We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A week stay...”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We are two students who travelled in Botswana for research and volunteering but we chose to come to Kasane for a week of rest, relaxation and activities to round our trip off.

We opted for a safari tent, it was basic with two single beds, a fan and a light, with shared ablution facilities but it was reasonable in price, clean and comfortable, thus suiting our needs. However, as we stayed for a week we would have expected our bed linen to be changed and towels to be provided.

The other facilities , were a little more questionable, especially the restaurant. Being two students without a car it was practical to eat at the restaurant for the majority of our meals. The variety of food however was poor with only a small selection of the menu actually available each meal. One day there was no salad and there was never any fruit on offer, even at breakfast. The quality of the food and the service was also poor. One day we had to wait half an hour for scrambled eggs. We also felt there were too many staff and because we were often the only ones in the restaurant often felt like we were being watched and rushed through our meals. The bill often appeared before we had finished eating!

The staff were generally friendly and sometimes helpful although often clueless. We did have some issues with booking activities as we were told at the beginning we had to have a minimum of 3 people. We therefore ended up booking most of our activities with Dreams Safari. We did however go on the sunset boat cruise with Kwalape which is a must and I believe the issue with the minimum amount of people had been resolved by the end of the week.

All in all we had a pleasant stay, however in retrospect staying here for one week (especially considering the food) was a little too long.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REBANO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    35
    26
    19
    17
See reviews for
21
28
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here with 7 friends in early July in the safari tents. The tents were lovely, completely fine to share, and the ablution facilities were spotless. However, all of this was ruined by the horrible food & poor service in the restaurant. There were no options for dinner other than the one meal they decided to prepare, and the breakfast buffet was lackluster. The one decent meal was the traditional Batswana meal on Friday evening. Overall, good accommodations but the food was just bad.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a good budget option, I highly recommend the safari tents. A notch up from ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aflorahyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here on 13th, 14th and 15th July. Welcomed by very warm staff who went out of the way to assist us in providing the extra bed which we couldnt book during our email back n forths with their reservation team. Ensured there was personal attention and also discussed about the next day activities. We were 4 families with children and it was decided that we go on a Morning Game drive the next day and evening boat cruise. We all arrived at 5.45 am and we were told by the reception staff that she has no idea what we are asking about, But they did their best! They called their colleagues, the boss and so on and they couldnt get any vehicle as it was peak holiday time and you need to inform Chobe National Park a day before for such drives. Understood and we left. The boat cruise, strangely lasting for 3 hours was only circling in 1 particular area. Again, something not experienced by us before as its not our first time in Kasane. Afternoon Drive was exciting and the ranger tried his best to spot lions (which we badly wanted to see) through track marks and so on. Come evening, the owner of the hotel arrived and confirmed that he will provide a free Game drive for the next day morning due to the mess up happened the previous day. We thanked and Bingo! it was the best drive, and the ranger was committed to keep us happy. So damage control, done wonder fully. Now that should explain that the staff can help, but needs lot of training and surely they are capable of improving themselves as they are indeed quite friendly & took responsibility for their communication issues. Amenities : Rooms was neat, clean and good. Nothing extraordinary, nothing bad at all. Perfect. Saw tents and other types of accomodation on our (long) walk to room, but didnt stay there. Pool and Bar area was clean but everything lacked decor and creativity, that area can be improved. Needs some JAZZ! Never at there, as the restaurant was not inviting to do so and neither their price. Had simple breakfasts, which were ok. However, the location and proximity to Kazungula border and kasane are fine and they do have in house staff to handle all activities. All in all it was not a bad stay and i will recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun Prasanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I traveled with 7 other friends and we were staying overnight in order to go to Chobe National Park the next morning. WE stayed in the safari tents, that were lovely and comfy. The shared ablution block was also clean. The showers had something strange going on, as everytime you tried to adjust the taps, you get an electric shock! We still had hot showers, which counts.

The restaurant had a very small variety on the menu, was pricey and steaks ordered all came well done instead of rare.

Kwalaphe is very well located, only being about 10min's drive from the Chobe gates. The staff also really accommodating and friendly. There is a great pool area with loungers and a bar to spend an afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in the safari tents and were more than pleased. The Lodge offers real value for money and they also assisted us in a very affordable way to arrange a sunset boat trip on the Chobe River and a day Trip into Zimbabwe and the Vic Falls. The superbly clean pool was greatly enjoyed by the kids.

Room Tip: Choose the pre-erected tents if cleanliness and not luxury is the only requirement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DTDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
179 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and it was OK.
The staff did they best to help us with all our arrangements (e.g. third bed and tours). Even a late lunch after the morning safari was possible.

We stayed in a Chalet and everything was clean. Unfortunately due of the road it is very noisy during the night.

It is a good place (would give 3.5) and you do nothing wrong to stay at this location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AufDerFlucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksværk, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have been travelling through southern Africa with painting groups the last 7 years, and this year we went back to Chobe, Botswana and booked the safari tents at Kwlape lodge.
The lodge offers such a lot - including a great atmosphere - whether you decide to stay in the beautifull cottages or in the safari tents as we did. Sharing the communal showers and toilets gave no problems whatsoever. It was lovely to walk amongst the trees and bushes in the moonlight or early morning hours.
We had full board all week and the food was very nice. Freshly made sandwiches for lunch and nice dishes in the evening.
Our hosts Johan & Nicklas went out of their way to make our stay perfect and even took us on early morning walks to visit nearby villages and a local school.
The bar / pool area was lovely and quickly became our favorite place. We were surprised on our last night - fantastic karimba players and a group of african dancers entertained us while we enjoyed a fabulous braai. What an evening!
Kwalape lodge showed to be an amazing place for us as a group of artists. It is a paradise of beauty, peace & quiet, full of wonderful birds and flowers and the tents offered lovely covered areas just perfect for painting. The staff were absolutely kind and gave us fantastic service. A true African Paradise. We want to come back.

Room Tip: They are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mclean-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
4.0 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
1,077 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#13 of 20 in Chobe National Park
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
428 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#15 of 26 in Kasane
26 reviews
4.0 mi away
Liya Guest Lodge
Liya Guest Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chobe National Park
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwalape Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwalape Safari Lodge

Property: Kwalape Safari Lodge
Address: Main Road | Situated between Kazungula and Kasane, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kwalape Safari Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Botswana’s northern towns of Kazungula and Kasane, Kwalape Safari Lodge offers the perfect base to discover the wonders of Chobe National Park and River, with its vast elephant herds and wildlife populations. Kwalape is only an hour away from the magnificent Victoria Falls and 1 km away from where four great African countries meet (Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe and Botswana) making Kwalape an ideal location to explore from. Kwalape means ‘at home’ in Setswana and it is our management philosophy for all guests to feel welcome, relaxed and at home during their stay and to leave us as friends. We offer value for money accommodation with excellent service. Constructed of canvas, wood and thatch, in harmony with its luscious and naturally landscaped surroundings, Kwalape Lodge comprises 12 chalets each with spacious living areas, en-suite bathroom facilities and a private veranda; 12 safari tents and camping facilities for overland and private tours. The main restaurant and bar are thatched and nestled into the surrounding bush with the restaurant bar offering a stunning elevated deck, ideal for sun downers and sharing the day’s experience with other guests. Other facilities include a swimming pool, conference facility and Boma for starlight meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jovago.com so you can book your Kwalape Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing