We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refined lodge in nature's habitat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We loved ending our visit to Botswana by staying at Sanctuary Chilwero Lodge. It's location overlooking the river, the spacious and luxurious suites, gourmet meals, and wonderful game drives make this a must visit place. Thousands of elephants, hippo, buffalo, giraffe, shorebirds co-exist peacefully in the water and along the riverbank. The contrast of safari game drives in the National Park to the motorboats gives visitors a view of two very different terrains. Our guide, Moshe was not only so knowledgeable about birds, but also made our visit more memorable on the last day when we watched 3 lions stalking some sable antelopes. We also saw Africa's most beautiful bird, the lilac breasted roller which was abundant in this location. This is a great birding area for those interested in avian creatures.
The service is professional although some staff are stand-offish, but they get the job done. Henri, the manager is cordial and attentive. When our rooms weren't ready on arrival, we were treated to a foot massage while waiting. A nice touch! My only complaint is that there is a beautiful soaking tub in the suites, but there was barely any hot water so I couldn't use the tub. All alcoholic beverages and laundry are included in this lodge as well as free internet access in the suites. Sweet!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that overall you had an enjoyable experience with us and thank you for your kind comments, especially about Henri and Mushe; they were thrilled with your feedback.

We are in process of resolving the issues we are currently experiencing with our water pressure and hope to have this resolved promptly. We conducted a very comprehensive staff service training few months back and as a result of your feedback decided to repeat this exercise to ensure that our staff are attentive and professional at all times.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day soon...

You can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 303 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon and the moment we arrived at the resort we were amazed. We had just spent time in the Delta and really enjoyed the how remote it was, and were a little worried when we first heard that this hotel was close to the airport and city and not in Chobe national park. Our worries, were quickly removed as we entered the lodge and loved the fact it sits on a cliff with amazing views. Elephants were constantly walking around the grounds and there wasn't a moment you didn't see elephants around. Unlike the Delta though their are fences so they won't be coming to your room.

The rooms were fantastic, we loved the modern design, but still felt like it was the right setting ini Africa. The rooms were fairly large with nice outdoor showers. We enjoyed the boat cruise, although expect to see a lot of crowds, but the boat was much nicer and in better shape then others we saw. Obviously the safari was a highlight, and our guide was excellent. You will see a lot more cars in Chobe compared to the private reserves, but it didn't matter....our guide continued to find remote locations and was always the first to identify the lions. After he found the lions it was like a flock of birds coming to the scene with so many trucks, but it didn't matter we made it first it seemed like ever morning!

Finally, the food was 5 star all the way. We loved the variety, the tea, the atmosphere and everything else. We even had our own private dinner one night outside with mosquito repellent and all! However, the make your own pizzas was probably the most memorable. There was nothing like a nice lunch while you enjoy some wine and beverages, making a pizza and seeing hundreds of elephants in the river below.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Jeff,

What an awesome review, thank you so much for taking the time to post this on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to hear that you feel Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero is the best accommodation in Africa and will always have a special place in your heart.

We shared your review with Henri and the team and they were delighted and asked me to let you know that it was a pleasure to host you and your family, and they are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

We would love for you to keep up to date with all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is to me the BEST accommodation in africa with so much heart and sincerity. Henri and his staff did everything they can to make us feel welcome. I love each and every person working here as they are so happy and such warm souls - greeting us like old friends when they see us, humming as they are working. The thought they put in to make us feel welcomed in very special - never knew what "it's all in the details" mean until i stayed here. very lovely establishment with excellent views and you may encounter wildlife as you are strolling about. great meals and we were entertained by a singing/dancing troupe - their melodious voices gave me goosebumps.

in all my trips - chobe chilwero definitely is a gem in my memory and will always have a special place in my heart. Henri and staff - you guys are FABULOUS.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyx799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely detailed review.

We see it’s nearly your one year anniversary, will we be seeing you soon to celebrate?

Thank you for all your kind comments, it gives us great satisfaction receiving positive feedback from our guests following a memorable stay. We’re glad that we made a lasting impression on you, even a year on, and would like to thank you for the time you have taken in posting this review - it is very much appreciated.

We shared your feedback with the team and they are delighted with your comments, and hope to welcome you back again one day.

You can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The issue with this property is the last unit of the row, Unit 15, which is right beside the mechanical shed and the possibly the sewage tank. Some windows only have screens so it is impossible to keep out the noise of the pumps or the intermittently wafting smell. Both eliminate the possibility of sipping wine outside your unit or of sleeping and hearing the night sounds (part of the reason you go to a camp) instead of the urban sounds of fans and generators.

The staff accommodated my feedback the next day and suggested that I get in touch with Craige Nel the sales manager, however after 3 emails, I have not heard from him and am disappointed at the lack of responsiveness and professionalism.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TaniaCarriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor.

We are terribly sorry that your experience with us was tainted. Our Operation Directors are in the process of resolving this issue and we thank you for your honest feedback.

Craige Nel is away at the moment hence the reason you have had no response from him and we apologise for the inconvenience caused to you.

We would like to thank you again for your feedback as it will no doubt help us improve our product and service.

You can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This camp is very beautiful, located on a hill top overlooking a landscape full of wildlife. The rooms and common areas are very comfortable and evoke a relaxing and hospitable vibe. All the staff is incredibly nice and the food is superb!
One night they had a group of local teenage dancers perform for us and tell us a bit about their local customs. It was a once in a lifetime experience! We enjoyed it thoroughly.
The only downside is that since Chobe is a National Park, you cannot get off road during the safari ride. Hence, you see the animals from a distance and only the ones that are close enough to the roads. However, we did get to see a lot of different wildlife, especially the ones on the river shore during the boat ride.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizaLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero experience on Tripadvisor.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback, we shared your review with the staff they were thrilled that you appreciated their efforts.

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back one day soon.

You to follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook. Just search for Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The moment the jeep turns off the road onto an unsigned track leading into the bush you have a feeling this place is going to be special - and it is. From the moment you arrive you seeing through the main building to a stunning vista over-looking the Chobe River Delta. Staff cannot do enough for you (the mini bar is stocked to your choice, they even do your laundry), rooms are huge, private and luxurious and the food is delicious. The game drives can either be by boat or jeep and the game is prolific. The river drives do get busy as this is where the concentration of game can be found but having smaller boats we always got closest and having such dedicated guides we seemed to avoid the masses and were always out last. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: No bad location but the closer to the lodge, the better the view over the delta..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boat_babe_jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for you kind comments regarding the mini bar, laundry service, rooms, games drives and especially our staff, they loved hosting you and would like to welcome you back one day soon.

Thank you so much for your recommendation much appreciated. We would love for you to follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook. Just search for Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The best thing about Sanctuary properties, is that they are all different and after staying at several others I would recommend this one for a "first timer" to Africa, but of course it is perfect for anyone travelling to Africa. The accommodation or chalets are huge (I have lived in flats that are smaller) and most have marvellous views out over the Chobe River. The facilities are more than you would find in a regular 5 star hotel. You also have regular entertainment on or around your chalet, freely given by the local baboons, squirrel and mongoose. All chalets are joined by solid paths back to the 'main' building where there is a lounge/bar area, library, dining (indoor/outdoor) area plus some comfy lounges set out along the verandahs. The Gift Shop is well stocked and just recently became one of two Sanctuary properties to sell the Botswanian Swana Diamonds.
The property is outside of the Chobe National Park, approx a 5 min drive away. The game viewing was excellent - saw a lion kill along with wild dog who very quickly disposed of their Impala lunch. We were lucky to view a group of the magnificent Giant Sable come down to drink -- and elephant were everywhere. Nearly every 'family' herd had 'littlies'..probably only several months old. Like all babies, they were always playing and just so comical. You could watch them for hours! The most memorable sighting on several occasions was a herd of elephant swimming out to the island in the river - up periscope! Our guide Chika was a lovely guy, had a great sense of humour and was very knowledgeable. His prediction/knowledge of animal movements was uncanny for he was always right.
Can recommend the spa - very professional ... in fact everything about this property was excellent.

Room Tip: should you have a problem with walking, request a room close to main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyallTeaGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Another great review from you, thank you much appreciated!

Thank you for your recommendation of Chobe Chilwero for "first timers" to Africa, this will not doubt assist our future guests. Thrilled that we once again met all your expectations and that everything was excellent.

We shared your feedback with Chika and the rest of the team they were delighted with your comments and do hope to see you again one day.

Please follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
3.4 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
73.6 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
271 reviews
29.3 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#25 of 71 in Okavango Delta
131 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#20 of 21 in Chobe National Park
48 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero

Address: Bordering Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: $600 - $963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero is a luxurious riverside retreat in the heart of the bush, with all of the facilities of a larger resort. The main area commands fabulous views over the Chobe River which borders Chobe National Park to the north. As well as the elephants for which the park is famous for, guests can relax in the split-level swimming pool, unwind with a pampering session in the spa or enjoy the gourmet food that the lodge has become known for. Each of the 14 thatched guest cottages has two showers, one inside and one outside. The ensuite bathroom also has a large free-standing bath. After a day of game viewing, what better way to relax than in your own private garden with a cocktail? Or if the fancy takes you, why not have your gourmet dinner served right here under the African sky. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. Our honeymoon suite at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero features a private plunge pool and deck area where guests will be able to enjoy private dinners for two under the stars (weather permitting) and special turn downs every night. Guests booking this room will automatically receive a private vehicle and guide for all game viewing activities. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing