We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was our last stop on a two week tour of Botswana and a completely different type of accommodation after having stayed in tented camps and lodges in the middle of the Okavango Delta.The view from our table at meal time was straight to Namibia across the Chobe River flood plain from up on a rise. Spectacular!

The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us including providing a taste of some typical Botswana food which wasn't on the menu.

The cottage was very large and luxurious and the bathroom was big enough to throw a party in.

Our guide Kebbe was very knowledgeable about the animals and the birdlife of which we saw lots of both. We also did a boat cruise one afternoon heading into sunset on the river and got up close and personal with hippos and elephants and birds.

On our arrival we were offered a complementary 10 minute foot massage, which I took up. Almost wished I didn't have to put my shoes back on afterwards.

We only stayed two nights and wished we had stayed more, and it may have been nice to see parts of the park away from the banks of the river.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robynne_dudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Robynne,

What a review! Thank you!!

We appreciate all your lovely comments, we are so glad you had such a great experience with us.

Wish you could have stayed longer too, we loved hosting you and hope to se you again one day soon.

We would love for you to keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishe
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    30
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
53
129
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Best service this side of paradise! Like staying in a family, very good meals.Even dietary request were no problem at all! Game drives and boat trips are very rewarding, the guides are excellent. We had a wonderful time- thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReHaa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

“Best service this side of paradise!” WOW - we are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time with us at Chobe Chilwero and thank you for sharing this on Tripadvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you and we do hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Until then, we would love for you to keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virudhunagar, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed with my family at Chobe Chilwero and was blown away by the experience. We did the entire Sanctuary package of Zambia and Botswana and were blown away with the total experience. The rooms in this lodge are ultra - luxurious with all amenities. The rooms are spacious and have both an Indoor and Outdoor shower. The bed is huge and very comfortable. The Lodge is located in a reserve close to the Chobe National park. It is also not far from Kasane. The view from the lodge overlooking the river is spectacular. We had Impalas and Baboons outside the rooms. We also saw Elephants across the fences. The game drives were superb. It rains elephants in chobe. They get really close to the jeep and move away at the last moment. Our Guide Poniso was well informed and explained in detail about animal behaviour. We spotted a kill and when vultures were feeding on it, our guide took my camera to take some close up pictures of the impala. There was a leopard in the area which fled when the vultures had arrived but was around the vicinity. Our hearts stopped for a moment till we saw him come back safely. There is no off roading here which is a negative. Also it is not easy to see the big cats here. However we saw a lot of giraffe's and other game here.The boat ride on the chobe river was great and we saw lot of hippos, elephants and african buffaloes. The Staff are very warm and the choice of food is great. We celebrated my daughter's birthday at the lodge and the staff brought us a lovely cake and danced around the table. Memories to last a lifetime. Staff at the lodge sent us a packed lunch for our flight to Okavango delta which was a good gesture as you hardly get anything at Kasane airport. If you are travelling to the Chobe area do not look any further. Go for it !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prabhakar27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Prabhakar,

We absolutely loved reading your review, thank you so much!!

We are thrilled you you had the opportunity to experience our Zambia and Botswana properties and eveb more delighted that "you were blown away with the total experience"

Thank you for your kind comments about Chobe Chilwero especially about our staff they were very pleased with your review.

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you and your family and we do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you to the Sanctuary portfolio again in the future.

Would be great if you could keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was my first African Safari experience and I was blown away. The variety of game drives and trips by boat were great. A lot of exciting adventures with angry hippos and elephant cubs. Lovely atmosphere for dinner and breakfast at the main house. The rooms were large, cosy and luxurious I particularly liked the outside shower. One day we were surprised by a little deer in our garden which was too cute for words! Sitting on our terrace watching the sunset and the amazing view of Chobe River was memorable. The only thing you should be prepared for is that this is by no means an eating holiday. Portions were fairly small which was fine as we were two ladies travelling but a larger man might suffer and want to bring some snacks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toniboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Toni,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to have been apart of your first African Safari and very pleased to hear that you were blown away...

Our Chefs will be more than willing to serve larger portions if need be.

Thank you once again and we do hope to see you again soon.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

this was the ultimate luxury - we were spoilt silly - the most amazing and friendly staff - the meals were scrumptious - the accommodation was very luxurious - big kingsize bed - lots of petals on the bed every day - a super tub to soak in every night - big indoor and outdoor shower - we were treated like royalty - and the game drives and river cruises were just so amazing - so many animals to see and our guide was so informative and knowledgeable - and of course the chobe sunset is just the most amazing sight ever - i will most definitely recommend this lodge to anybody interested - thankyou chobe chilwero for such a memorable stay-xxxx

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Liz,

Thank you for the this wonderful review!

We are delighted that you had such an memorable stay with us at Chobe Chilwero, we shared you comments with the rest of the team and they were very pleased with your feedback.

We have to agree the Chobe sunset is just amazing....thank you for your recommendation much appreciated!

We hope to see you again soon, and until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have spent the Easter weekend at Chilwero with our 3 kids. We were given 2 bungalows netx to each other. These bungalows are huge, very luxurious, with a bath, a shower, an outside shower and a huge bed. The lodge is both in a convenient location (the closest lodge on Kasane's side to the park, very close to the airport also) and apart from the others to make it a "wilder" experience. You do get monkeys and bushbucks in the gardens and this is quite enjoyable. The staff is fantastic, caring for all, especially kids. Food is very nice, with a choice of starters, mains and desserts everyday. Finally Chobe National Park is a gem, with the river making it one of the great parks in Southern Africa. Boat safaris at sunset is a must do, watching elephants and antilopes coming to drink and hippos and crocodiles in the river.
Wildlife sightings is good : elephants, pukus, girafes, lions, crocs, hippos, kudus etc.
Only negative about the national park (not related to Chilwero lodge) : their stupid rules (no offtrack and one way roads...sic) making you miss some more wildlife experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benjinho13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review, much appreciated!

We are delighted that you and your family spent the Easter weekend with us and had such an enjoyable experience with us. We shared your feedback with the rest of the team and they were very pleased with your comments.

Yes it is unfortunate that we are unable to off-road, but as you say the National Park’s rules and regulations have to be adhered to. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we do hope to welcome you and your family back one day soon.


Until then, please keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

As a stop on a 3 week African tour, this place is not to be missed! It is on the Okavango Delta and the Chobe River there is amazing. The scenery is not what you expect in Africa. It is lush and green and not so dry! The Sanctuary lodge is very nice and the people there very real and down to earth. Our room (house) was very nice with A/C and a tub inside with a separate indoor shower and one outside as well if you like to shower under the sunshine or moonlight! Fenced in with privacy. Every day we could take a bush ride in an open air vehicle and or a boat cruise on the Chobe River. We chose the river often and saw many many crocs! Now, let's talk hippos..... In the water, out of the water--I've never seen so many in my life. They do an unusual thing where they spin their tails around in a circle and fling feces around to mark their territories--wow-crazy to see that!! Another great aspect of Chobe is that this is where the largest herds of elephants in Africa are. And I mean very large--as in hundreds at a time--amazing!! Lots of Cape Buffalo too. One thing that I was surprised by was the number of beautiful birds there were! I think half my pictures on my camera are of the unique and interesting birds! My favorite is the Lilac Breasted Roller--beautiful! Back at the lodge-the view of the delta was gorgeous and the food and service good--although one of the servers had bad body odor. The lodge had some local dancers from the area come in and perform and they invited all of us to join in--which we did and we had a great time and made a great memory! The sunset going down over the Chobe River with silhouettes of elephants in the background is one I will not forget!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thistrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
0.7 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
88.1 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#35 of 71 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero

Property: Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Address: Bordering Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero is a luxurious riverside retreat in the heart of the bush, with all of the facilities of a larger resort. The main area commands fabulous views over the Chobe River which borders Chobe National Park to the north. As well as the elephants for which the park is famous for, guests can relax in the split-level swimming pool, unwind with a pampering session in the spa or enjoy the gourmet food that the lodge has become known for. Each of the 14 thatched guest cottages has two showers, one inside and one outside. The ensuite bathroom also has a large free-standing bath. After a day of game viewing, what better way to relax than in your own private garden with a cocktail? Or if the fancy takes you, why not have your gourmet dinner served right here under the African sky. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. Our honeymoon suite at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero features a private plunge pool and deck area where guests will be able to enjoy private dinners for two under the stars (weather permitting) and special turn downs every night. Guests booking this room will automatically receive a private vehicle and guide for all game viewing activities. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing