We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location.”
Review of Chobe Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chobe Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
King City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing location.”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Beautiful, welcoming....unbelievablly courteous staff....and great game viewing too!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    165
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
186
414
61
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Chobe is the only lodge inside theChobe Game reserve. Yes there are places to camp, but this is the only place with aircon happiness and a Liz Taylor suite.

We stayed here at the beginning and end of a Botswana safari trip. The lodge picked us up at the most excellent Katsane airport.

The hotel is to put it nicely, dated. It's built in the Casa style of the 70's, with lots of low arches and dark spaces. it's an inclusive place which means all food and drink (excluding premium brands) were included. Doesn't, unfortunately include internet $6 / 30 mins.

Pool is fair and a nice place for a dip at the end of the day, with banded mongoose (or is that mongeese or mongi?) watching.

Food is variable with breakfast being the best. Highlights of the evening meals was one with (vegetarians please avert your eyes..) a suckling pig with apple stuffed in its mouth. I would've taken a picture but I was too busy eating it.

Rooms had excellent a/c which made a nice change from the more eco natural camps with obligatory heatstroke included. And of course no TV, despite satellite tech.. Mini bar was free in the room, which of course led to mass looting of the mini bar. One night we had the Taylor/Burton suite where the duo was remarried (or is that re re married?) It isn't more special inside than other rooms but has a lovely balcony with infinty pool.

The guides were all female which must be some sort of Botswana park policy. All very pleasant with ok spotting ability. The game itself varied with our first day having some incredible views; leopard, lion, buffalo, elephants and even a huge pack of wild dogs. Second day much less was seen ( except elephants which are pretty hard to miss)
Boat cruise was a lot of fun, with excelllent sightings of elephants crocs and multi hippos.

So a nice enough place with loads of foreign tourists that lives well of its reputation and history.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My first arriival in Botswana was the Chobe Game Lodge. I wasn't sure at first since this was the largest place we stayed (being an actual hotel) but it was not disappointing at all. Being located in the park is a great advantage since you start seeing animals the second you leave the hotel grounds. The rooms were nicely furnished, had air conditioning, and a view of the Chobe river. The main lodge is nice as well and had the dining room/terrace set up to look out towards the river. Suprisingly, the pool area was the only place that seemed a little neglected but it still was a great escape from the heat.
The real gem of the hotel is the staff. Every person we encountered was genuinely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure you had anything you needed. The drivers were knowledgable and great about answering questions too. We saw tons of big game and birds and the driver went out of her way to try and find us what we were hoping to see. They have a nice mix of games drives, as well as river viewing which allows you to see a surprising number of animals as well.
A vast array of tasty food choices were provided (buffet style). The food was clean and plentiful. The only danger was overeating! Don't expect much from the workout room, older and poor functioning equipment, but other than that it was a great beginning to my trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gobrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed at Chobe Game Lodge for 2 nights and was taken in by the wonderful and family, friendly hospitality of all staff. Loved seeing smiles on everyone's faces! Enjoyed the game Drives by the women Guides/Drivers - so professional and well educated. We had such fun finding the animals and just quietly sitting and becoming part of their world. So many elephants, Buffalo and Hippo's. The Warthogs came close to the lodge and settled in the shade of a tree outside my unit.Units were very comfortable, with all mini bar items included, laundry of my clothes, food and all game drives and river cruises. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The Guest Relations officer made sure everything went like clockwork and that my transfers were on time. Thanks to all the staff in the kitchen/chefs - truly a delicious and exciting array of food. Getting to know the other people on my game drive jeep was great as they were from the UK and even sat with me for dinner as I was travelling solo.

Room Tip: All rooms have a ceiling fan and air conditioning, with safes and stocked mini bar. I stayed in a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Knight444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This was by far and away the best hotel we stayed at in Africa. Again, staff were lovely, room was beautiful, food delicious, but the safari was awesome! Highly recommend. We travelled here in May 2009

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KylieKarratha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The hotel, located within the Chobe game park, overlooks the Chobe River, and is built in a style which is entirely sympathetic with its surroundings. The staff at the hotel are excellent, and they all seem genuinely interested in ensuring that guests enjoy their stay. Safari rides are accompanied by driver guides, who are both efficient and very knowledgeable. The food is good quality, and the menu varies from day to day. The bedrooms are pleasant, and the decor is attractive, but the bathroom is on the small side for two people. The gardens and swimming pool are most attractive. The atmosphere in this hotel is a real delight.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashback60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Chobe was our last destination at the end of our two honeymoon through South Africa, Zimbabwe and Botswana and I wish it had been the first. Primarily, the lodge itself is beautiful and the rooms are beautiful with individual terraces that overlook the river. The service is impeccable and the food is varied and thoughtfully prepared and, for the most part, quite good. But this is a bigger lodge which means your safari experience is not as intimate with nature, not as serene, as it is staying at a smaller lodge which we did in South Africa and Zimbabwe. That's just a personal preference but I didn't enjoy seeing 10 jeeps surround 3 walking lions on our afternoon drive. Also, because you are in a national park, off-roading is strictly illegal and the Lodge makes sure to preserve the environmental regulations. All of this is good for the long run and I'm very pleased that Chobe hires female rangers and is environmentally conscious but it wasn't the best safari we'd been on. In fact, we saw more animals just coming to the hotel on our first night than on actual safari. But that's not the fault of the lodge. As we were there on our honeymoon, they set up a private dinner for us under the stars and the staff came by and serenaded us with their wedding songs. It brought tears to my eyes. The dedication of the staff is special, and it's a beautiful country, Botswana. Chobe was beautiful in every way except that there were too many people. To be in the bush in Africa and see animals in their natural habitat is almost a religious experience - I didn't like the constant reminder that we were, in fact, just on a tour. So, if you prefer the comfort of groups, I'd heartily recommend Chobe. But I wouldn't recommend doing safari with large groups of people - something is lost in translation.

Room Tip: We heard from fellow travelers that the luxury suites with their individual whirlpools were truly sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saffronbaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
6.7 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
13.8 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
452 reviews
69.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
451 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
443 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 21 in Chobe National Park
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Game Lodge

Property: Chobe Game Lodge
Address: Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chobe Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesquely situated 100 km west of the Victoria Falls, overlooking the Chobe River and the Caprivi floodplains, the iconic Chobe Game Lodge is the only permanent safari lodge within the Chobe National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chobe Game Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing