We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further than Chobe Game Lodge, Thanks Imagine Africa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chobe Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chobe Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Look no further than Chobe Game Lodge, Thanks Imagine Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Chobe Game Lodge is a fantastic lodge that I cannot recommend highly enough. It is the only lodge located within the game reserve. The location could not be more idilic, located right on the waters edge overlooking the Chobe river across into Namibia. Besides the location, the number 1 best thing about this lodge is the staff. Every single member of the team could not have been more hospitable and friendly. On arrival and every time we returned from a game drive we were greeted by name.
Our guide, Thuso, was just brilliant. The lodge is one of the first in Africa to employ female guides. Her knowledge of the animals and the area is excellent. She is great at spotting animals but also very respectful of the animals unlike some of her male colleagues from other lodges.
The lodge has both land safaris and water based trips on the river giving a nice spread of activities.
The rooms are very well appointed and spacious and have a fantastic view out over the river.
The supply of excellent food was never ending from the coffee and muffins before the morning game drive at 5:30, breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, sundowners and finally evening meal, the quality never wavered. We particularly enjoyed the BBQ evening in the boma beside the river. There was a vast spread of excellent food, great live music and a fantastic atmosphere.
Chobe is a great location especially if you want to see large herds of elephants. The reserve is lacking any quantity of cats however.
If you are planning to visit Chobe, make Chobe Game Lodge your place to stay. Our safaris was organized my Imagine Africa, who did a faultless job of our holiday planning from start to finnish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for this truly wonderful review

We will pass the good remarks to the staff and your guide Thuso. We are really proud to have created more awareness and have a high number of females in senior positions here at the lodge and in the company. We are delighted that you appreciated our services and had such an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to saying “Welcome back!”

Best regards from all of us at Chobe Game Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    156
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
167
383
55
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
park city UT
Level Contributor
164 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our stay at the Chobe Game Lodge was the highlight of our trip to Africa. The lodge is situated inside the Chobe National Park which is a massive advantage to staying outside the park boundaries: You can begin earlier and stay later than any other visitors, all of whom must travel from outside the park each day and leave the park in time to be out of the gate by six. We did some of our best game viewing before and after anyone else was even in the park.

The lodge itself is really stunning and is set in a magical spot on a bluff above the Chobe River. The lodge has built an elaborate system of walkways and decks overlooking the river that allow you to watch massive herds of animals come and go to the river. Several afternoons we were able to see herds of several hundred elephants headed won to the river – all while enjoying a glass of champagne on the shaded decks!

The lodge itself is styled as a sort of Moroccan Palace, which somehow doesn’t seem out of place in Botswana. The public areas are large and comfortable and there are plenty of places to relax and enjoy the surroundings, usually with a drink in hand brought to you by one of the many attentive staff members. The rooms, while not large, are very tastefully done and are very comfortable. Each has a private terrace and bath. The rooms are also kept spotlessly clean. One of the highlights of each day was mealtime. The food at the lodge is really amazing, particularly given the remote location. All the meals are served buffet style and the selection was far beyond anything else we saw in Africa. The chefs are really to be commended. The level of training among the staff is almost unbelievably high and is something of which the lodge should be justifiably proud. All the staff seem eager to please the guests and service felt very personalized.

Of course, you are here to see animals and I can say you will not be disappointed. It would take another whole review to discuss the game drives themselves but suffice it to say here we had several moving experiences. No matter how many African mammals you’ve seen in zoos or even at other lodges in small numbers, to see massive herds of elephants, Cape buffalo, hippos and antelope was really the experience of a lifetime. All of us were just stunned at how many animals we saw and how close we were able to come to them. I am sure there are many places in Africa to seem animals but I can tell you that you will absolutely not be disappointed should you choose the Chobe Game Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expeditiondaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentK166, Manager at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
You have just put smiles on our faces with your wonderful review and pictures you shared with the Tripadvisor community.

We feel honoured to hear that our property was the best part of your trip and we totally agree with you… We have a very special location here and the game viewing is spectacular here in
Chobe. We will be sure to commend the Chefs on your behalf as well as all the proud passionate team here at the lodge. You are more than welcome to follow all the latest news from the lodge on facebook.

It will be a pleasure welcoming you and your family back again!

Best wishes from the Team at Chobe Game Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
381 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

You have the river cruises and game drives from here and both are usually successful in finding wildlife. Lots of hippos, elephant, giraffe and baboons. We also saw a honey badger on an early morning game drive. There are no bush babies (hot water bottles) here unlike the smaller D&D lodges so wrap up well in the mornings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welsh_Clarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentK166, Manager at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to put your review on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our beautiful location inside the Chobe National Park sets us apart. Our activities tend to be very successful indeed and we enjoy watching a lot of animals from the lodge’s premises - especially our boardwalk and far viewing deck where elephants can sometimes be seen in their hundreds.

While it does get chilly in the mornings between June and August the Chobe region has a considerably milder winter than the other Desert & Delta Safaris regions. Hot water bottles are much more necessary there.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Chobe Game Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is my second trip to Botswana and second time in this lodge. I absolutely love the views of the Chobe River from this place.

It is the only lodge by the Chobe river inside the national park. Since my first visit in 2010 until now, they built an incredible wooden deck from one side to the other of the lodge, overlooking the Chobe river with breathtaking views and nice corners to relax with nobody around, observing the elephants coming to the river to drink as well as buffalos and other types of antelopes.

Game drives are very nice, although apart from the part around the river, the landscape is more arid in the dry season (when I visited this time) than in the wet season when I went last time when everything was covered in green with flowers. Nonetheless, I adore the boat drives here seeing the hippos, crocodiles and elephants coming to the water to drink. In the wet season you see them playing inside the water as well.

The lodge is not a camp, it is more of a hotel so it does not have tents but rooms, which is a good contrast for the rest of the camps I visited in my trips to Bostwana. Rooms are comfortable with nice balconies over the river. Common areas are great with a nice pool, garden, a couple of bars. Food is very nice with nice morning coffees, breakfasts, lunches and dinners.

Service is very helpful and smiley, especially Maggie, who reminded me from the previous time I was there and is always so attentive and nice. Also Albert from maintenance and security has many interesting stories to tell about the river and the area! We were offered a private dinner in the deck overlooking the river and two buffalos below on our last night as being returning guests, which I absolutely loved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmorlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentK166, Manager at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind detailed review and we are glad that your return stay was such a wonderful experience once again.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again in future. We thoroughly enjoy seeing guests reactions and appreciation of everything from the safari experience, cuisine, accommodation and our service. Maggie will always be a shining star, we will surely
pass your great comments onto her, Albert and the general staff.

Best wishes,

The entire team at Chobe Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

A great stay.Time limits the game drives around meals which can be a but restrictive but we saw an abundance of elephants,giraffe,impala & managed to see a honey badger, lionesses & cubs and a leopard. The cruises are relaxing & informative. Witnessing elephants swim across the river was very special. Thank you to all

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich2111968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentK166, Manager at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Nothing beats the experience you had while you were here – unique to Chobe!

We put a lot of work into ensuring we deliver the best possible experience for our guests. We have introduced extended game drive activities venturing off with packed lunches for guests on longer stays.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Chobe soon and thank you very much for your kind review!

The entire Chobe Game Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This beautiful lodge is situated on the banks of the Chobe River which forms the boundary between Botswana and Namibia. Wildlife abounds. The best viewing is from the boats which offer tours twice a day. We saw herds of elephants drinking, bathing, and even swimming. Giraffes, kudu, baboons also came to drink. Hippos congregated at the edge of the river. One chased our boat.The rangers provided commentary on the wildlife as each species appeared. The Caprivi Flood Plains, located in the middle of the river provide a habitat for many colorful birds as well as monitors and crocs. Many of the animals swim over to Namibia for grazing then return to Botswana. The food is excellent and the staff trained and helpful with special dietary issues. Had a massage and facial in the spa. Both were very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shekoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentK166, Manager at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful memories with the Tripadvisor community.

We hope that you will visit us again soon, perhaps at our sister property Chobe Savanna Lodge that lies right on the Caprivi strip on the Namibia side across the Chobe river. How awesome for you to have experienced so much game, together with elephants crossing the Chobe river to the Caprivi strip almost every day.

Until we meet again,

The entire Team at Chobe Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We just stayed three nights in the Chobe Game Lodge and we had a great experience. The lodge has all the amenities you can expect from a 5 stars lodge even if due to its size you should not expect the charm of the smallest ones. Rooms are large, decoration is standard but ok.
You can enjoy up to 3 activities per day between game drives and boat drives. Our guide - all women - was excellent and gives us all kind of details on the fauna and flora of the area.
Even if ended up a little bit disappointed by the variety of animals we saw, seeing herds of elephants cursing the Chobe river is really a unique experience. The river drives are extremely pleasant too.
Food is ok, with special mention to the night barbecue close to the river which was great. The staff is very friendly.
The system to get access to Internet can clearly be improved.
A very good alternative to visit the Chobe Reserve.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentK166, Manager at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for you kind review!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to your return. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at Chobe Game Lodge. We want to believe you were just unfortunate that you didn’t have a chance to experience a variety of animals we have here despite our dry season which is the best time to experience it all, and I’m confident it will be better on your next visit.

We sincerely hope to have you back here again in the near future.

Warm wishes from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
5.2 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
25.1 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.2 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
5.1 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Game Lodge

Property: Chobe Game Lodge
Address: Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chobe Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesquely situated 100 km west of the Victoria Falls, overlooking the Chobe River and the Caprivi floodplains, the iconic Chobe Game Lodge is the only permanent safari lodge within the Chobe National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chobe Game Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing