We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Chobe Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chobe Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Truly magnificent. We arrived at the park and immediately saw herds of elephants, giraffes, zebras and even a leopard on the hunt. This was so impressive to see. We had stayed at Kruger before arriving here, but this was unbelievable! The Lodge was every level of comfort you can have. The rooms very clean and the beds super comfy!
The meals also were very satisfying.
A typical day at the lodge is a safari each morning, waking up at 5AM, but before leaving coffee, muffins and croissants are waiting for you before hitting the morning drive. Upon returning to the lodge a beautiful breakfast is served. You relax, lunch, tea, then maybe a river cruise on the Chobe river, and then again on an evening safari, dinner and before retiring you could take a walk along their beautiful deck where elephants, hippos and maybe lions can be heard.
What I enjoyed most at the Chobe National Park was seeing the herds of elephants, the pod of hippos, the dazzle of zebras, a tower of giraffes, herds of water buffalos and much more.
This was our last stop in Africa and even though we had a fantastic trip, we did save the best for last.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilianaEmilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review about the delights of Chobe Game Lodge. We’re certainly blessed with a wonderful location inside the park so we can enjoy the exceptional game viewing and safari experiences to be had here! And yes…watching the enormous herds of elephants down at the river from the new boardwalk and deck is a spectacular site. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back one day. All the best, Chobe Game Lodge team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
There are newer reviews for Chobe Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 913 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Chobe Game Lodge is much bigger than the normal lodges and camps in Botswana which usually have around 12 rooms so it was like moving into a luxury hotel rather than the four camps we had experienced - which were still very good. That said the service and food at Chobe was very good and our guide, Lynn, organised a delightful private farewell dinner for the six people in our party. Rooms were very good and the river cruises with Lynn were relaxing yet informative.
One letdown for a lodge of this standard - Internet was charged which was ridiculous as the daily charge is already high. Then we found that reception was sporadic and never available in our room. We did get a refund but, after 8 days with nil reception in Botswana, it would have been good to get up to date.

Room Tip: Low number rooms are much closer to the main areas.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam, we really appreciate your feedback and review. We’ve worked a lot on our menu and creating new dining venues around the lodge and we’re very glad you enjoyed it. We certainly know that after 8 days in the wonderful remote bush of Botswana it is good to connect to the web and guests really do enjoy sharing news with friends and family. Unfortunately since early September there have been problems with the internet connection which is a satellite set-up. The technicians have been working on it and it appears the connection is vastly improved. We are monitoring it carefully and we do sincerely apologise for the unreliable connection you encountered. All our staff will advise guests to let them know if there is any issue with the connection and they will help or refund as necessary. Warm regards from Chobe and thank you very much for staying with us. Best Wishes, Chobe Game Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was the last stop on our Groupon Trip. 30 minutes after crossing the Zimbabwe and Botswana border, you turn off the paved road onto a very rutted dirt/sand road and drive for another 30 minutes. I was saying to myself - "what have I done". But on the route in we saw in 30 minutes Elephants, Giraffes, Sable Antelope, Impala, Warthog. Then we came to a small sign an turned a corner and WOW a true 5 star resort in the middle of nowhere. Greeted by fountains and attentive staff, cool towels and drinks. Maggie greeted us and gave us a complete rundown of the facilities. Right on the Chobe River, all rooms with views. Large rooms with king beds, lovely linens, stocked minifridge. All meals and drinks included in price - except "premium alcohol and champagne". They had a full stock of wine, hard liquor, beer and sparkling wines all included in the package, we lacked for nothing. We had our meals on one of several decks on the river, meals cooked on the deck, in the restaurant and on our last night a surprise intimate dinner for 2 on a private patio - we were lead there by luminaries - just for us. Sam was our waiter, assigned to us for our stay. Excellent!. Judy was our game drive tour guide - very good. Stopping any time we wanted to for pictures or breaks. Wine and mixed drinks with snacks served on each game drive. She has excellent eyes for spotting game. Unexpected treat was complimentary laundry service .. great after 11 days traveling. We never made it to high but heard that it was great. Just an excellent lodge for accommodations, service, views, food, game drives, so many lounges to relax in or meet new friends. I think we had a excellent deal from Groupon on this booking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 396SusanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Wow - we really appreciate your review. Such a great time of year and it was such a pleasure to have you with us. Maggie and Sam will be very pleased and feel free to follow Chobe Game Lodge on our facebook page. Many thanks again and warm regards from all of us here at the lodge, Chobe Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We arrived at Chobe Game Lodge after staying in two tent camps in Botswana.The tent camps were great but the Game lodge was another whole level in comfort. We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a suite, which was absolute luxury for us. Housekeeping was fine and the room very comfortable. We thought the service at meals was very good.We appreciated that the dining area varied day to day, so each meal was in a different location, on the elevated walkway, next to the river bank, on the dining terrace,etc.We stayed four nights and never got bored with the dining experience. Food was good to very good. The game drives were fantastic. First of all, you are already in the park, So you avoid a 30- 40 minute drive from an outside lodge into the park. Instead you are instantly seeing game animals. Our driver was Letti and her trainee Precious and they were both very personable and Letti had a large amount of experience. We saw pretty much everything, from elephants mourning a dead baby, which was heart breaking, to lion prides gorging on kills. The riverboat trips offered a different type of viewing and was a nice option.To sum it up we thoroughly enjoyed on stay.All of the staff was great, especially our drivers and the lodge hostess, Maggie. We are talking about going back next year.

Room Tip: The suite upgrade was great
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate this. Such a great time of year and we are very happy you enjoyed our menu and the wonderful locations we have around the grounds for dining. Maggie will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and from all of us here at Chobe Game Lodge (including the lions and elephants) we hope that your return trip comes around soon. Feel free to contact us through Chobe Game Lodge facebook page. All the best, Chobe Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I don't think I can fault Chobe Game Lodge. Firstly, the staff are wonderful, a real team. They are so friendly, nothing could be too much trouble for them. They are happy and efficient. We were lucky as on one of the nights the staff choir performed for us. Beautiful singing and everyone was enjoying themselves not just the audience.
The animal viewing is great and you get another perspective on seeing the animals by having a boat trip as well as the usual road vehicle way. The sight of a troop of elephants coming down to drink from the river when we are on the water was a tremendous sight.
The all women crew of rangers are very knowledgable and dare I say very careful drivers and sensitive to the needs of the animals as well as the viewers.
We only saw Lions on one afternoon but game viewing is like that. You never know what you might see when. We did see loads of everything else bar the cats. The bird viewing is amazing.
Being located in the park gives the lodge a head start to other places as as soon as you leave the hotel you are on your game drive. They have just installed a viewing walkway to have tea or just sit and look over the river and see crocodiles, elephants etc drink or bathe.
The food was excellent, served and prepared by lovely staff. My 13 year old loved the chicken curry and the chef gave him the recipe to take home. Also, they have a full size snooker table which was a must do for our family with teenage boys.
Writing about it makes me want to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thanks so much for your review. The staff will be delighted to hear that they made your stay special and we really believe that a fantastic team is essential for our guests and we are so lucky to have a super team of staff. From all of us here at very warm Chobe Game Lodge we hope to see you here again. Feel free to contact us through Chobe Game Lodge facebook page. All the best, Chobe Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed two nights as the start of a series of camps with Desert and Delta. Chobe Game Lodge is outstanding in every respect. Rooms, service, food ( one night a candle lit dinner by the pool just for the two of us as a surprise!) high teas, viewing platform the best we have ever seen. The there is the service- outstanding from everyone. The guides were all women, all experts, all capable, confident and knowledgeable. We were fortunate to have Abel as out guide. She was knowledgeable and happy to wait until photos were taken to everyone's satisfaction. She was highly competent in deep sand with the Landcruiser and during our four game drives she fund leopards and lions before other guides three times. The vehicles were new and sounded great.Abel also took us on a lunchtime river game cruise which was relaxed and informative, not to mention outstanding food and wine-all part of the price. But the really best thing about this lodge is its location-it is right in the Chobe National Park, so game drives begin right at the gate at 6am and at night they finish right on the dot before all vehicles have to be locked up for the night. This is a considerable advantage over other lodges in Kasane who have to travel for an hour or so before they get into the zone.
We think the Chobe Game Lodge people have taken a bold step to employ women guides, and I strongly believe it will pay off. Petrus, the leader of the team was helpful and solicitous, and leads a great team.

Room Tip: There is a magnificent honeymoon suite with infinity pool. Otherwise all suites face the Chobe River...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you very much indeed for your review and we are all most glad you enjoyed your visit. We are one of the only lodges in Africa to have an all lady-guiding team and we are very proud of all of our teams at the lodge. We are also blessed with location and one of the main reasons we built the deck late last year was to maximise the enjoyment of our location inside the park and on the Chobe River and now some of the best game viewing takes place from that deck!
We hope to welcome you back here again soon. All the best, Chobe Game Lodge Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The last stop on our African vacation was Chobe Game Lodge. From the Royal Livingstone it was an interesting trip to the Chobe. We were met in Zambia by Wild Horizons for about and hour and half drive to the river, here we went through customs/immigration and boarded the speedy boat to the other side where we went through customs/immigration in Botswana for about an hour drive to Chobe Game Lodge. Chobe Game Lodge was absolutely wonderful. No personal butler, but rather assigned waiters, Collen & TT, who were just fantastic. We had a young lady ranger at Chobe, Thouso, who was extremely knowledgeable and upbeat. In Chobe, unlike Sabi Sands, we did not see a lot of cats. We saw lions each night, but only two at a time. On our last night we witnessed a herd of elephants forcing a male and female lion out of their area -- very exciting. Because Chobe is a National Park, the vehicles need to stay on the road which did make the sightings a bit more difficult. But don't get me wrong, our stay was unbelievable! We saw so many elephants, giraffes, hippos and monkeys. And lots of baby animals. Baby elephants have to be the cutest things in the whole world except for perhaps infant baboons with their big pink ears. Chobe game lodge offered a morning and evening game drive with a stop for sundowners in the evening. The advantage they had over our previous game lodge was their location right on the river. After breakfast each day, they offered a boat cruise which was wonderful. We got very close to the hippos and crocodiles and were able to see the elephants, water buffalo and giraffes coming down to the river to drink and also crossing the river. Elephant herds and large groups of giraffes are everywhere in Chobe and we were able to get quite close to them. I really enjoyed the Boma at Chobe. At one of the Boma lunches, we were entertained by the Mogwana Dance Troupe who put on a great show. During our last lunch there, the restaurant manager came over and thanked us for staying at Chobe Game Lodge and invited us to a "secret" dinner. When we showed up at the restaurant that evening, we were guided to one of the beautiful decks along the river. The pathway and boardwalk to the deck were lighted by luminaries. Out on the deck was a table for two set with a huge candelabra. We were the only people out there. It was a beautiful clear night, all the stars were out, our meal was delicious (as always) and the only background noise we could here was the splashing and grunting of hippos and elephants. A PERFECT ending to a PERFECT vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HollyHopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
6.7 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
69.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 22 in Chobe National Park
267 reviews
25.1 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 22 in Chobe National Park
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 22 in Chobe National Park
284 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
459 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#19 of 22 in Chobe National Park
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Game Lodge

Address: Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: $175 - $1,851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chobe Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesquely situated 100 km west of the Victoria Falls, overlooking the Chobe River and the Caprivi floodplains, the iconic Chobe Game Lodge is the only permanent safari lodge within the Chobe National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chobe Game Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing