We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chobe Chilewera”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chobe Chilewera”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in Chobe Chilewara in February,2013. We cannot praise the property and staff enough. The individual chalets are luxurious and appropriate to the environment. Above all the professionalism of the staff and in particular the guides was nothing short of amazing.
You cannot do better . Our only regret is that we only spent two nights at the Lodge. I assure next trip we will stay longer

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shulamith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Shulamith,

Thank you so much! What a great review - we really appreciate it.

We shared your comments with the rest of the team who were thrilled to learn you had such a great time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay in the not too distant future.

We would love for you to share your experience on Facebook, just search for Sanctuary Retreats.

Warm regards
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    32
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
150
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The staff, the service and the food are impecable. You get fed 6 meals a day and treated like royalty . Even the game drivers are the most experienced game drivers I have ever come accross. If your a South African you will get a very reduced rate too and then works out to be a bargain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi Robyn d

Many thanks for sharing your experience of Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you felt like royalty and would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff, service and food.

We can’t wait to share the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This lodge has a specacular location on the Chobe River. Rooms (which are individual chalets)are large, luxurious, private and attractive, with airconditioning.
The Lodge is bigger than many Game lodges. It is a nice balance between a resort, which has many amenities, and a Game Lodge.
The staff are attentive, efficient, enthusiastic and friendly. They all appear to love their jobs and can't do enough for their guests.
Game drives were great. We had a very capable and efficient Ranger, Ishmael. Naturally we saw lots of elephant. We also had some interesting lion sightings. We missed wild dog (who were sighted in the park) by about 5 mins.
We have been to Chobe before in winter (July) and in October. This time we went in January. The game drives in winter are very cold. October (spring) is dry and hot. Strangely enough the weather in Jan (summer) is quite moderate because it rains quiet a bit. The rain is not a serious problem except when you go out on tender boats because the game vehicles are reasonably sheltered and the weather remains warm.
We saw few mosquitoes. I'm told that the Chobe River runs to fast to be attractive to them, but we did see one or two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you o much for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor.

It was nice to read your review, we are delighted that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. We do appreciate your positive remarks with regards to the location, rooms, the games drives(we will be sure to let Ishmael know) as well as the staff whom you felt were attentive, efficient,enthisiastic and friendly.We are delighted that had interesting sightings and so sorry that you missed the Wild dogs, perhaps you will see them the next time you visit...

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed from 31/12 - 2/1. The lodge and spa accommodation is great. The rooms have indoor and outdoor showers. The food was great, with eland, ostrich and crocodile all on offer while we were there. The game watching initially was predominantly elephant. The could rename the place Chobe national elephant park. We also saw giraffe heaps of hippo, a day old hippo, a day old elephant and we watched while an Impala was born. We saw a herd of about 150 buffalo and a pack of about 40 African Wild Dogs. Plus we saw crocodile banded mongoose, sable antelope a terrapin and heaps more.

We did multiple safaris including the river safari. Best to do this one in the afternoon on a sunny day.

We would've rated this higher except it really is a luxury lodge rather than a safari camp, and the national park means when there is a lion to see, and apparently there were three, you are in a battle with so many other vehicles to get a view. Also just driving around, you are constantly passing other vehicles or waiting for them to leave a locate so you can see the wildlife.

A great place to go to see a variety of wildlife, but be aware you'll be sharing the experience with heaps of other people at the same time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the lodge, spa, accommodation and food.

Chobe Chilwero is very different to the camps we have in the Delta (which we hope you will visit one day soon) and is rated a "luxury lodge" rather then a "safari camp". Unfortunately the congestion in the National Park is beyond our control.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future..

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What an amazing find... my wife and I needed a vacation between Christmas and New Year and our personal travel agent recommended Chobe Chilwero immediately. I'd never stayed in a Sanctuary property before - but this may the start of something special. From the moment we arrived we were impressed; a good Chobe property I've heard is rare ~ this one is outstanding. Discovering that not only were ALL meals included was a bonus; but to find out that ALL drinks were included as well simply blew me away. (considering I've paid six or seven times over the odds for a Coke at nearby Royal Livingstone; I was mightily impressed.) The accomm was great, big, spacious, well-appointed and comfortable - and we loved the indoor/outdoor shower as well as the full outdoor one! The service was awesome, and the food varied and interesting - a different set of menus every day. We also loved the separate tables for couples and groups as both my wife and aren't big communal table folks. Game viewing is great and our guide was exceptional - we saw and studied all the big wildlife and even birds and the smaller stuff too. All round ~ a great time. The fishing we arranged (twice) for Tiger fish was a whole lot of fun; with my wife pulling in a 4.5kg Tiger on her first day out! (It's all sport; catch and release stuff too).

I would thoroughly recommend this venue above all Chobe/Kasane properties and we are definate Sanctuary hotel fans... looking forward to investigating the rest of them now too!

Room Tip: Stay closer to main hotel complex so you don't have to walk too far to your room (although you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChangeGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write this review on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read that your all round experience was such a positive one. We are delighted that you were impressed from the moment you arrived and thank you for you wonderful comments regarding the accommodation, the indoor/outdoor showers, the service, the food, the great game-viewing and the exceptional guide. We will be sure to pass this onto the team.

Delighted that you are now "Sanctuary fans" and look to welcoming you back very soon!!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent service, great food, rooms are amazing and fantastic wildlife viewing in the Chobe National Park.
Our guide was Poniso, and is one of the best guides I've ever encountered (and I've been on quite a few safaris in Southern Africa!)
I highly recommend him, specially for photographers and / or wildlife enthusiasts. Apart from being an expert on every animal, plant, tree or kind of grass, he certainly knows how to position the jeep for the best light and angle to get that shot (and always warns you that he's starting or stopping the jeep so you don't get a blurry shot due to the shuddering of the engine!!) Poniso is a superb guide, the best in Chobe!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LCBTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding the excellent service, great food, the rooms being amazing and the fantastic wildlife viewing in the Chobe National Park.

How wonderful to read that "Poniso is one of the best guides you have ever encountered" we will be sure to pass this onto him.

We are delighted that you appreciated our services and had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon again!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Chilwero for 3 nights in late November. This is a truly fabulous lodge with a deserved 5* rating. There are 15 separate lodges and our lodge was large, very comfortable, spacious and everything provided to a high standard including very effective air-conditioning and an outdoor shower. As temps were in the mid 30C's, it was wonderful to be able to get cool and sleep well at night. On our first night following our return from a game drive, they had run a bath and supplied a bottle of sparking wine and we were "spoilt" with a candlelit dinner on our balcony. The food and catering was of a very high quality and the staff could not have been more helpful in satisfying our particular dietary requirements. The game drives were just magical. Our guide, Kebby, provided us with a unique insight into the wildlife, fauna and flora of Chobe and we saw a wide selection of animals and were also fortunate to see a impala caught by wild dogs which was then "stolen" by a male lion. If you have the chance ask for Kebby! All very exciting and the game drives and river cruise were thoroughly enjoyable.. We went to the spa on one occasion and lay by the pool but it was too hot! The staff could not have been more helpful in every respect and we would highly recommend Chilwero to anyone who wants a luxurious safari.destination.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KUMALO_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your lovely comments regarding our lodge, our food and catering and our staff especially Kebby who was very happy to learn that you were more than happy with his guiding skills.

Thank you once again for this positive review, we hope we will have the pleasure of "spoiling" you again in the not too distant future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
3.4 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
9.7 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
452 reviews
73.6 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#28 of 71 in Okavango Delta
124 reviews
29.3 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
450 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero

Property: Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Address: Bordering Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero is a luxurious riverside retreat in the heart of the bush, with all of the facilities of a larger resort. The main area commands fabulous views over the Chobe River which borders Chobe National Park to the north. As well as the elephants for which the park is famous for, guests can relax in the split-level swimming pool, unwind with a pampering session in the spa or enjoy the gourmet food that the lodge has become known for. Each of the 14 thatched guest cottages has two showers, one inside and one outside. The ensuite bathroom also has a large free-standing bath. After a day of game viewing, what better way to relax than in your own private garden with a cocktail? Or if the fancy takes you, why not have your gourmet dinner served right here under the African sky. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. Our honeymoon suite at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero features a private plunge pool and deck area where guests will be able to enjoy private dinners for two under the stars (weather permitting) and special turn downs every night. Guests booking this room will automatically receive a private vehicle and guide for all game viewing activities. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing