We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chobe Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chobe Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in September 2013 with my father. The Lodge is in a fantastic location being on the banks of the Chobe river and the quality of the buildings and service is outstanding. When I was there my father was really quite unwell from the journey (nothing to do with the Lodge) and the staff were really really fantastic in the care and support they offered. In particular the Lodge manager was outstanding and if I could give the lodge a 6 I would. Service and staff were excellent - thank you for great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are so happy that you had a great stay here with us at Chobe and thought our staff was fantastic and provided excellent service. We try very hard to make sure each and every guest has the best experience possible! We hope your father has recovered and we wish him all the best.

It will be a pleasure welcoming you back again!

The entire Team at Chobe Game Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    156
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
167
382
55
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
547 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our expectations were exceeded in every way. The staff were incredibly helpful and our room was wonderful with views over the Chobe river. We spent 5 nights and we went on every game drive possible, both land and river and we were thrilled every time with new experiences. We saw so much wild life - animals and birds, and our guides were knowledgable and informative beyond our expectations. Especially our land guide Goa - she shared so much with us and it absolutely made our visit special. Special thanks to the staff who helped make our anniversary a very memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review!

It is as always, great to see how much guests appreciate all the little things that we do to make their stay exceptional. We are happy that you enjoyed your anniversary and that it was a truly memorable stay at Chobe Game Lodge. We will be sure to send your kind words onto all the staff that made your stay and anniversary so memorable. Gao is an amazing guide who shines her love for the bush to all those who meet her, we will be sure to pass on your thanks to her.

We are looking forward to your next visit, maybe the next big anniversary! 

Kind regards from Chobe Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nsw
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

All the staff were amazing, making us feel as welcome as they could. The boat cruises were excellent, our guide was very knowledgeable with all the animals but especially the birds, so we left with a keen interest in the birdlife on the Chobe River. The animal life along the river was very impressive and was indeed the highlight of our stay.Our guide through the National Park was knowledgeable as well and did her best to get us in a good spot when we found the lions, however, word travels fast and it was soon very crowded, which diminishes from the experience. She did stop when ever we wanted a photo or just to sit and watch, and the abundance of baboon, impala, elephant, giraffe etc made our trip exciting. The staff in the lodge were all very helpful and put on a special banquet for us on our last night, down on the boardwalk champagne station, which was truly memorable. Overall I would recommend the Chobe Game Lodge to all, it is indeed a relaxing and beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: Perhaps upstairs may be quieter as we could hear the people above us talking through the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shirley2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and recommendation, it is very much appreciated.

We will pass on your great appreciation of everything to the team, we are glad that you enjoyed your private dinner, one never to forget!

Being in the National Park, which is open to the public and other operators, We do try to conduct our game drives in areas with the least congestion and also try to minimize our impact by sticking to certain areas, however sometimes as you say the word travels fast with the bush telegraph and if the sighting does get crowded we make sure to move away from the area so as not to impact the animals too much.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes, Chobe Game Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Se Qld
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Viewing the abundance of wildlife on the banks of the Chobe river, was a pleasant change after the dusty game drives of Botswana and Namibia.
It never ceases to amaze us with our many previous wildlife game drive safaris, how each experience is always different.
Seeing the many elephants, hippos, buffaloes, huge Nile crocodiles by the water was quite the experience.
The rooms were quite spacious and the quality of the food and service was excellent.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fairly equal regarding facility, some certainly are closer to the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fvm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about us.

We are very pleased to hear that your stay was such a wonderful experience and that you appreciate that Chobe has such a unique wildlife experience. We will be waiting to welcome you back again for your next safari adventure.

Kind Regards from The entire team at Chobe Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great boat cruises. Views of animals on the banks of Chobe river are unforgettable. Park is a bit crowded so every time a leopard or lion is spotted you are surrounded by cars which diminishes the experience. Excellent food and service.

Room Tip: Better view is from upper level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PawelJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are delighted that you appreciated our services and that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Being in the National Park, which is open to the public and other operators, We do try to conduct our game drives in areas with the least congestion and also try to minimize our impact by sticking to certain areas, however sometimes as you say the word travels fast with the bush telegraph and if the sighting does get crowded we make sure to move away from the area so as not to impact the animals too much. We are however in the process of introducing different routes and awaiting approval from local authorities so we anticipate new and different routes for activities very shortly. The routes are longer and visit very different terrains, which we know will make a huge difference to the impact on game drives.

We appreciate your compliments on what we do and look forward to saying “Welcome back!”

Best regards from all of us at Chobe Game Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This accommodation was excellent. First dinner by the river with great entertainment. Unfortunately it was the 5th lodge on our safari tour and we had been spoilt by the number of animals we had seen in the Masai Mara so the sitings here were disappointing. Whilst the river cruise was pleasant and relaxing and a beautiful sunset - one was enough for me. I did not do the final game drive. The drive from Chobe to the border in an open vehicle was rather unpleasant

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamscone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Chobe Game Lodge and enjoyed the African Boma evening. We are a bit disappointed that the sightings did not meet your expectations, Chobe National Park is an iconic unfenced park where animals are left to roam freely, and most visitors are frequently taken aback at the sheer abundance of animals, specifically with regards to large herds of elephant and buffalo that frequently visit the Chobe River front.

With regards to transfer from the lodge to the border, we are very sorry that you felt it was unpleasant. The majority of the 7km journey is within Chobe National Park and open safari vehicles are provided for this experience.

Best wishes from the Team at Chobe Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

In my wildest dreams i would never imagine a place like Chobe Game lodge exists. Everything was just above all my expectations. I had the most amazing 5 days of my life. From the beautiful lodge, breathtaking views from the deck over the Chobe River, the food, the friendly and helpful staff, game drives and boat cruises, everything was just amazing. I have seen all the beautiful game and taken thousands of photos. The best moment will be the evening when 2 male lions visited the hotel. I can recommend Chobe Game Lodge to any person or family for an amazing get away to Africa. I will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh67766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful memories with the Tripadvisor community.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to your return. We will pass on your great appreciation of everything to the entire team. Until next year all the best in all you do.

Warm wishes from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
6.7 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
25.1 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
83.2 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
9.7 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Game Lodge

Property: Chobe Game Lodge
Address: Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chobe Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesquely situated 100 km west of the Victoria Falls, overlooking the Chobe River and the Caprivi floodplains, the iconic Chobe Game Lodge is the only permanent safari lodge within the Chobe National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chobe Game Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing