would recommend Muchenje without reservation to others interested in exploring the fascinating area around Chobe.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginniree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Muchenje is a relatively small lodge at the western end of the park so you are away from the day trips leaving you to enjoy the park almost to yourselves. This was our first safari and all our expectations were exceeded. The guides were enthusiastic and the setup encourages interaction between guests. The accommodation and facilities are ideal and the views over the chobe river are unforgettable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris29_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Our first time in Africa, and we headed straight to Botswana. We stayed for 3 nights. Weather was hot and dry (mid-Sept), but because of the lodge's location on the escarpment ... great breezes, plus amazing views of the Chobe river over to Namibia! Abundant game viewing, and they didn't fill the vehicles right up, so you had room to move around for the best view or to chase some shade if needed. The guides were very knowledgeable and friendly.

Food, accommodation and facilities were all great too. We did the all-day game drive on our first full day - highly recommended! We also did the early morning, afternoon, and night game drives during our stay. Plus we visited a local school and village - also very worthwhile (and humbling).

After Chobe, we travelled to Zambia (Livingstone, Vic Falls) - friends wedding, then Zimbabwe. There's so much more to explore in Africa ... so we'll definitely be going back for another trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisvegasDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

stayed 4 nights, rod and kathy are great hosts, the guides are good, food is great as well as the service. lots of wildlife, not sure how our stay could have better. The chobe river flood plain is great for hippo and crocs. good game walks, night drives are short and out side of the park, but seen some wildlife on one drive.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moisele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

This was my third African safari and by far my favorite. The lodge sits above the Chobe river with views from every room. Lodgings consist of individual cabins which are immaculate and nicely appointed. Management (Cathy and Rod Stedman) cannot do enough to insure your enjoyment. Everything was included in the price including excellent meals, alcohol, laundry, water and guided safaris. They even include transportation from the airport or border at no additional cost. Three safaris a day if you have the stamina. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly. The best part was not encountering traffic jams in the game reserves. Second best was not being nickel and dimed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy31938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews