We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
cyberwolf47
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Camp Savute and we didn't want to leave. The environment is beautiful and peacefull, the staff is very kind and makes you feel very welcome. The tents are very luxurious and the food is great. You even get your own private guide who stays with you all day and explains a lot about Chobe National Park and the wildlife. On your last evening you'll get a private concert which is also very nice and impressive. It's the real African lifestyle and we just loved it! We certainly hope to come back. Special thanks to Lindsay and KG!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberwolf47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
61
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We spent 3 nights at Savute Elephant Camp and loved every minute of it. The guides at all of the camps were great, but our guide at Savuti - Robert - was by far the kindest and most accommodating. He was fabulous. August was a terrific time to visit. It was cool in the morning but warm in the afternoons. There are no bugs in the summer - and no rain. The weather was perfect. The game drives were amazing - leopards and lions were spotted every day. We even spotted a leopard right near the airstrip on our way out of camp. We hope to go back again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kippergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

One morning i woke up and decided to stay in and not go on a game drive. My husband went and I sat on our porch with a book and experienced on of the three most memorable times of our Africa trip. It was cool, in the 70's when it had been in the 100's. I sat and read and watched a herd of antelope walk 20 feet by our tent to go to the water. I Took a shower in the outdoor shower, then sat and read again while elephants, wildebeest and more antelopes drank and frolicked at the water just below our tent. I had my wildlife experience and didn't have to move the cool, quiet porch of our tent. It was heaven.

Room Tip: It is always nice to be the furthest tent from the main lodge. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We loved the camp! Lots of good sightings and fun game drives. July is the perfect time to go because there's no bugs and lots of animals out. Weather is a bit colder due to it being the winter season, but still very enjoyable! Robert was a great guide too!

All the best.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter20274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This was the third of the Orient Express camps we stayed in during our 6 night trip to Botswana and definitely the best for animal viewing. Outside the camp, easily viewed from your own balcony and from the restaurant there is a small river. The moment we arrived we saw elephant bathing, followed by kudu drinking. As we sat on our balcony a huge elephant burst through the undergrowth just below us to eat the tender grass growing at the other side of the electric fence - a very clever use of his trunk. Also, all around the camp were beautiful birds and vervet monkeys. The game drives were magnificent - herds of wildebeest and zebra, a pride of lions including cubs, and of course more elephants. The rooms are excellent with all facilities - as good as a first class hotel. The food was imaginative - tapas for lunch and excellent dinners including a boma. Great service from the managers and the guides - thank you Nesto!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank notacouchpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

This is definitely a luxury camp; there was even air condition in our tent! Great views from your balcony of the river and all the animals that comes by to drink. We had a menu to choose from which was a nice change from buffet meals. Breakfast was brought to our room with our 5:30AM wake up call, we felt spoilt. As for the game drives, I have to say they were quite boring. You are not allowed to go off road in this National Park, so not much excitement and you have to view the animals from a distance, if you find them at all. Luxurious accommodations, nice staff, disappointing game drives.

Room Tip: There is internet access in the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Islandgirlep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeki Wachee, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

This was one of our favorite trips....you truly feel a part of the scenery as this area is very untouched if you will. Excellent sightseeing adventure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadetdig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
13.5 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
259 reviews
60.5 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
450 reviews
87.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 21 in Chobe National Park
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 21 in Chobe National Park
129 reviews
89.8 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#13 of 21 in Chobe National Park
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#10 of 21 in Chobe National Park
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge

Property: Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge
Address: Savute Channel, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Phone Number:
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the very heart of a wildlife reserve, Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge is authentic and truly wild - the perfect place to feel the pulse of Botswana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savute Elephant Camp By Orient-Express Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing