We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Game Lodge & great female driver/guide”
Review of Chobe Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chobe Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Game Lodge & great female driver/guide”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The lodge is beautiful- Staff incredibly friendly and helpful, food was good too!
Loved the Game Lodge "Lawn Mowers"... wart hogs roaming around! :D
Our favorite part was the Safari Cruise on the Chobe River. Great game viewing on the land safaris too.Rooms big, clean, nicely decorated but basic.
This was the 1st time we had a female driver/guide- her name was Lebo and she was wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TucsonCruising27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you have such wonderful memories of your safari vacation.

The team at Chobe Game Lodge takes much satisfaction in creating all these special touches and we are truly warmed by your appreciative words. Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your comments and thank you for not giving away our secrets! Our Chobe Angels (lady guides)are our pride and are continuing to support this team to be one of the most quality guiding units in the region. We will be sure to share this review with Lebo.

We look forward to your return to your now African home.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Chobe Game Lodge Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    165
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
188
414
61
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Chobe Game Park is in the National Park in Botswana. People, food and accommodation were amazing. We were allocated a suite with bedroom, lounge, outside dining area and own plunge pool. We gazed on to the lawn at warthogs with babies which were comical to watch. Game safaris were at 5.30am and 3.30pm each day with a sail on the Chobe River at 10.30am. We saw all the big five, including a leopard, which ambled out of the bush and in front of our vehicle! There were many colourful birds which could be seen from the river as well as crocodiles and hippos splashing in the water. During dinner at night the staff gave an amazing performance of singing and dancing, truly an African experience. One night a dance troupe from Kasane performed.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Chobe. It should have been longer and Vincent, a manager, agreed with us. I hope Vincent remembers Snowdrop would write a review.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowdrop67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dearest Dave & Ruth,

We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and you are truly missed by the whole team!

The Chobe team look forward to welcoming you back to your African home very soon and all the adventures that await you. We are so warmed by your wonderful message and thank you for taking the time to share your fond memories. From my part, it was truly a pleasure meeting you and sharing all my safari experience and about our properties.

Best Wishes & Warmest Regards until next time,

The entire Team at Chobe Game Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I came to Chobe because I was told I'd see lots of hippos. We sure did and so many other animals too: elephants with their young, swimming and having mud baths, baboons grooming and playing, giraffes elegantly walking along reaching for leaves high on trees and lions. Then on the river cruises we saw so many beautiful birds. Food and accommodation lived up to the reviews of others. We were there only 2 days. Could spend a week there as there was so much to see and do. Very beautiful and relaxing place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
It is always helpful for future guest to read comments directly from guests who have stayed with us before and experienced our unique style for themselves and we see on your review this has been the case.

We are happy that you got to experience and enjoy all the different ingredients that an unforgettable safari that Chobe Game Lodge is all about and we will continue to offer our guests this whole range of memorable experiences.

It will be with our great pleasure to welcome you here again in future – Chobe Game Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Rooms were large a bit basic considering we were used to staying in 5 and 4 star hotels on this organised trip but they had all the amenities despite being in a national park which we thought would be very rustic!! Meals were buffet and served in the outside dinning room the lighting at dinner was oil lamps I imagine to minimise the attraction of bugs. This did make it difficult to see what you were eating depending on where you sat at the table however the food was nothing fancy but lots of choice.
Thoroughly enjoyed both afternoon and early morning game drives which allowed us to see a varied amount of animals from the open side 4x4 vehicles. Our second day we had a sunset cruise on the river Chobe which allowed us to see a variety of animals which come down to the river at sundown. There were also many birds pointed out to us by the narrator on the boat and we were given ample opportunity to photograph and enjoy the wildlife in their natural habitat. An very enjoyable stay and the opportunity to see animals in there own habitat which we would never have been able to see otherwise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BishopDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and all turned to be a surprise indeed..!

We do our best to cater for everyone when it comes to dining and offer a range of different menus, meals and venues whenever we can. Recently we experienced too much rains that we could not utilise most of our dining location around the lodge. Overall we do thank you sincerely for staying with us. The feedback is appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to enjoy our hospitality and unique safaris in the future.

Greetings from the Chobe Game Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was our first stop on our first visit to Botswana and we couldn't have been happier. Our end room was just super, with its own plunge pool (use by a kingfisher too) and plenty of space.
The food was always first class and the staff could not have been more friendly; they have the amazing ability to remember guests' names after the first encounter, which makes one feel really welcome.
Game drives and river cruises were very productive; we had great views of many birds and animals.
WiFi works in the lobby only.

Room Tip: Try to get the Elizabeth Taylor/Richard Burton suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful words. It means a lot to all of us here at Chobe Game Lodge and we really appreciate you spending the time to write a review. We would love to welcome you back to our African Home in the future and would be delighted to offer you Liz Taylor & Richard Burton suite whenever is available again.

Best wishes and warmest regards,

Your Family in Chobe..!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Chobe Game Lodge is just that - accessible grandeur! We spent 2 nights there and loved every moment of it. The Lodge is the only one situated in the Chobe Game Reserve and has access to all the best sightings!

Right on the water for fabulous lunch and sunset cruises around hippos, elephants, crocs and more - this lodge is well worth staying at. It is known as the only lodge in Botswana (maybe Africa) that employs all female guides! A wonderful inititaive to increase gender equality and ecomonic empowerment! As a gender specialist - this point needs no further convincing for me.

The site is divine with long stretches of walkways across the water with amazing views and warthogs and baboons helping guide the way. Dinner was by candlelight along the many tree top desks! The service was spectaular and you could tell everyone loved to be a part of the team! Definitely a must do when in Kasane!

Room Tip: There will be renovating their bathrooms soon, so try and get a room with a new bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinLynn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Erin,

Thank you for bringing even bigger SMILES to our faces with this lovely amazing review. Nothing beats the experience you had while you were here – unique to Chobe!

We are delighted that you absolutely enjoyed your stay with us and found the accommodation, food, location, animal sightings and staff all EXCELLENT. We will be sure to share your remarkable experience with our staff. It was truly a pleasure chatting with you about ‘Yoga Groups’ coming for retreats, it will be an absolute pleasure seeing you accompanying them here.

Until we meet again…!

Wild Wishes from your Chobe Game Lodge Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is the 'must go' destination in Botswana. OK, the Okavango Delta is probably more special, but Chobe Game Lodge is in a class of its own. It was great to have been spoiled with a suite, with our own infinity plunge pool! The welcome, excellent guiding (Vivian was great - highly knowledgeable - both mammals and birds) and the very good cuisine all combine to make this an unforgettable experience. Being the only lodge in the National Park (it was there before the National Park was created!) is a real advantage. The game viewing (by Land Cruiser and by boat on the Chobe river) is without parallel, even in the rainy season when there is much more vegetation than in, say, October, which was when I was last in Chobe. It might make leopard harder to see, but with two lion prides within 10k on this trip we were not disappointed. For bird watchers, this is one of the world's best locations. We saw 60 species in four days, without even trying (with my favourite, the African Fish Eagle, much in evidence). There is also the advantage of being close to Victoria Falls, another 'must-go' destination. What else can I say?

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Those on the 'top' floor have a better view of the Chobe river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_Archer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for this amazing review. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us here in Chobe and it is indeed a ‘must go’ destination in Botswana.

We can't wait for your next visit! We will hold our fort tight and blow you away once again with our passion and enthusiasm upon return!

We further appreciate your wonderful remarks you had to say about your Vivian – she is truly amazing. We will share your sentiments with her and all of the team. Hope you cherish your memories of this very special time at Chobe forever.

Best wishes, Chobe Game Lodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
6.7 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
13.8 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
452 reviews
69.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
452 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
444 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 21 in Chobe National Park
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Game Lodge

Property: Chobe Game Lodge
Address: Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chobe Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesquely situated 100 km west of the Victoria Falls, overlooking the Chobe River and the Caprivi floodplains, the iconic Chobe Game Lodge is the only permanent safari lodge within the Chobe National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chobe Game Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing