We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing First Safari!”
Review of Chobe Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chobe Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2009

We went to Chobe Game Lodge as part of our honeymoon.

We had never been on a safari before and we really did not know what to expect. I have to admit when we arrived and told that we would be called at 0530 I did wonder whether this was a good idea!!

We were not disappointed!!

Your time is split between game drives (0600-0830 and 1530-1800) and a river cruise (1030 – 1230). These were amazing. We saw so much. Hippos, Elephants, Baboons, Lions Giraffes, Crocodiles, many many birds including fish eagles and vultures.....the list is endless. Our guide Mr Bean (due to the translation of his native name) was quite fantastic. He was a true ranger who knew where and when to find animals. The highlight was seeing 2 young leopards (solitary creatures) at a water hole. Even Mr Bean was in awe. There was food and drink available (included) in all game drives and river cruises. Sundowners in the park, watching the leopards, is something we will never forget.

We did at times get a bit frustrated by the behaviour of some of our fellow visitors. Please follow the instructions of your guide. They know how the animals behave and climbing out of the vehicle to take photos will scare them away!! (the animals, not the guides!). We got the most amazing photos from within the open sided jeep. The guides are so proud of their wildlife and will do their absolute best to show you what they can. Please do not dictate what you should see. They are the experts and will show you EVERYTHING that is on offer!

The hotel itself was good. On it’s own would not be excellent but the views from all the rooms and the ability to stumble across warthogs and Impala between your room and the bar was quite amazing!! As a base to Chobe Park it was quite fantastic; as a hotel, very good. Please be aware that the mini bar in your room is INCLUDED!!!!
A great honeymoon, not the most relaxing (due to the early alarm call!!) but we did not regret in any way the few lie ins we lost to get the photos and memories we did.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sailors1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 953 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2009

Excellent lodge in a very good position down on the river. Elephant viewing on safari is the absolute highlight of Chobe but we also saw several lions, hippos,crocs and fabulous birds. The facilities at the hotel were very good with our 10 and 12yr old daughters enjoying cooling off in the pool.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogers-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised. Chobe Game Lodge was much more than we could have ever expected. The staff was fantastic, the trackers were awesome, the safaris were amazing, the food was delicious, the lodge and rooms - gorgeous! Mr. Bean was our tracker on all of our safaris. He was awesome!! Chobe Game Lodge happens to be the only game lodge set inside of the Chobe National Park. Everyone else has to wait in line to get in and out of the park.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DollfaceLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

My husband and my parents stayed at Chobe Game Lodge for 3 nights late June 2009. We had a fantastic time and saw an incredible array of animals - lions, elephants, giraffe, hippo, crocs, the list goes on. Even the grounds of the Lodge are teaming with smaller wildlife. The sunsets are wonderful. The staff were very attentive and the personalised service is second-to-none - nothing is ever too much trouble. We had our own guide for the entire time and she was great. The rooms are really lovely and nothing beats sitting on the balcony overlooking the river when you find a moment to sit and relax. Only negative I can say - you will probably put on weight here because the food is simply amazing and days basically consist of sleeping, early game-drive, breakfast, morning boat-cruise, lunch, afternoon game drive, dinner, sleep. It is non-stop but worth every penny. Highly recommended for once-in-lifetime adventure.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lsnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

This was the first stop on our safari and in Botswana. It's got plentiful wildlife and the sunset cruise along the Chobe river was great! We really got to see the animals being active at dusk. Lots of birds too.

The rooms were small but clean, pretty and well maintained. My roommate and I didn't have any issues, but our other two friends found a frog in their toilet and a nest of spiders under the sink... not quite sure where or how they got there.

The food is plentiful and most of it is pretty tasty. If it's seafood choice night, go for the calamari, the fish was alright, a little oily. Their game meats are usually prepared nicely.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Chobe Game Lodge - we thought it was the best!! They kept you busy with morning and late afternoon game drives and the mid-afternoon boat excursion. Loved that they kept us with one guide throughout our stay. Food and service were excellent - hope to visit again someday.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandM95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

My wife, older son and I had the wonderful experience of staying at the Chobe Game Lodge located within the Chobe National Park in Botswana which is a definite advantage for game viewing especially early in the morning.

The rooms were clean and roomy, the food excellent, and the game drives always exciting. There were warthogs wandering around the property during the day which makes for a very unique picture! The hotel staff and guides are friendly and very accommodating to your requests. Chobe Game Lodge rates right up there with the luxury resorts in Kruger National Park in South Africa.

I would highly recommend Chobe Game Lodge to families, couples or individuals who desire a luxury game lodge experience in Chobe National Park. The third party transportation with Wild Horizons to and from the Victoria Falls or Livingston Airports is excellent and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simmrouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
6.7 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
25.1 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
502 reviews
69.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#17 of 21 in Chobe National Park
29 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#19 of 21 in Chobe National Park
48 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#4 of 21 in Chobe National Park
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Game Lodge

Address: Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: $171 - $1,946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chobe Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesquely situated 100 km west of the Victoria Falls, overlooking the Chobe River and the Caprivi floodplains, the iconic Chobe Game Lodge is the only permanent safari lodge within the Chobe National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chobe Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Game Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing