We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cats and more cats”
Review of Chobe Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chobe Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our 3rd DDS camp and more of a hotel than Leroo Le Tau (12 rooms, thatched roof) or Camp O (12 rooms, tents) so initially a bit of a culture shock.. as this is definitely a hotel not a camp.
Our guide Lynn was excellent, within 15 minutes of setting off, a leopard had been spotted and off we went in search.. he was still sitting in his tree as we arrived, shortly afterwards 3 lionesses wandered under the tree.
More lions were spotted on our subsequent drives, including a lioness with her cubs. We witnesses lion attacks, the first on an impala which escaped, the second on a baby buffalo who had become separated from the herd, and did not recover.
River cruise also interesting with a chance to get close to the crocs, warthogs wandered around the grounds in the afternoons.
Thank you to the lady on the Activity desk, I mentioned in passing that our daughter would be celebrating her 18th at the Falls, not only was a card and platter delivered to her room, but our dinner was special as well - a private table on the sundeck with a cake and the staff singing Happy Birthday - an evening we will always remember.
Mention should also be made of the exceptional service provided by the Airlink staff, all transfers were great, and when our son (20!) left his sunglasses on a Cessna, they arrived at Chobe the next day.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Louise1960_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Despite our size we do our best to offer a very personal touch with warm friendly staff and passionate teams here at the lodge ready to make your experience here in Chobe a special one.

A combination of Botswana circuit with Desert & Delta is indeed a bonus as we indeed offer unrivalled safari experience.

Once again many thanks for the feedback and for staying at Chobe Game Lodge.

Warm wishes from all the Chobe team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 966 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

simply stunning place with fabulous female game drivers,,on the boats and trucks, and they were awesome! it is a big place but lots of lovely get away places and there is a big deck to sit overlooking the river . saw lots of hippos, giraffes, elephants, zebras, crocs,lions..actually saw 2 'kills' with lions which was amazing, lion cubs [ super cute]. leopards..it has it all . wonderful food and service. would go back in a flash! You can actually go there as a day trip from victoria falls..so if you are on limited time I would definitely do it ..the animals you will see will blow your mind!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiikay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are proud to be the only property with a compliment of female safari guides and have done a lot to boost women empowerment in Botswana. Chobe is an excellent park for cats as reports of leopard & lion sightings are common here as well as occasional wild dogs and not to mention the largest concentration of elephant in Africa.

Until we say “Welcome back!” stay well.

The entire Team at Chobe Game Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Superb location, plenty of wildlife both in and out of grounds. Safari and river cruises excellent.
Rooms spacious clean and well appointed.
Service good, buffet meal were sufficient but not spectacular.
Bar small and no entertainment.
However I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRGR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Many thanks for a wonderful review about us, as ‘another to be added on the bucket list’.... 
We hope to welcome you back to experience it again. Many thanks for the recommendation!

Warm wishes, Chobe Game Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I and my wife enjoyed staying at Chobe Game Lodge for an occasion such as honeymoon trip. We understood completely why the Chobe Game Lodge was recommended so much.

Upon arrival at Kasane Airport in the afternoon, an elephant family welcomed us in the park on the way to the lodge. The game drive already started while we are approaching to the lodge.

Staffs always paid attention in detail during our whole stay and we could join the boat safari upon arrival. If you would stay at some lodges outside Chobe National Park, you won't be able to catch the first activity on the first day especially when you arrive at Kasane afternoon.

Since we approached in the middle of Chobe National Park as a base location, then we can easily approach to any far location by boat safari and game drive where we could see lions family twice and leopard once. In addition, a lot of elephant, impala, hippo, buffalo, giraffe, crocodile, monkey, zebra and etc. also welcomed us in the park. From early morning till late evening, you can feel beauty of Chobe National Park.

As a remarkable thing, especially one of the charming ladies, Ms. Chipo worked so hard for us and found out the a lot of animals before sun rise till sun set. She kindly explained what is the wild life of those animals. Her skills was very high in finding the animals in the boat and on the safari car. Sometimes she couldn't find so much but by looking at her attitude we were so much comfortable whenever she stayed with us because she was always feeling our expectations and challenging to meet our demand. It seems not only Chipo but also other staffs skills seemed to be very high. They always communicate with each other in order to meet our expectations in the park and the lodge.

After a series of Ms. Chipo's challenges, we could see an amazing scene where hippo, elephant, giraffe, impala and crocodile gathered in one spot. When the big elephant family came down to the river while hippo sleeping and swimming, we were right in front of that place. It was the scene only in 20 mins from the boat safari. If we would stay at the different lodge outside Chobe National Park, we won't be able to see such short unpredictable wild life.

After the stay at the Chobe Game Lodge, we moved to Victoria Falls by car which was arranged by Desert & Delta Safaris. Their arrangement was always perfect. It was safe trip and not far from Chobe National Park at all. We also recommend to those who are visiting Victoria Falls should visit the Chobe Game Lodge.

We could see some animals around Victoria Falls but it was not the same feeling as we felt in Chobe National Park.

We just want to say thank you so much again to the people and hospitality provided at Chobe Game Lodge.

Room Tip: Our suite room was located on a higher floor and has got a private swimming pool with nice dining ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Supercub-96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for the time in detailing it all and know that all the staff at the Lodge read the reviews and it goes a very long way to keeping everyone so passionate about what we do.

We are very grateful for the kind message. Indeed there is a passionate, dedicated team here and our location inside the Chobe National Park situated along the Chobe River is quite special. Game viewing is world-class and the guiding experience is fundamental to the safari here at Chobe Game Lodge and in Botswana and we pride ourselves on a passionate staff like Chipo and will share with her your inspiring review… :-) 

It will be with our great pleasure to welcome you here again in future – Chobe Game Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is more of a thank you than a review and my heart skips a beat every time i think of the most incredible time i spent with my Chobe Family.

It was like nothing i have ever experienced before and from arrival to departure i felt spoilt and looked after by some very special people. Vincent, your team at Chobe are INCREDIBLE and whatever you are doing to attain such a high level of service and excellence please keep doing it. I have absolutely nothing to add that would of made my stay better, and the people who have negative comments about this BREATHTAKING lodge were obviously not staying at the same place i was.

The private dinner on our deck was the highlight of my stay and i would recommend it for couples looking for a special night or would like to pop that very special question :-)
Vivian and LG (my Chobe mama's) i have missed you everyday since leaving Chobe and i frequently look at your smiley faces and can't wait to return and see you again.

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU is all i can say!!

Until we meet again my Chobe Family......keep up the amazing service!!

George

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 205 with a private pool and deck overlooking the river. Would definitely recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geominnaar32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Markerting Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear George & Nick,

Thank you so much for this heart-warming review indeed.

We are happy that you got to experience and enjoy all the different ingredients that an unforgettable safari that Chobe Game Lodge is all about. We will continue to offer our guests this whole range of memorable and INCREDIBLE experiences. We all pride ourselves with being attentive and we all work hard to make sure we bring a wow factor to all our guests. It was truly a
pleasure chatting with you about your daily adventures here.. :-)
The team passes their kind regards and they look forward to welcoming you back to Chobe soon and thank you very much for your kind review!

Wild wishes from your FAMILY at Chobe Game Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The lodge/pool area was beautiful and luxurious, as expected. The food was good and much of it (especially the buffet) was exotic. Crocodile, ostrich, and about every type of antelope was on the menu.

Game viewing was phenominal here. In 3 days we saw about 700 elephant, a couple of thousand buffalo, and other species too numerous to count. We were even lucky enough to see a lioness chasing a wart hog- the real lucky one was the wart hog, since he got away.

Game drives are a must here. We asked for, and were granted, a night drive which allowed us to see a whole new world of creatures. What a place!

Room Tip: Beware of the monkeys on the way to the eating areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Markertig Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Nothing beats the experience you had while you were here – unique to Chobe..!

Great game viewing is an indispensable ingredient for a truly memorable safari experience and Chobe National Park is indeed a special park for abundant population of ‘Ellies’. We put a lot of work into ensuring we deliver the best possible experience for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Chobe soon and thank you very much for your kind review!

The entire Chobe Game Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We enjoyed our two-night stay at Chobe Game Lodge with our two daughters, son, and teenage grandsons. The setting is breathtaking, and the decor and amenities leave nothing to be desired right down to the complimentary mini-bar in our rooms and the spacious patios outside. Our guide on the drives and the river cruise was Lebo and she was informative, charming, and gracious. Lebo was extremely skilled at locating all the wonderful animals and birds and telling us about their habits and habitats. Meals were offered buffet-style and there were many tasty items to choose from. We would have preferred a few served meals that were cooked to order, but the presentation was lovely and sometimes elegant. Everyone associated with the lodge was welcoming and really helpful so our only regret was that our stay was too short.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BandB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

We are glad to know that you will always remember the special time you had in Chobe. We will pass on your great appreciation of everything to the team from cuisine, accommodation and your wonderful, knowledgeable guide Lebo..!

All the very best wishes and we look forward to welcoming you and family back in the near future for another safari adventure.

From all of us at Chobe Game Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
6.7 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
25.1 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
509 reviews
69.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#15 of 21 in Chobe National Park
31 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#20 of 21 in Chobe National Park
50 reviews
9.7 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#21 of 21 in Chobe National Park
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Game Lodge

Address: Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: $238 - $4,816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chobe Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesquely situated 100 km west of the Victoria Falls, overlooking the Chobe River and the Caprivi floodplains, the iconic Chobe Game Lodge is the only permanent safari lodge within the Chobe National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chobe Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Game Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing