We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Certificate of Excellence
lexington ky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2006

The vista that greets you as you enter is the 1st of many pleasant surprises. The bungalows were fantastic. Loved the sunken tub and outdoor shower.

The games drives/boat rides were a thrill. Saw more than I had thought possible. Elephants everywhere including the road to the camp.

The food was very good, the do it yourself pizza a real highlight!

Would I go back, you bet, ASAP!
Cubs154

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cubs154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    31
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
55
142
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2006

I spent 4 days here in early October 2006. The lodge consists of 15 very private cabins and is adjacent to Chobe National Park. Due to its close proximity to the park there is often wildlife that you see on the grounds. In the evening the lodge warns you to not walk the grounds by yourself. In fact, when you wish to go to dinner at the lodge you call and they send someone to escort you to the main lodge.
The cabins are very nice. They consist of a large bedroom, smaller sitting area, and a very large bathroom with large sunken tub, and an indoor shower as well as an outdoor shower in the private back yard.
Our package included all meals (including wine and drinks) and escorted game drives. Breakfast and lunch are buffets but dinner has full service. The food was excellent.
I was very impressed by the game drives and boating excursions. The amount of wildlife in Chobe is amazing.
This lodge was the best place I've ever stayed and I very highly recommend it. My only complaint is that it is a bit expensive. However, you certainly get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Outstanding Game Viewing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Cabin 14 is extremely private
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RBCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2006

We were slightly disappointed with Chobe Chilwero. Coming from a small camp in the Okavango Delta we expected more of the same, however Chobe Chilwero is a much larger lodge/hotel that's on the outskirts of a town. The lodge itself is gorgeous - the rooms were extremely luxurious with a sunken bath and an outdoor and indoor shower, and the grounds were very nice with a lovely view overlooking the river. However the game viewing and river cruises all felt a bit too much like a theme park. Any time we found anything good, the drivers would radio their friends and all of a sudden there would be 5 more jeeps on the scene. We didn't like the river cruise either - with the boats getting very close to animals clearly disturbing them and making them distressed. We enjoyed our three days here, but preferred the peace and quiet of the Okavango Delta.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cailin-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2006

Chilwero is a really lovely charming place. From the moment you walk in you're made to feel at home and it's great too that the staff are ALL from Botswana. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are excellent, although some do not have views of the river (and some are quite a walk from the main part of the hotel/dining area). Food was also very good and there's lots of it. Just in case the three meals of the day aren't enough there's tea on the lawn at three every afternoon when you can watch the daily game played between the staff and monkeys who try and steal fruit and cake from the tables. This was the first place we stayed in in Botswana and during the rest of out trip we kept on bumping into other tourists who had started here. All were agreed that this was the best place that they had stayed.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Flaherty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2006

If you are a fan of the "No 1 Ladies Detective Agency" novels, and always wondered what a Botswana "mud house" in red looked like, Chobe Chilwero's luxury chalet provides you with the opportunity to experience this first hand- albeit in an upscale and luxurious way.

It's also rather amusing that Chobe Chilwero is tucked away in the bush overlooking the river and that from the main road, you have to chug along on a muddy track in bush before turning into the main game lodge.

Once you arrive, you are in a quietly luxurious lodge with wonderful service. The staff at Chobe Chilwero are friendly,thoughtful and attentive without being intrusive. We loved the fact that everyone had such a passion for wildlife conservation in Botswana and were very proud of all the efforts that the Botswana Government has put into this to date.

The game drives and river safaris on offer at Chobe Chilwero were wonderful and great fun. We shall always remember watching an "African" sunset whilst on the river, no words can describe how beautiful the colours were and how big the sky looked from where we sat. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SWChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
1.5 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
1,076 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
29.3 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
73.6 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#29 of 71 in Okavango Delta
118 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero

Property: Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Address: Bordering Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero is a luxurious riverside retreat in the heart of the bush, with all of the facilities of a larger resort. The main area commands fabulous views over the Chobe River which borders Chobe National Park to the north. As well as the elephants for which the park is famous for, guests can relax in the split-level swimming pool, unwind with a pampering session in the spa or enjoy the gourmet food that the lodge has become known for. Each of the 14 thatched guest cottages has two showers, one inside and one outside. The ensuite bathroom also has a large free-standing bath. After a day of game viewing, what better way to relax than in your own private garden with a cocktail? Or if the fancy takes you, why not have your gourmet dinner served right here under the African sky. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. Our honeymoon suite at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero features a private plunge pool and deck area where guests will be able to enjoy private dinners for two under the stars (weather permitting) and special turn downs every night. Guests booking this room will automatically receive a private vehicle and guide for all game viewing activities. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing