We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chobe Game Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TraveLodge(Kasane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (998)
Filter reviews
998 results
Traveler rating
780
178
28
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
780
178
28
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverprivate dinnermid morningbuffet stylespecial dinnersunset cruiseland safarisinside the national parkmorning drivefish eaglesvictoria fallsbeautiful settingthe reserveanimal viewingknowledgeable guidessafari experienceanimals including
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
701 - 706 of 998 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We came from a country which is basically a city state with no nature reserves to spare. It's a jungle here, a concrete one :) , very urbanised, modern and fast-paced so Chobe National Park seems like paradise. And Chobe Game Lodge , the perfect sanctuary in this Garden of Eden. From the moment we stepped into Chobe Game Lodge (CGL) , the warmth of the staff , the beautiful moorish inspired interiors let us know tyat THIS is gonna be something special. The guest relations dept represented by Maria and Maggie, the wait staff at our meals and even the housekeeping staff who showed us to our room ( forgot her name, oh dear) were beyond friendly. She not only showed us our beautiful rooms but the river boardwalk too and talked about the animals that will frequent the river. And we saw plenty!!!
Then there's Lynn, our game ranger who was simply superb!!! She tirelessly tried to show us as much as possible even though the leopard was a tad elusive. We saw everything else, lions 5 metres away, teenage elephants putting on a 'tantrum' display , it was magical. Lynn always has a beautiful smile on her face, always.... We had such a wonderful experience, safari is on our agenda again for vacations in the coming years.
And of course, the animals....aaahhhh thank you for welcoming us as privileged guests in your beautiful home. It was indeed an unforgettable experience, we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rOza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Greetings from Chobe and many thanks for the review. Glad to hear that our team were very welcoming and we are very proud of our hard working and passionate team here at Chobe Game Lodge. Maggie, Maria, Lynn and the team will all be grateful for the message. More than 65% of our staff are female and we have done a lot to create awareness and improve women empowerment in Botswana. Chobe National Park is certainly a wonderful region with a special mix of river safaris and game drives in the park. Many thanks again and we hope to welcome you back here one day from the concrete jungle to the garden of eden in Chobe. Warm regards from us all at the lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival at the Chobe Lodge. We drove through the bush for about 30 minutes, it is somewhat rough terrain and I was expecting much more basic accommodations. We were greeted by staff with refreshing drinks and damp cloths for our faces. We were promptly ushered to our lodge which was spacious and comfortable and even included a very nice out door sitting area. The entire property is quite lovely with wonderful board walk that goes along the river with seating spaces and is always attended by a server. the food was quite good and a very nice variety...really something for everyone's taste. There was very good native entertaintainment of a high caliber.
Of course the game drives were wonderful and we were rewarded with giraffe, lions, hippo's, impala, elephants, cape buffalo wart hogs, mongoose and baboon. There was also a variety of birds.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldhousebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Hello from Chobe and many thanks for the kind review. It's fantastic to hear that you had a memorable experience at Chobe Game Lodge. The new boardwalk is quite special and provides some excellent game viewing from the comfort of the lodge with a drink in hand. We're happy to hear the variety of meals was enjoyable as well. We send warm greetings from all of us at Chobe Game Lodge and appreciate the review. All the best for 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

After reading the reviews I had great expectation for this place and it was all I expected and more, except from our ranger.
Lts start with the great,
From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome everybody had a big smile our hostess Ruth explained the whole program in a gracious manner and show us the way to our Suite.Wow ! Beautiful suite nicely decorated with a nice private pool with view to the Chobe river, on one of the table a bottle of Champagne an a platter of dry fruits and cheese as a welcome amenity and congratulating us for our Wedding Anniversary on our bed another amenity a beautiful book with color pictures of all the animals that we can find at Chobe great!!
The lunch was great, the food was very good and you can go to the restaurant enjoy the buffet or request your breakfast lunch or dinner in your room
They have a lot of activities and the beautiful and peaceful deck where you can go an watch the animals, read a book or take a nap
The day starts at 4:30 wake up call the 5:00 am coffee and warm Danishes before the first game drive after the game drive breakfast and then a beautiful river Safari this is great and pretty unique you get to experience and see things that you are not able to appreciate on the drive
Then the High tea in the afternoon before the afternoon game drive, I think they also have a sunset cruise we where there only two nights and where not able to take one. This place has a lot of activities I would recommend a minimum of 3 day to take advantage of all of them

The afternoon game drive was our first game drive we went to the lobby there we told our name to a ranger and she point us our Land Rover we had 6 more people with us for a total of 8 had to wait like 8 minutes for two of them I thought this set our ranger in a bad mood, because she start driving without introducing her self or no other interaction what so ever a little later outside the property she then stop the car and made the proper introductions and safety features and set the 4 wheel drive and started to drive she started to explain several things of the park but for us that where on the last seats was difficult to hear and had to ask her to repeat it again , sometimes we would spot birds and small animals the the ranger did not see or care to stop for and when we ask her to stop sometime she did not hear or was to late to even stop, the area where they stop for the breaks is not the nicest they have restrooms facilities and I guess is the only place they can do the breaks however in that area you can fine nice spots and places to park other cars park facing the river or were they can appreciate the sunset our guide just parked right a cross or behind or next of the restrooms :(
This places are not is not a zoo is nature at its best open spaces so there were moments were we drove even for an hour and not see an animal,( this was our first time in Africa and our second Safari we had the opportunity to enjoy 3 days at the beginning of our trip at Serondella Game Lodge) and it was on those moment when our driver at Serondella would focus on the little creatures or birds or plants, insects etc, and mention interesting facts about them however our guide in Chobe would miss many of those opportunities we saw birds that we recognized thanks to what we had learn at the other place.
We expected more from our driver,more interaction with us and the rest of the people with our group from her side would of been nice at this type of jobs you must have to be very social at the end they are the once with all the knowledge of this beautiful places and its habitants and can make a big difference on the whole safari experience besides that, she would try to answer our question to the best of her knowledge every time we approach her.

To close with a positive and a big Thank you note I want to mention a very special moment, our last dinner, they set up a beautiful table for both of us by the pool of our suite for a beautiful,romantic private dinner and after a nicely done service a delicious dinner and a great time a group of servers and the supervisor (8-9 people) surprised us giving us a serenade they sang for us like 3 or 4 songs and it was amazing and beautiful they made me cry of happiness we were very happy and honor with this beautiful surprise !

Room Tip: Book one of the suite is totally worth it and make sure you book a minimum of 3 nights we booked only two and they have a lot of activities that I would of love to do or repeat like the sunset cruise or the river safari
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alona13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear guest
We really appreciate the detailed review and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. It’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed our location, the lovely suite, all our activities and of course we’re delighted the dinner was such a special moment for you. It is true that 3 nights is much more beneficial to make the most of the lodge and surroundings! We regret to hear that the guiding experience was not up to standard. We are currently developing new routes based around the activities as well as introducing half & full day outings as an option and use better and quieter break spots on these outings. Our environmentalist has discussed the points raised with the guiding team and we appreciate the feedback. It is very important guides stop and park at the best possible spot for enjoying views. Training is also top of our priority and workshops, training and practical exercises are planned for early next year. Collectively our guiding team have considerable experience and we aim to harness this experience to grow and develop the skills of all the guides. Many thanks again for the feedback and we send warm wishes from all the Chobe Game Lodge team and hope to welcome you back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was going to write a glowing report for this lodge, until I saw all the others here and can save time because I agree with them 100%. This was one of the best places I stayed in Africa- wonderful location (the only hotel actually within the park - you can do game viewing without leaving the hotel grounds) and despite its name is actually a fine 5 star hotel. Rooms and public areas are luxurious without being over the top or uncomfortable, but what really makes it wonderful is the staff - Maggie the manager, Judy our guide are names I remember but everyone was so pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Greetings from Chobe and many thanks for the review. We are very fortunate to have this special location as the only permanent lodge within the Chobe National Nice to hear that the new public areas design is very well received and of course we are very proud of our hard working and passionate team here at Chobe Game Lodge. We’ll pass the message onto Judy, Maggie and the crew. And yes, the deck and boardwalk around the lodge often provides some amazing game viewing. We were watching 6 lions drinking from the river only yesterday evening. Many thanks again and we hope to welcome you back here one day. Warm regards from us all at Chobe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you are looking for an amazing animal experience, a great location and ideal service, stay at this lodge. Its beautiful, the staff smiles more then any other location I have ever been in the world, and the food is delicious. Talk about a great place to stay, I am all in for Chobe Game Lodge!! Maggie in Guest Relations will delight you with her happy laughter, and Lucas from the wait staff will make you feel like a Queen at dinner. The female lodge rangers are so much fun and willing to show you the treasure of their world. Thank you CGL for a wonderful experience!!

Room Tip: Any room faces the Chobe River and you can hear the hippos at night. I would suggest staying further from the core lodge for a quieter earlier evening in case the BOMA outside dinner is still going when you are getting in bed for your earlier next AM Game drive wake-up.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review. It makes our work here all worthwhile. We have passed the message onto Maggie and Big Lucas the waiter. We are very proud of the team we have here and we take great pleasure in making our guest’s stay as memorable as possible. Very warm regards from all the Chobe Game Lodge team and we hope to welcome you back here again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews