We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Certificate of Excellence
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is a vewry special property in a special Country of Botswana.
From the very warm welocme to the oustanding servcice from all staff it is impossible to fault.
The food is first class, cooked freshly to order and available throughout the day.
The game drives were very special, the highlight being a pride of 8 lions on Friday morning.

We would totally recommend this property and whilst it may seem expensive is actually great value for money

Room Tip: All lodges are similar, spacious and excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    30
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
53
129
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was the second stop on our first ever safari so I may not be speaking from a position of knowledge but when we returned from our evening game drive to a hot bubbly bath and chilled bottle of bubbly in our room we were blown away. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary so that also made the trip special but the attention paid to us by the staff and the wonderful facilities here made it perfect. Oh, and the game too...hippos, elephant, giraffe, buffalo, hyena, lions and that was just the big stuff - an awesome trip

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaka, Greece
Level Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Not Really a Game Lodge but a Spa type Resort that also offers Game Drives and River Cruises/Trips. To make full use of the facilities you need at least 2-3 nights here and enjoy the luxury touches and accommodation.

Chobe is basically Elephants and Hippos with Buffalo's and Impala, in fact the national park is reputed to have over 60,000 Elephants so wherever you go you are almost sure to see them.

The river cruise was basically OK but apart from the elephants (on land) didn't get near enough to other animals to get good photos, bit disappointed on this side, in my opinion could have got allot closer. Elephant’s great, saw lots of them on the water’s edge.

Game Drive was OK but mainly Impala (00's of them) and a few Hippos, Buffalo and other antelope. No Lions, Cheetahs or other cats.

As a resort no complaints and very relaxing, plus the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lefkoseikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and had just spent 2 days in Vic Falls. In the essense of time we decided to do our safari in Chobe rather than Kruger. I could not have made a better decision. Upon arrival we were greeted with moist towels to wipe our hands and just refresh ourselves from the drive in. Small things like this are what really made this place stand out. The manager Brenda then gave a short tour of the property and the dinner times and safari times and the other general The dinners severed every night were absolutely divine. Could not have asked for better foods. Our guide was top of the line. he was able to spot things that we would have never seen with out him. He was also very knowledgeable about all the animals and their habitats. Moshue; our guide, the out of this world service, top notch views, and unforgettable views make this place something special and a definite must if doing a safari in Chobe.

Room Tip: Try and get a room close to the main lodge so you don't have long walks to and from and you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dicksonenteprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

It was our third Lodge, after doing a mobile safari and we were totally excited!

The rooms/chalets were excellent, with all necessities and totally clean. Despite all was included in the price, the quality of food and drinks were excellent, no cheap stuff.
Minibar with unlimited drinks were included as well.
Nevertheless the best for us wa the free-of-charge laundry services and that within 24 hours! Fantatic and just perfect after a good safari.

The food was ok, the service however very good. We also did the included sunset cruse, very recommendable.

Don't miss their SPA area, it was fabulous. We did a massage every day.

If you stay in Botswana and plan to go to the Chobe National-Park, stay there it is really excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel_C_ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
369 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

After Baines camp & Chiefs camp this is back to civilization. You are no more a bush man as its located near a city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shefpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

In total we stayed in 4 lodges on our vacation (all part of the Sanctuary group) and this was our least favourite. The hotel building and rooms are lovely from the inside but ugly from the outside. Some of the rooms have no view (just a few bushes and an electric fence). Our room (15) also had the added annoyance of being close to the hotel water tank and plant which seemed to be a congregating place for maintenance staff. We had traffic across the front of our room and we could hear them talking. The furthest rooms are a long walk from the main lodge . Food was excellent and healthy. Game drives were incredible for elephant viewing and guides excellent. Housekeeping was odd - tea and coffee we ordered for the room were left in the room all day although I got the impression this was more about their concern in removing it without our consent than sloppiness because the room was spotlessly clean. When we checked in, could see my partner was struggling to walk as he had a problem with his leg yet they didnt tell us they had checked us into the room furthest from the main lodge (clearly our advance warning of his mobility issue hadn't got through). Even as we were walking to the room and he had to stop, the employee didnt look concerned at all and although i kept asking how much further it was, she wasnt very communicative.

Having said this, the hotel manager was absolutely excellent and very caring - so there is hope she will impart her skills down to the rest of the team.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms closest to the lodge as they have a view. Avoid rooms 1,2,3, 13,14 and 15. 15 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MLC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased about your positive remarks regarding the food, cleanliness of the room, game viewing and the “absolutely excellent” lodge manager. However, we would like to address those parts of your stay that you feel we can improve upon.

We apologise that you were inconvenienced by the staff attending to the water tanks and this has now been taken up with the lodge management. It was not acceptable to leave the tea tray in the room throughout the day, and we have subsequently done some refresher training to address this.

Unfortunately the lodge was fully booked during your stay and we apologise that the lodge management could not accommodate you closer to the main area on this occasion.

Thanks again for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback in order to constantly improve our high levels of service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero soon.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
0.7 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
88.1 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#35 of 71 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero

Property: Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Address: Bordering Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero is a luxurious riverside retreat in the heart of the bush, with all of the facilities of a larger resort. The main area commands fabulous views over the Chobe River which borders Chobe National Park to the north. As well as the elephants for which the park is famous for, guests can relax in the split-level swimming pool, unwind with a pampering session in the spa or enjoy the gourmet food that the lodge has become known for. Each of the 14 thatched guest cottages has two showers, one inside and one outside. The ensuite bathroom also has a large free-standing bath. After a day of game viewing, what better way to relax than in your own private garden with a cocktail? Or if the fancy takes you, why not have your gourmet dinner served right here under the African sky. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. Our honeymoon suite at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero features a private plunge pool and deck area where guests will be able to enjoy private dinners for two under the stars (weather permitting) and special turn downs every night. Guests booking this room will automatically receive a private vehicle and guide for all game viewing activities. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing