We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
$1,464
No prepayment needed
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
91michael2014
Bavaria, Germany

Coming back to Ghoha Hills

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 10, 2016
We visited Ghoha Hills in 2014 and again in August 2016 and both times we really enjoyed every minute. The lodge is situated upon the Ghoha Hills with a stunning view over an endless African landscape. So it’s a great pleasure just to sit on the terrace and enjoy the wilderness.
Ghoha Hills also offers great excursions, e.g. to the famous Savute swamp with its lions and leopards. The lodge has two private waterholes. There is a hide at the bigger one of them and it is a most exciting experience to watch huge herds of elephants, a lot of antelope species, zebras and giraffes coming to drink and take a bath in a very peaceful atmosphere.
The relaxed hospitality of Abram and Nanette makes you feel really welcome and their knowledge of wildlife and the whole region is fantastic. Last but not least Ghoha Hills has an excellent kitchen and a very kind staff. The luxury tents provide everything you need.
We plan to come back soon and experience the Linyanti and Nogaatsa region during our stay in Ghoha Hills. It is definitely our favorite Lodge in Namibia and Botswana.
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
674brettt, Marketing at Ghoha Hills / Nogatsaa Pans, responded to this review
Responded Oct 21, 2016
Hi Michael

Thanks for your positive review - and for returning to Ghoha ! The thought of sitting perched on our balcony overlooking the waterhole clearly made you come back to our shores for another safari.

Nanette and Abram make sure that all our guests feel like they're at home. After all, going on safari is also about the creature comforts of home and the atmosphere.

Our waterhole with the hide is a huge drawcard for elephants herds and predators. We're glad you enjoyed the game viewing!

See you in 2017?

Warm Regards
The Ghoha Hills Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
45.0 miles from Ghoha Hills / Nogatsaa Pans
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $378
  • Hotels.com
75.4 miles from Ghoha Hills / Nogatsaa Pans
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
76.0 miles from Ghoha Hills / Nogatsaa Pans
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $80
  • Hotels.com
75.1 miles from Ghoha Hills / Nogatsaa Pans
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $325
  • Priceline
76.6 miles from Ghoha Hills / Nogatsaa Pans
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
80.1 miles from Ghoha Hills / Nogatsaa Pans
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our small swimming pool to enjoy your stay with us!
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $34
  • Booking.com
78.4 miles from Ghoha Hills / Nogatsaa Pans
Free Wifi
Free parking
sanctuary for birds
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $113
  • Hotels.com
77.6 miles from Ghoha Hills / Nogatsaa Pans
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Chobe National Park
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveler rating
358
17
3
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
358
17
3
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water hole game drives african plains amazing views pack of wild dogs awe inspiring personal attention two night stay chobe np spent nights waterhole tents edwin luxury lodge camp wildlife
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 384 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

We came looking for safari adventure and left with all that and more. In two short days we have new family and friends in the bush. Accommodations and food are excellent and the totally experience will leave you planning your return. Flying in to the remote airstrip we realized we were in a world apart. The rains had not yet come to this region of the Kalahari and we were worried the sparse vegetation would mean an equally spare experience. Nothing could be farther from the truth. The expert guides led us to encounter after encounter as we explored the park from dawn to dusk. The evenings spent by the fire, the pure joy in the voices of the staff singing local songs were a prelude to the call of the lions as they lulled us to sleep dreaming of the adventures that tomorrow would bring. You will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank WorldRiders247
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
674brettt, Marketing at Ghoha Hills / Nogatsaa Pans, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Hi There

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Our aim is to make guests feel at home in Africa so that they will one day return. Different animals thrive in different conditions! There's always something to see when you're here in Chobe. The area has a high concentration of game, which often congregate around waterholes.

We're glad you enjoyed our staff singing - we do love to keep our guests entertained!

Hopefully see you soon.
Warm Regards
The Ghoha Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016

Fabulous location, accommodation, food and service. The travel into the Ghoha Hills in a safari vehicle was long and bumpy and flying would perhaps be a better option for some people, however the landscape and animals made the drive worthwhile for me.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
674brettt, Marketing at Ghoha Hills / Nogatsaa Pans, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Hi Karen

Thanks so much for your review. Yes, the road and drive to our lodge traverses through the bushveld - we see it as an extra game drive! The Savute Airstrip is the easier option and you still get to enjoy a bit of a game drive en route to the lodge.

We're glad you enjoyed our accommodation, atmosphere and food.

Warm Regards
The Ghoha Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016

This is one of the places in Africa that we will never forget. After a little bit of an adventurous and bumpy ride with our 4x4 car we were greated so warmly by Abram and his staff that we felt immediately at home. The tent was simply amazing, it had a second room for our daughter and everything was wonderfully decorated. From the lounge area you have a great view over a waterhole and over what we think a truly african landscape. We did an evening sunset tour and a whole day game drive which gave us both great animal sightings and a very good impression of the different landscapes of the Savuti area. The food was gorgeous, tasty and especially nicely arranged. Thanks to the whole team for these wonderful two days, we very much hope to come back one day!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MomoFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
674brettt, Marketing at Ghoha Hills / Nogatsaa Pans, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2016

Hi There

Thanks for taking the time to write such a heartfelt review about our lodge. We're glad you had a 4x4 - it is certainly needed on our adventurous roads leading up to the lodge. We love to make our guests feel like they're at home - and we're passionate about what we do. Nothing better than a warm welcome to Africa!

Warm Regards
The Ghoha Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2016

Nothing can prepare you for a visit to Ghoha Hills. Set on one of the few hills in the area, the lodge provides breathtaking views over the bush for miles. The lodge itself is set within an area of land rich in wildlife with two waterholes, one of which has a hide, where you can relax at the end of the day and watch the animals and birds come down to drink as the sun setting provides a wonderful light to take stunning photographs. The game drives deep into the National Park and the Savuti Marsh are 'never to be forgotten' experiences giving memorable sitings of many species of animals and birds. The guides are incredibly knowledgeable and friendly as well as being very, very patient. Perhaps, more importantly, both Abram and Nanette and the Guides are enthusiastic and show how much they care for the environment and the animals therein. Such commitment is infectious and you leave with a little of this passion. The Lodge itself provides incredible luxury in a remote setting. No mobile signal and internet in only one area allows one to relax and immerse yourself in this wonderful African experience. The housekeeping staff are capable, caring and committed. The chefs and cooking staff manage to produce the most incredible food to finish off each day in spectacular fashion beneath the stars. Abram's 'lecture' before you leave gives a fascinating insight into the politics ,history and geography of Botswana and should not be missed. This lodge is, quite simply, fantastic in every aspect and I cannot commend it highly enough.

Room tip: Everything is stunning
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
674brettt, Marketing at Ghoha Hills / Nogatsaa Pans, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2016

Hi Anna

Thanks so much for your positive review. We're glad you enjoyed our hide at the waterhole - it is one of our favourite places to take guests! And of course, when you don't want to leave the lodge it is always great just to sit on the balcony and watch the wildlife below. Obviously we want our guests to enjoy the full spectrum of the Chobe, which is why we do the game drive in the Savuti.

We are happy you left feeling passionate about our lodge and the area! We love to share our enthusiasm.

Please come back - there is still so much more to see!

Warm Regards
The Ghoha Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2016

Ghoha Hills was purely amazing, the Staff welcomed us like long lost friends and served us lunch before taking us to settle in our rooms…

Then it was off to the hide for sundowners where we sipped pink gins with the elephants cavorting in front of us, and a tree squirrel stealing the snacks next to us.

Dinner was mouth watering Fillet with all the trimmings. and then to bed listening to the Howl of the Jackals, the “Laughing” of the Hyenas and Roar of the Lions.

It was up Early the next morning, a quick breakfast and we were off in our open Game Drive Vehicle for a full day safari through the back roads of the Savuti… Oh, Wow! the area around the Dry …. Chanel was teeming with Game.. Elephants, Lions, Lion Cubs, Buffalo, Giraffe and Lots of different antelope and Birds. We stopped at a Water hole to have lunch and watched 100’s of Elephants drinking and bathing, while the babies chased the Warthog.

Abrams, Nanette and the whole Ghoha Hills team were excellent and it was with sadness that we had to move on after 2 nights there.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank E2800SYjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
674brettt, Marketing at Ghoha Hills / Nogatsaa Pans, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Hi There

Thanks so much for your positive review. Our staff really enjoy the song and dance involved in the greeting of new guests. It is our aim, from start to finish, to make guests feel like family.

We're glad you indulged in the safari drink of choice - a gin! There is nothing better than watching elephants in the wild, while you're sitting comfortably in the hide sipping on sundowner drinks. We hope you took plenty of photos. The sounds of the wild can be noisy; but it's better than the sounds of the city.

Seeing lion cubs must have been an absolute delight. It seems you were really lucky in terms of game viewing. We hope you visit us again sometime soon.

Warm Regards
The Ghoha Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews