We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!!”
Review of Chobe Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chobe Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Chobe Game Lodge - we thought it was the best!! They kept you busy with morning and late afternoon game drives and the mid-afternoon boat excursion. Loved that they kept us with one guide throughout our stay. Food and service were excellent - hope to visit again someday.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandM95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

739 - 745 of 953 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2009

My wife, older son and I had the wonderful experience of staying at the Chobe Game Lodge located within the Chobe National Park in Botswana which is a definite advantage for game viewing especially early in the morning.

The rooms were clean and roomy, the food excellent, and the game drives always exciting. There were warthogs wandering around the property during the day which makes for a very unique picture! The hotel staff and guides are friendly and very accommodating to your requests. Chobe Game Lodge rates right up there with the luxury resorts in Kruger National Park in South Africa.

I would highly recommend Chobe Game Lodge to families, couples or individuals who desire a luxury game lodge experience in Chobe National Park. The third party transportation with Wild Horizons to and from the Victoria Falls or Livingston Airports is excellent and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simmrouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Chobe Game Lodge is described in Lonely Planet as the Pinnacle of Luxury in Botswana. We were therefore expecting real 5 star standards and very much looking forward to our stay. However, the lodge was built in the 1970s and whilst it has been well maintained, the rooms are far from being 5 star. They are small, dated and need an urgent refurbishment. Nevertheless, the views over the Chobe River and beyond make up for this. It is also the only lodge located within the Chobe National Park with all rooms overlooking the river front - absolutely stunning sunsets!

The lodge is sold on an all inclusive basis and offers superb value for money for that reason - we did not have to put our hands in our pockets once and got great service, good food and good quality wine (as well as copious G&Ts!). You also get 3 activities included each day which are either a game drive or river cruise. This was my third safari experience (others in South Africa) and it was by far the best. The variety of game is superb and the guides very knowledgeable and friendly.

Would definitely recommend but don't expect 5 Star Luxury. The views, service and game drives will more than make up for this though!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

It was while now back in April 2006 but stayed here for one night and one night only . What a fantastic lodge it was so beautiful . We did a tour round south africa, botswana and zimbabwe ( spell check ) .
This hotel was best thing about our stay altho Cape town is fab place but the wildlife here . I did get chased by monkey's through the lodge but my fault as trid to feed them lol the staff thought it was so funny when I jumped on reception desk screaming hehe . The staff are fab so friendly .
The animals around you are great we sat for ages just watching the monkeys by the pool . Be warned thought keep your things out of there sight as they stole lipstick from womans handbag ( very enteratining though ) . The warthogs around lodge are gorgeous too.
You can hear the hippos in the river . And the sunsets are amazing we all sat quietly and watched a big orange sun fade into the river just amazing.
The food was excellent . Buffet slection huge al my favourite types of things pasta's , salads, rice so much choice.
Then you sit outside with lanterns, and sounds of the river and enjoy with good company
fantastic.

Chobe game is beautiful we saw quite a few animals . My mind is getting bit blured as we did two games when out there but anything anyone wants to ask feel free and I will check my dates and answer .

I love africa the wildlife, the people, the culture, the scenary just amazing.

Stayed: April 2006
Thank pheobe1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

My daughter and I spent 3 nights here- it was superb. The rooms were well appointed, incuding big fluffy bath robes and a free mini bar. Laundry was returned the same day.
There were 2 land rover trips and a river trip available each day, led by very knowledgeable guides, and we saw lots of game, in spite of it being the rainy season. The grounds of the lodge are extremely well kept, and were visited by families of mongooses and warthogs. The pool was good, although there was not much time to use it if you went on all the game viewing trips as we did.
The food was plentiful, although it was sometimes difficult to see what you were eating at dinner- it was dimly lit to avoid problems with insects.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cardiffwelshtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Elephants and hippos galore, what a great place Chobe river is when the sun goes down. you can really get up close to the big game either via Chobe River or on a game drive. lots of other game to see as well as a huge variety of birds.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

I really enjoyed my overall stay in Chobe. The resort was very nice and clean. The customer service was also really nice. I am rating it a little bit lower due to the fact that I was very uncomfortable with the food. The meals there are all inclusive and in the form of a buffet. Most of the time they had one main meal that they served and a good selection salads and fruits. Unfortunately, I am allergic to shrimp and shelfish. I was very unconfortable that they cooked my food on the same grill (without cleaning it) as they did food that included shelfish. I also didn't like that they did not have a TV in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Renata_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
6.7 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
25.1 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
502 reviews
69.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#17 of 21 in Chobe National Park
29 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#19 of 21 in Chobe National Park
48 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#4 of 21 in Chobe National Park
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Game Lodge

Address: Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: $171 - $1,946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chobe Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesquely situated 100 km west of the Victoria Falls, overlooking the Chobe River and the Caprivi floodplains, the iconic Chobe Game Lodge is the only permanent safari lodge within the Chobe National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chobe Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Game Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing