We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great but congested”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great but congested”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed from 31/12 - 2/1. The lodge and spa accommodation is great. The rooms have indoor and outdoor showers. The food was great, with eland, ostrich and crocodile all on offer while we were there. The game watching initially was predominantly elephant. The could rename the place Chobe national elephant park. We also saw giraffe heaps of hippo, a day old hippo, a day old elephant and we watched while an Impala was born. We saw a herd of about 150 buffalo and a pack of about 40 African Wild Dogs. Plus we saw crocodile banded mongoose, sable antelope a terrapin and heaps more.

We did multiple safaris including the river safari. Best to do this one in the afternoon on a sunny day.

We would've rated this higher except it really is a luxury lodge rather than a safari camp, and the national park means when there is a lion to see, and apparently there were three, you are in a battle with so many other vehicles to get a view. Also just driving around, you are constantly passing other vehicles or waiting for them to leave a locate so you can see the wildlife.

A great place to go to see a variety of wildlife, but be aware you'll be sharing the experience with heaps of other people at the same time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the lodge, spa, accommodation and food.

Chobe Chilwero is very different to the camps we have in the Delta (which we hope you will visit one day soon) and is rated a "luxury lodge" rather then a "safari camp". Unfortunately the congestion in the National Park is beyond our control.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future..

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    31
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
53
135
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What an amazing find... my wife and I needed a vacation between Christmas and New Year and our personal travel agent recommended Chobe Chilwero immediately. I'd never stayed in a Sanctuary property before - but this may the start of something special. From the moment we arrived we were impressed; a good Chobe property I've heard is rare ~ this one is outstanding. Discovering that not only were ALL meals included was a bonus; but to find out that ALL drinks were included as well simply blew me away. (considering I've paid six or seven times over the odds for a Coke at nearby Royal Livingstone; I was mightily impressed.) The accomm was great, big, spacious, well-appointed and comfortable - and we loved the indoor/outdoor shower as well as the full outdoor one! The service was awesome, and the food varied and interesting - a different set of menus every day. We also loved the separate tables for couples and groups as both my wife and aren't big communal table folks. Game viewing is great and our guide was exceptional - we saw and studied all the big wildlife and even birds and the smaller stuff too. All round ~ a great time. The fishing we arranged (twice) for Tiger fish was a whole lot of fun; with my wife pulling in a 4.5kg Tiger on her first day out! (It's all sport; catch and release stuff too).

I would thoroughly recommend this venue above all Chobe/Kasane properties and we are definate Sanctuary hotel fans... looking forward to investigating the rest of them now too!

Room Tip: Stay closer to main hotel complex so you don't have to walk too far to your room (although you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChangeGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write this review on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read that your all round experience was such a positive one. We are delighted that you were impressed from the moment you arrived and thank you for you wonderful comments regarding the accommodation, the indoor/outdoor showers, the service, the food, the great game-viewing and the exceptional guide. We will be sure to pass this onto the team.

Delighted that you are now "Sanctuary fans" and look to welcoming you back very soon!!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent service, great food, rooms are amazing and fantastic wildlife viewing in the Chobe National Park.
Our guide was Poniso, and is one of the best guides I've ever encountered (and I've been on quite a few safaris in Southern Africa!)
I highly recommend him, specially for photographers and / or wildlife enthusiasts. Apart from being an expert on every animal, plant, tree or kind of grass, he certainly knows how to position the jeep for the best light and angle to get that shot (and always warns you that he's starting or stopping the jeep so you don't get a blurry shot due to the shuddering of the engine!!) Poniso is a superb guide, the best in Chobe!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LCBTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding the excellent service, great food, the rooms being amazing and the fantastic wildlife viewing in the Chobe National Park.

How wonderful to read that "Poniso is one of the best guides you have ever encountered" we will be sure to pass this onto him.

We are delighted that you appreciated our services and had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon again!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Chilwero for 3 nights in late November. This is a truly fabulous lodge with a deserved 5* rating. There are 15 separate lodges and our lodge was large, very comfortable, spacious and everything provided to a high standard including very effective air-conditioning and an outdoor shower. As temps were in the mid 30C's, it was wonderful to be able to get cool and sleep well at night. On our first night following our return from a game drive, they had run a bath and supplied a bottle of sparking wine and we were "spoilt" with a candlelit dinner on our balcony. The food and catering was of a very high quality and the staff could not have been more helpful in satisfying our particular dietary requirements. The game drives were just magical. Our guide, Kebby, provided us with a unique insight into the wildlife, fauna and flora of Chobe and we saw a wide selection of animals and were also fortunate to see a impala caught by wild dogs which was then "stolen" by a male lion. If you have the chance ask for Kebby! All very exciting and the game drives and river cruise were thoroughly enjoyable.. We went to the spa on one occasion and lay by the pool but it was too hot! The staff could not have been more helpful in every respect and we would highly recommend Chilwero to anyone who wants a luxurious safari.destination.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KUMALO_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your lovely comments regarding our lodge, our food and catering and our staff especially Kebby who was very happy to learn that you were more than happy with his guiding skills.

Thank you once again for this positive review, we hope we will have the pleasure of "spoiling" you again in the not too distant future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

After staying at camps in the Okavango Delta, it was a shock to arrive at Chobe Chilwero and find that the lodge is behind an electric fence. The reason for this is understandable – elephant numbers are so high in the adjoining National Park that they are destroying much of the vegetation and can cause a lot of damage in the area. There is some wildlife within the fence, including a bushbuck which frequented the area around our room. Chobe Chilwero is a lodge, with a very different atmosphere to the safari camps we had come from, less personal and rather more like a hotel.

Our room was large and beautifully furnished and decorated, with a bath as well as both an indoor and outdoor shower. Unfortunately while we were there the water pressure was quite low – I don’t know if this is a frequent problem. The main lodge has an attractive verandah with tables and a good view, as well as the lounge and dining rooms. We found the food was good, and one night before dinner we were entertained by local dancers, which we enjoyed.

The wildlife viewing was both game drives and boat trips. Because the drives were in a national park, we were not able to go off road and had to be out of the park by dusk. The park was very bare in the dry winter season and some of the elephants looked to be in poor condition compared to the Okavango. We saw some interesting wildlife on our drives, such as sable antelope and lots of kudu as well as several leopards. However, the highlight was undoubtedly the boat trips in the afternoon, which were a welcome change from bumping about in the back of a landrover. Cruising alongside pods of sleeping hippos, seeing lots of waterbirds, watching a pride of lions at a buffalo kill right on the riverbank and of course watching the elephants at the river were great experiences. And the sunsets on the river were beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyD61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you found Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero less personal compared to the other camps you stayed at, please rest assured that this is certainly not indicative of the level of experience that we aim to provide.

Thank you for bringing the water pressure to our attention, our maintenance department is currently working on this issue and will have it resolved as soon as possible.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the game viewing and that "the highlight was undoubtedly the boat trips in the afternoon",

We appreciate your feedback in order to constantly improve our high levels of service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero soon.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Compared with the previous places we have stayed in during our holiday, Chilwero was larger and more "hotel" style rather than an intimate camp, but the staff were friendly and the rooms were spacious and well decorated. There is airconditioning which some travellers will love, but for us it is not an issue as we are happy to experience some genuine heat whilst in Africa. There were a few small maintenence issues that were attended to promptly, some successfully and another not as successfully. The river cruises add a different aspect to game viewing and we saw lots of buffalo, elephants, crocodiles and hippos. It is relaxing and the sunset makes a nice backdrop to the photos that you will take! The game drives in Chobe National Park are restricted to being on road only, but we had sightings of lions, sable antelope, giraffes, zebras, beautiful birds.... The WiFi is faster than in some of the more remote camps so you can send your photos of your game drives to your family and friends quite quickly!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tassiefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. We had an amazing experience and would highly recommend it. The accommodation was great, large, spacious and everything to a high standard. The game drives, both on the river and in the park, were everything that you would hope for. We were kept in small groups and really felt that we were looked after. The star attractions were of course the animals and they really did not disappoint. The only animal we didn't see was a Rhino. When not on the games drives we also took advantage of the spa on a few occasions. On our final night we came back to our room to find a complimentary bottle of champagne. It really provided a great mix for a honeymoon couple and would highly recommend it.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
3.4 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
29.3 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
73.6 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#32 of 70 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero

Property: Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Address: Bordering Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero is a luxurious riverside retreat in the heart of the bush, with all of the facilities of a larger resort. The main area commands fabulous views over the Chobe River which borders Chobe National Park to the north. As well as the elephants for which the park is famous for, guests can relax in the split-level swimming pool, unwind with a pampering session in the spa or enjoy the gourmet food that the lodge has become known for. Each of the 14 thatched guest cottages has two showers, one inside and one outside. The ensuite bathroom also has a large free-standing bath. After a day of game viewing, what better way to relax than in your own private garden with a cocktail? Or if the fancy takes you, why not have your gourmet dinner served right here under the African sky. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. Our honeymoon suite at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero features a private plunge pool and deck area where guests will be able to enjoy private dinners for two under the stars (weather permitting) and special turn downs every night. Guests booking this room will automatically receive a private vehicle and guide for all game viewing activities. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing