We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Chobe Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chobe Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Fantastic! The staff was kind and helpful. The rooms where well appointed and comfortable and the property was fantastic. The decks overlooking the river, champagne on the furthest deck in the afternoon, dinner out on the candle lit deck at night. A great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We thank you for your marvellous review of our very special place in Chobe!

It means so much to the whole team to receive such warm and complimentary words and truly makes us feel proud to hear about the incredible experience you enjoyed at our very special lodge! We do hope to welcome you home in the near future and treat you to an even more special experience!

The entire Team at Chobe Game Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 947 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were 2 couples and enjoyed our time at Chobe Game Lodge very much. The location on the river and the property grounds are amazing. The staff were friendly and helpful The game drives and the 2 river cruises, and sunsets were fabulous. The entertainment by a group of Afircan singers/dancers was great. We saw lots of different animals but we missed seeing the leopard. We did however see one them in Moremi Park. The meals and drinks were generous and generally of good quality (A couple of the steak dishes were tough and some salads did not always look appealing). The rooms were very comfortable, however the airconditioning was not very effective. I would suggest removing the doonas from beds as just too hot. We had a wonderful time and would recommend Chobe Game Lodge (even though very expensive).

Room Tip: If travelling when hot, ask for a room on lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank soniap57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your lovely words and wonderful review of our African Home, it means so much to us here at Chobe.

We genuinely appreciate your comments regarding some steak dishes and duvets from the beds. We discussed it with the relevant departments. Normally the air-conditioning is very effective however we are experiencing extreme heat at the moment. It seems it was the hottest week of the year during that time so some of the air-conditioning units struggled. As soon as the imminent first rains arrive it will cool the area considerably.

We look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Kind regards from Chobe Game Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have just arrived home to Western Australia from a 3 week holiday in Botswana and South Africa. Chobe Game Lodge was the highlight of this holiday for me. I also loved the Moremi and Okavango camps and left the bush with tears in my eyes, feeling so sad to leave. Watching the YouTube clip will show you exactly the service, splendour and generous kindness we experienced here, and the guides were amazing. We were pampered, educated and treated as honoured guests. Nothing was too much trouble. I really hope that we can return as I think I left a little bit of my heart there in Chobe.

Room Tip: Some rooms have their own infinity pool if you can afford it but heck most of the time you will be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

The entire family here thank you so much for sharing your Chobe experience with the world!

Nothing makes us happier than knowing we have touched the hearts of those that have stayed with us. We wish you and your family everything of the best and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our beautiful lodge soon.
Thank you for mentioning the video and feel welcome to follow us on our Facebook for the current happenings.

Sending you some African sun,
Chobe Game Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were there in September 13 for 3 nights. Our guide Chippo was the best!! The hotel is spectacular as is the service and food. We esp enjoyed the river cruises where elephants & hippos abound. We took videos of the elephants crossing the river, something that I had never seen before. You will not be disappointed!! Donna M

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DonnaMM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Donna M,

We are delighted you have had such a wonderful, unforgettable safari vacation that will live on in your memories, especially the ellies crossing the river how amazing…! It means so much to all of us here, knowing we are giving our guests the most memorable time when we get such a wonderful review.

We look forward to welcoming you back with open arms in the near future, Chipo is sending her kindest regards to you.

Warm wishes from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at Chobe Game Lodge. I would suggest you stay longer to enjoy all the excellent facilities and activities. On arrival we received a personal welcome & orientation from Maggie. This was the best welcome we have received anywhere. She then continued to make sure that we were kept informed of everything during our stay and, with other staff, waved us goodbye as we left. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and well maintained with great views.The staff were all friendly and very helpful. Food was plentiful with a broad range of dishes to cater to all tastes. Our guides on various activities, Gobe, Goa & Lynne, all had excellent knowledge and made our game drives and boat cruises special. The range of wildlife we encountered at Chobe was impressive. After 2 days the only animal we hadn't seen was a rhino.Great place to experience but would recommend a stay longer than 2 days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your special words. It means so much to all of us here at Chobe and we really appreciate you spending the time to write this
review.

Maggie is a shining star and we are glad she immensely contributed to the wonderful experience you had while you were here with us. We will be sure to share the motivating comments with your guides as well. Game viewing is still amazing at the moment and we would love to welcome you back to our bush paradise again.

Best wishes from the Team at Chobe Game Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Chobe Game Lodge is the only lodge inside the Chobe National Park and is located on the bank of the Chobe River so no time is wasted driving to the park to enjoy the animals. Upon arrival we were met with a cooling towel and a cold drink then given a brief orientation of the camp and our planned activities for our two day stay. Our actives include a sunset boat ride, morning and afternoon game drives and a morning boat cruise. The highlight of our morning boat cruise was seeing a herd of elephants crossing the river and our sunset cruise allowed us to watch several hippos playfully fighting. The staff was friendly, helpful and professional with all the food cooked to order. Because it is a national park we were not allowed to leave the road to view the animals and we shared the park with other visitors. Certainly a memorable visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

We are taken aback by your kind words!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our special lodge and for choosing to stay with us. It means so much to all of us here, knowing we are giving our guests the most memorable time when we get such a wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back with your friends next time for another safari adventure.

It is always helpful for future guest to read comments directly from guests who have stayed with us before and experienced our unique style for themselves and your note is very helpful.

Wild wishes,

From all of us at Chobe Game Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in September 2013 with my father. The Lodge is in a fantastic location being on the banks of the Chobe river and the quality of the buildings and service is outstanding. When I was there my father was really quite unwell from the journey (nothing to do with the Lodge) and the staff were really really fantastic in the care and support they offered. In particular the Lodge manager was outstanding and if I could give the lodge a 6 I would. Service and staff were excellent - thank you for great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are so happy that you had a great stay here with us at Chobe and thought our staff was fantastic and provided excellent service. We try very hard to make sure each and every guest has the best experience possible! We hope your father has recovered and we wish him all the best.

It will be a pleasure welcoming you back again!

The entire Team at Chobe Game Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
6.7 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
69.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
272 reviews
25.1 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#15 of 21 in Chobe National Park
29 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 21 in Chobe National Park
306 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#20 of 21 in Chobe National Park
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Game Lodge

Address: Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: $170 - $1,943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chobe Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesquely situated 100 km west of the Victoria Falls, overlooking the Chobe River and the Caprivi floodplains, the iconic Chobe Game Lodge is the only permanent safari lodge within the Chobe National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chobe Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Game Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing